We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$175
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$267
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
$184
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$491
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$228
$195
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Comfort Inn by the Bay(San Francisco)
$269
$259
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$240
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$257
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$408
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,188)
Filter reviews
4,188 results
Traveler rating
1,391
1,832
664
207
94
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,391
1,832
664
207
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric sectionunion squaredaily grill restaurantpremier sectiongreat locationpremier roombreakfast voucherso'farrell streetolder partcable carheated poolbreakfast was includedour honeymoontravel agenthop on hopstayed here for nightscentral location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,587 - 1,592 of 4,188 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Same day reservations made via alternate travel site. I phoned upon arrival at the airport to request a room with 2 beds. Reception immediately honored my request and offered an early check in. Once at the hotel, the front desk staff was welcoming and professional. I understood there were 2 buildings, historic and "premier" the first night we stayed on the historic side which was lovely. The room was comfortable and very clean with beautiful original architectural detail including the original bowed windows with single panes. Unfortunately I am a light sleeper and the late night city noise was a bit too much. The front desk supervisor at check in offered to relocate us to the premier side for our next two nights after I expressed my concern over the reviews of the street noise. The second and third night was spent on the premier side. A large room with 2 full beds and petite balcony facing the pool was comfortable and quiet. I found myself wishing for a combo of the two sides! The historic side offers character the premier side offered a typical hotel room. In the end, yes, I would stay again on either side! The friendly, warm, welcoming customer service was much appreciated! A+

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank NoVaTrolleydolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We had the good fortune to be upgraded so we were in a 'premier king' room of the top floor of the new building at the back. It doesn't have much in the way of views but it is very quiet as it is away from the road and has a balcony overlooking the swimming pool area. The room was very spacious, immaculately clean and extremely comfortable. We had breakfast vouchers which entitled us to good breakfast options although there was a queue each morning to be seated. The location is useful for visiting different parts of the city, with good transport links and is very close to the famous cable car routes. The staff were friendly and extremely obliging. Not the absolute height of luxury but good value and well worth considering.

Room Tip: I can only say that the rooms in the new building at the back are quiet as they are away from the road
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

I was given an "upgrade" since the hotel was full and put in a Premier room facing the pool. Room 327 is off an outside hallway facing the pool. There is a floor to ceiling window, which sounds nice -- but if you keep the curtains open everyone walking by can look into your room. There is part of a window you can open - but it will let in all the noise from the pool and folks walking around.

Room at first smelled musty - but that smell went away the second night.

Rooms in this section of the hotel are larger, but this room had no balcony and felt kinda of cave like since the curtains had to be drawn shut for privacy. Probably a great room for Families or someone who needs a "dark" room.

Staff is friendly and the location is in Union Square and close to the Cable Car. There are all kinds of rooms in this hotel, so its a bit hit or miss - all that being said, it can be a great hotel for the price.

Room Tip: If you want a pool room, ones with Balconies seemed liked a better option.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
1  Thank ExitRowPlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in 2008 and enjoyed it so thought we'd come back. This hotel was prepaid and we asked for a quiet room. 2nd floor room 220 was anything but quiet! A huge air conditioning return air duct in the ceiling that was so noisy I had to sleep with earplugs! The room was also dark and the glass was frosted so you couldn't even look out to see what the weather was like! The window opened but there was bird droppings on the ledge outside so not an option! The position of the hotel is it's only positive but there are plenty of others to choose from in the area. When in San Francisco next we will be staying elsewhere!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lynn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

I wish i could recommend this hotel - it has comfortable beds, charming character, convenient location and friendly staff. BUT not the best choice if you go to bed relatively early because it is so noisy from the street - street drummers, bands playing in the square, street noise. They even provide earplugs in the room.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank ConnieR60993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews