We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hotel with a Great Heart but in Need of a Little Lovin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Ranked #68 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Hotel with a Great Heart but in Need of a Little Lovin”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

By husband and I aren't picky- we like clean, quiet and well-located hotels and tend to stay away from anything overly stuffy and pretentious. The Handlery Union Square met all of these needs for us!
We looked this hotel for $139 a night on Travelzoo (a steal for Union Square). The hotel could not be in a better location and the staff goes above and beyond to accommodate guests (there wasn't one time I cursed under my breath that customer service is dead).
Knowing it was our honeymoon, we were upgraded to a Premier King room which was very spacious and I would suggest this room to everyone when booking- enough room to move around without bumping into each other all the time. The room itself was very clean but a little worn. The carpet was coming up a bit in the corners of the room and there were some areas where the molding on the wall was lifting but by no means unsafe or unsanitary.
The air conditioner was so loud that we had to sleep with earplugs. We mentioned this to the front desk and they sent someone who was unable to do anything to make it better.
Aside from these little snags, you are looking at a great hotel without the bells and whistles that will accommodate you for for your trip to San Francisco! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Mention if you are there for a special occasion- they really go above and beyond. It was so apprecia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimerik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear kimerik,
Thank you for visiting from the beautiful city of Montreal. I am glad your experiences with the staff were so positive and that you enjoyed our location on Union Square. I have followed up on your feedback with regards to the room and I thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope to have you come back from Canada again.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,298
    1,729
    610
    189
    82
See reviews for
1,001
1,609
131
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (906)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Beautiful hotel right opposite Union Square in San Francisco. This hotel is quaint, the staff are fantastic and the rooms are a little small but well furnished and have a great feel about them. Internet is fast, TVs are great and beds are also good.

Position is fantastic and it competes with the Westin and a few other larger chains. I would always go for the Handlery.

Room Tip: The old quarter is smaller but the rooms are quaint and face Geary Street and Union square, the new...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkyGus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
G'day MarkyGus,
Thank you for choosing the Handlery Union Square Hotel on your recent stay in San Fran. I am glad you enjoyed our location and found the staff service fantastic. I have visited Melbourne and it reminds me of San Francisco with it's trolley cars, older architecture and great food. Hope to see you again from the land DownUnder.

Cheers,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenn
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This place is perfect for visiting San Francisco. Steps from the cable car lines, bus stops right in front, restaurants everywhere and just a short walk to the BART station. We almost stayed in Fishermans Wharf but changed to the Handlery and glad we did. Don't let complaints of street noise and homeless scare you away, your gonna have that everywhere in San Francisco. Even if you stayed at one of the 2 Westin hotels that are close by, noise and panhandlers will be there and you will be paying double for what you can get the Handlery for. We couldn't ask for a better location and a better staff to deal with. We mentioned the night before we checked out that we needed a 430AM cab. Paul had a cab waiting on us at 420am and we made our early flight home with time to spare. Perfect location and a great place to call home while visiting San Francisco. The WIFI was a little weak in our room, and our neighbors in the next room got a little noisy our last night. A call to the front desk was all I had to do to quiet the neighbors down. Stay here and you WON'T regret it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karter25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear karter25,
I was pleased to read you found our location perfect and you enjoyed your visit to San Francisco and our hotel. I will share your nice comments about Paul with him and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runaway Bay, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel is in the right location but after paying $100 less per night for 5 star in Los Vegas it was an expected (from previous reviews) but still a bit of a shock. We stayed on the "new side" but it must still be at least 15 years old. The room was very clean and the showers are always hot; as you are out enjoying this fantastic city all day you just crash after a hot shower in to a clean bed every night so it's ok as at least you don' t have to walk up some massive hill to get to a lot of similar price hotels. The housekeeping and door staff are very friendly, the concierge was somewhat full of himself but knowledgeable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebzBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear DebzBrisbane,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel and I was pleased that you overall enjoyed your stay. I will let the desk and housekeeping staff know how much you appreciated their service and follow up with our concierge staff on your remarks. Thank you again for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in a wheelchair accessible room with roll in shower.Excellent staff all very helpful and friendly especially the porter who helped us with our luggage on leaving and having to pick up a car. If you want to be in Union Square this is a very well positioned hotel. Breakfast complimentary and excellent.
Only downside small single beds in room and older part of hotel probably ready for a refurbish - some cracked tiles.
Still I would recommend this hotel for a visit to SF.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 05chrissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear 05chrissie,
Thank you for visiting across the pond and staying at the Handlery. I was glad to read you enjoyed your stay and found our staff helpful and friendly. Thank you for visiting San Francisco and staying in our hotel.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night. It was great that they offer Kamaaina Rates (Hawaii resident rates) so we got a good price. Parking was expensive but average price for SFO. Room was small but again it's SFO and most of the rooms are small.

The reason I didn't give it a 5 rating is because we pulled up to the front of the hotel but didn't see any valet people so parked and ran in to ask. Was told we have to circle the block and park on the backside of the hotel. Well it would have been nice for them to have somebody outside to let us know or greet us. As parking is very difficult in SFO. We pulled into the back valet area and then had to unload and carry our bags down the stair to the lobby. There is no elevator from parking area to the lobby. I would have thought that they would have a bell desk outside to take our bags and then tell us where to go for the valet parking. Would have been so much easier for us and I'm sure other guests would feel the same. Parking is based on a 24hr period so if you check in at 8pm you can park until 8pm the next day which was nice.

Check in was easy and front desk from helpful and friendly. Concierge desk was very helpful and knowledgeable. The room was clean and comfortable. Nothing fancy but it was a nice place to stay in a great location. A cable car stop is at the end of the block which is a very short walk. Lots of shopping and places to eat. Room had a view of a roof and the side of the bldg but oh well.. We didn't come to SFO to stay in the room and look out the window so it's not a big deal for us.

Check out was easy. Since we were going to walk around the area we left our bags with the bell desk. When we were ready to get our car we let them know and they brought our bags up to the parking lot so I guess they have a special elevator for staff. This was nice. I was worried that we would have to carry our bags up stairs.

Overall it was a nice stay. I'd stay here again if I wanted a place in Union Square.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Aloha Shawn S,
Mahalo for staying at the Handlery and I am glad you overall enjoyed your stay. We have changed our staffing and now have a bellman stationed at the garage to assist our guests at check in. I was pleased that you found our location ideal for your visit and we look forward to having you back from the Islands again.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Handlery was easy to find and had convenient valet parking. Its location was perfect for us since we had events planned nearby that allowed us to walk to most. Check-in was fast, friendly and efficient. The staff overall was extremely friendly and knowledgeable. We got excellent wine-buying tips from the concierge and particularly personal service from the bell staff (Hermie). The rooms are small, but not unexpected in an older hotel in this area. The furniture and furnishings were all brand new and the place was spotlessly clean. The only flaws were minor maintenance items in the public areas and a broken window lock in our room. Temperature controls were modern and effective. Overall, we had a very nice experience and would return if their competitive prices remain.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ninjaneer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear ninjaneer1,
Thank you for visiting from Virginia and I was glad to see you enjoyed the hotel, our location and our staff. I will let Hermie know how much you appreciated his service. Thank you again for staying at the Handlery.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery, Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
5,193 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#87 of 229 in San Francisco
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#58 of 229 in San Francisco
4,507 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,757 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handlery Union Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handlery Union Square Hotel

Property: Handlery Union Square Hotel
Address: 351 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handlery Union Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Handlery Union Square Hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, within walking distance of world class shops, the Moscone Center, and the Powell Street cable car line. All 377 rooms feature wireless Internet access, mini refrigerators, and in-room safes. Enjoy traditional accommodations in the Historic Section or luxurious, oversized rooms in the Premier Section. The hotel features on site valet parking, an outdoor heated pool, sauna, and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Handlery Union Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Handlery Union Square San Francisco
Hotel Handlery Union Square
Handlery Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing