We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location,location,location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Ranked #70 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Excellent location,cable cars at end of block,car hire pick up around the corner,bike hire across the road and restaurants of union sq within 2 blocks.Our room ,an'historic room'was in the traditional part of the hotel it was well decorated with good facilities but 'historic' not contemporary!! Modern rooms are located in the new block.Breakfast was very good ,full engliish if desired, taken in the hotel restaurant and included in the price as booked with Virgin Holidays. The restaurant also served a varied menu at lunch and dinner.The pool is a great asset in the city though i did have difficulty gaining access before 8am.Big Tip Buy a City Pass! this really enhanced our exprience of the city motivating us to visit attractions which we otherwise may not have bothered to do.All attractions are excellent plus all transport is included. This review s the 1st of 8 I will be writing on the hotels we stayed at on our visit to California/Nevada in Sept/Oct 2012 The other hotels are Yosemite Riverview Lodge,Carmel Mission Inn,Kontikki Inn Pismo Beach,Sheraton Delfina Santa Monica,Paradise Point resort San Diego,Barstow Ramada Inn and the Mirage LA. All the hotels were very satisfactory and I will eventually get round to writing a review of each one!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picky-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear picky-7,
Thank you for visiting from the Jersey Channel Islands and I was pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and location. I am also glad you liked our outdoor heated pool and your dining experiences in the Daily Grill. We look forward to having you return to the Handlery again.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,064 - 2,070 of 4,103 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

The hotel has an excellent location, it's just nearby the Handlery Square. It's good for a walk in the neighborhood or getting to the main attractions in the city. We were on a business trip, but the great location helped to take a maximum of the few spare hours that we had to look around and enjoy San Francisco. There was a little problem with the heating system in the room, but the staff was really helpful and we got offered an upgrade on the room without any additional fee! So it worked out just fine :). We'll probably go back there in the future!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triinugroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Triinugroon,
Thank you for visiting from Sao Paulo and I was pleased to read you enjoyed our location and found the staff helpful. We hope to have you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our second time in San Francisco, this time we stayed In April for 3 nights and had a lovely time, Hotel really central for sightseeing and shops. Very clean and tidy room, we had a room over the front of the hotel very quiet. The large bed was so comfortable. The staff were very friendly we enjoyed our breakfasts and a lovely evening meal on our last night. The macaroni cheese was yummy!! A really good choice and good value for money. Fiona F South Queensferry

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

"Nice" describes everything about this place. The staff? Nice. The room? Nice. The location? Nice. The price? Nice.

Nothing about it is exceptional. That said, it's a great option for people that aren't looking for a low-budget motel, nor that want to break the bank on a hotel room.
I totally enjoyed my stay. And, for what it's worth, my wife thought the bed was one of the most comfortable she's ever slept on.

The next time I need to book a room in SF, I'll look here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I recently stayed at the Handlery in April of 2013. We were upgraded at no charge to the larger rooms in the back of the hotel. For an older hotel I was not expecting the room to be so spacious (especially in San Francisco). It even had a vanity area ouside of the bathroom, and the room had air conditioning and heating. We also had a small patio and a large sliding door that we could open for fresh air (though at night it was too loud outside to leave it open). Though parts of the room looked worn it did appear to be updated and it was clean. The bed was comfortable. The staff were very friendly and the concierge helped us figure out which busses to take for where we were going. The location was great-we could walk to AT&T park (about 25 minutes briskly) and it was close to some of the major bus stops. We paid to park our car in the hotel which was about $48 a night (before tax), but I saw that there is a parking garage directly across from the hotel's parking that appeard to be cheaper. We also ate breakfast at the restaurant adjacent to the hotel which was decent and was typical San Francisco prices. All in all a great hotel in a great location. i would stay again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the backside of the hotel facing O'Farrell Street on the 7th floor. The room wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Even though the hotel is quite old, the rooms are clean, beds are comfy, staff are friendly but most importantly it is perfectly situated on the Union Square. Almost everything you wish is walking distance to your hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muuji B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I were in town attending my neice's wedding at Grace Cathedral, which was a $5 cab ride up the hill. We had asked to check in early on Saturday as to get ready prior to the wedding and we were accomadated. We had booked online with the KGO special which gave us free parking, always a plus in San Francisco. We spent Sunday shopping Union Square and ended up having to ask for a late check out which was granted....good fun was had by all!!! Very quiet comfortable room. We had a tasty breakfast at the Grill downstairs as well as a lunch the previous day. My only complaint and this was with the Daily Grill in that I thought the staff was not very friendly nor helpful with questions about the food.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
3,760 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,360 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#90 of 230 in San Francisco
1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hilton San Francisco Union Square
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handlery Union Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handlery Union Square Hotel

Address: 351 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $145 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handlery Union Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Handlery Union Square Hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, within walking distance of world class shops, the Moscone Center, and the Powell Street cable car line. All 377 rooms feature wireless Internet access, mini refrigerators, and in-room safes. Enjoy traditional accommodations in the Historic Section or luxurious, oversized rooms in the Premier Section. The hotel features on site valet parking, an outdoor heated pool, sauna, and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Handlery Union Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Handlery Union Square San Francisco
Hotel Handlery Union Square
Handlery Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing