We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Handlery!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Ranked #72 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Handlery Hotel Union Square with our 2 children over Spring break. Before our stay in San Francisco, we rented a car at SFO and drove to Yosemite. When we arrived at the Handlery, the bellman took our bags and directed us around the corner to return our rental car. 4 or 5 major rental car companies are located in a parking garage right next to the Handlery. It could not have been more convenient. When my husband made our reservation, he mentioned that the first day of our stay was our 20th anniversary. We were surprised to find a bottle of champagne and a gift bag with snacks in our room! The room was beautifully decorated, very clean and had a great view. We stayed in the premier section. The main reason we chose the Handlery was because it was one of the few hotels in San Francisco that had 2 queen size beds instead of 2 doubles. Our room was so large that it even accommodated a rollaway. The rollaway had a nice thick twin mattress so it was just as comfortable as the other beds. My husband was concerned about noise after reading some of the other reviews, but we found the hotel to be very quiet and private. We ordered room service one evening for dinner. The food was delicious. It arrived quickly, and was just as ordered. Our teenage son was happy to see his favorite Chipotles located next door to the Handlery. The concierge arranged a nice bus tour of the city for us, which picked us up and dropped us back off at the Handlery. The staff at the Handlery was top-notch. We feel that the Handlery was an excellent value. Our stay there was one of the best hotel experiences we have ever had, and we travel quite a bit. Would definitely stay at the Handlery again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the premier section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CAL104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,125 - 2,131 of 4,140 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed 4 nights , had a room at the back on 7 th floor. It was quiet no noise from union square. The bed was very comfortable, clean, free wifi, tea coffe, and large fridge. Loads of clean towels
We did not use pool or any other of the facilities except breakfast every day, which was very good. All the staff were very helpful, had an issue with some tour bookings we made independently which fell apart, conceiage helped and sorted it all out, no complaints it's not the best flash hotel . But value for money ten out ten .

Room Tip: This hotel is all about location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BorntoshopGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotels locations is fantastic right in the City centre yards away from Union Square. We stayed at this hotel in March 2013 On arrival we were given a room on the sixth floor in what was described as the Historic section of the hotel this is where the problems began. The room was small with very dodgy heating or lack of heating, the historic single glazed sash windows did little or nothing to help with the heat or noise form the road outside. On our first night a guy set up outside the hotel with plastic buckets and bottles as a drum kit and proceeded to make what he thought as music by banging them with drumsticks. The next night got worse when a group of buskers set up on the same corner complete with amplifiers the noise from these was unbearable. When you walk outside the hotel be prepared to be accosted by beggars and buskers they are on every street corner and also between corners I have never seen so many beggars and so called buskers. As I said earlier great location but if your room is anything like ours be prepared for sleepless nights. Looking at the other reviews if you intend staying here please make sure you get a larger room in the new section if they mention Historic turn and run. The best night we had was our third night it was just as noisy and cold but it meant that we were escaping the next day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 62andrewh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel is greatly located on Union Square and easily accessible. The rooms are small but convenient unless you are placed in the 2nd building. It's nicer and newer but hard to access due to stairs so it's challenging with heavy or many pieces of luggage.

The thing that disappointed me more are the parking fee ($50+ / night - even though I understand it's SF) and the very rude service I have received upon check out.

I have highly recommended to 4 of my clients to stay there and they booked online 3 weeks prior the check-in date only to find out the rates had dropped by 80$ between booking and check-in. They made calls to resolve the situation and get a refund (they did receive it). However, when I adressed the agent at the front desk, she was extremely rude and wanted me to tell her who the clients were so she could void their discount. How lame is that. She was insisting in a very impolite way.

I was supposed to come back to this hotel 5 days later and cancelled my room on the spot. She never apologised. I should have kept her name. I will not be back because of this.

I have later tried the Intercontinental Mark Hopkins and it was nice.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new building are newer and bigger but it's more challenging to access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel is less than average for the money ... The rooms are very small the bathrooms are terrible even to the point where u can not even reach the toilet paper ... The hotel staff are also less than average i would never recommend or stay here again

Room Tip: Not sure best tip is stay else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 856YvonneJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel. The first night we had a romm which was very small and with a view to the wall maybe 2 metres from our window; in other words, no view at all. After short discussion with front desk staff they agreed to upgrade the romm to the premium room with no additional cost. This room was much larger, very comfortable, on the 8th floor with the nice view. Location of the hotel is excellent - right on the Union Square, two blocks from BART station as well as from cable car stops and bus routes. Chinatown is few blocks away. The room was not dirty, but was not perfectly clean. There is a lot of dust behind the night table. Overall the staff was polite and helpfull. The concierges are story for themselves. I spoke to three of them; one was polite and provided interesting and helful info, answered all my questions in a very proffesional manner whereas the other two when I asked them for info had an attitude like " do you think I am her so you can bother me with your qustions". There is a small heated outdoor swimming pool which is very well kept. The gym is also very good, fair size; Wi-Fi is complementary in a room and lobby.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DottoreK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is just beautiful located in the heart of the Union Square district of San Francisco. The rooms are very elegant and stylish and the housekeeping do an amazing job keeping everything clean. I found all the staff to be extremely friendly and the whole hotel has a warm family atmosphere reminiscent of days gone by. There is so much to do & see near by the hotel and it is so easy to get around to all the different tourist attractions. I would definitely stay here again 10/10!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VoucherQueen101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 231 in San Francisco
3,813 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#89 of 231 in San Francisco
1,925 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#18 of 231 in San Francisco
5,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#37 of 231 in San Francisco
630 reviews
Union Square
Hilton San Francisco Union Square
Union Square
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
#63 of 231 in San Francisco
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handlery Union Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handlery Union Square Hotel

Address: 351 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $171 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handlery Union Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Handlery Union Square Hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, within walking distance of world class shops, the Moscone Center, and the Powell Street cable car line. All 377 rooms feature wireless Internet access, mini refrigerators, and in-room safes. Enjoy traditional accommodations in the Historic Section or luxurious, oversized rooms in the Premier Section. The hotel features on site valet parking, an outdoor heated pool, sauna, and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Handlery Union Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Handlery Union Square San Francisco
Hotel Handlery Union Square
Handlery Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing