We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little Better than Average Business Hotel, Great Location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Handlery Union Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Ranked #72 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Level Contributor
399 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Little Better than Average Business Hotel, Great Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is a little better than average hotel.m it appears to be an older and to have had a pretty good remodeling. It could use a little refresh (paint) in the halls, elevator etc.

The location is excellent and they have done a pretty good job of updating the hotel. However the interior finishes are not as nice as what one finds in most of the high end hotels today. No granite in the bathrooms, that old marbelite faux finish. The bathrooms are small and same ith the rooms.

The hotel seems as though its two or three buildings. One walks to the back of the hotel and takes another elevator to get to the back rooms. It may be because it has a courtyard.

Parking is $42 a day which is average I expect for San Fran. However the valets are good and it works nicely.

The lobby is clean, tasteful, contemporary and it feels freshly remodeled.

Not a bad choice. I would look at others next time as its not necessary a keeper in my book. It's also not a do not stay. It's been a while since I visited San Fran, so I need to find my hotel.

The gym is basic with a couple of treadmills, elliptical and a weight bench. It gets full in the morning.

Location is excellent. Almost Cross the street from Union Square, blocks from Chinatown, the theatre etc. Great location.

Room Tip: Really depends on what you want. Some around the pool, some have a view out the front and others th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clinton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,237
    1,659
    589
    178
    79
See reviews for
949
1,542
124
390
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (868)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wyong, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel and is very well positioned. The rooms are quite spacious and very neat and tidy. The hotel is right on Union Square and is very well located to cable cars and bus services. Hotel service is very good. Would stay here again. Complimentary breakfast was yummy as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Great location if you're needing businesses in the Union Square area or if you are a tourist. We stayed in the "historic" part of the hotel, and it was just fine. We used a travelzoo deal, and it was a great value for the location. We would stay again another time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vickie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

I stayed at the Handlery the end of February 2013. I found the hotel well-placed in the downtown San Francisco area and this allows the guest to get out of the hotel and walk to most everything. The trolley car out to the Embarcadero is a block away, thus travel even over to the water is not a problem.

The hotel rooms are well appointed and the wireless worked flawlessly. For people on business or just wanting to connect, this is critical. When I note well appointed, I mean a comfortable bed, a solid desk with a great chair that is adjustable, a bathroom that does not pass itself off as a closet and enough storage space for two people.

On the storage space, I was fine, but if two people were traveling for more than a few days and wanted to put items out, this might be a stretch. There are two shelfs in the primary dresser and two drawers in the night stand (both of which have telephone books, a Bible and a book on San Francisco).

The air unit controls are not the best you might encounter. The first night I thought that by turning the temp up to 72 I would get an autofan system that would kick in as needed. Not so fast bucko. The fan must be in the low, medium or high position for the heat to work. Therefore, the fan must be on 100% of the time. Imagine my surprise and somewhat stiff form the first morning when I woke up to find the room temp a balmy 63. Not bad during the summer, but the end of February in San Francisco with the room on the west side meant a cool awakening. When I figured out the fan system, the room stayed an even temperature, but because the fan system is just off center of the bed, you will here the constant whirring sound all night.

Someone actually went in the pool, so I checked the water. Tolerable even for February considering the pool is outside, and it could be used for a few laps if you can tolerate the water temp. The sauna, on the other hand, was one of the best I have sat in. My colleague and I talked for thirty minutes and then oozed out like noodles. You need to stop by the desk and make a "reservation" which means that someone has to open the sauna room for you. But it was worth the effort. No one else came in while we were there, so it probably does not get a lot of use. Shower inside the sauna was a neat idea, too (behind a door in one wall of the sauna).

Two elevators - both work fine and are quick enough. If you can't wait, there are stairs on either side of the hotel which can also double as an exercise path. Speaking of exercvise, the hotel does have an exercise room with three treads, one recumbant cycle and two elypticals plus some free weights. I ran on one of the treads and it worked without a problem - all the equipment is new.

The Daily Grill restaurant has great meals and a good bar. Prices are reasonable and since it is in the hotel, proximity is a great factor in choossing this place to have some of your meals. Service was excellent and friendly. If you are looking for a quick diner, Lori's is around the corner - less than a 90 second walk out the front of the hotel.

One last note - ask for a quiet room. I did not know such an option existed and I was able to listen to the Streets of San Francisco which appear to stay busy in the downtown area all night long. Go the quiet room and enjoy the stay even more.

Summary: A great little hotel with exceptional service and amenities - not the Ritz, but it will meet your requirements for a well-located hotel near Union Square.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet, inside location room. The outside rooms get a lot of street noise 24x7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a good location being close to union square and the rooms, although small, were neat and tidy and our stay was comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was very good. My only criticism would be that the staff didn't seem to go out of their way to be helpful but were pleasant enough if we did need to ask for assistance with anything. Based on location i would still consider staying here again if i ever return to san francisco.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BecM983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olavarria,Buenos Aires,Argentina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

The hotel is very well located,within easy reach to all the major city landmarks.Its proximity to Union Square ,Saks Fifth Avenue,Macey's,several eateries, and the famous streetcars at Powel and Market St, make it one of the tourists' favourite picks for a stay in San Francisco!Though it is far from being a modern building,the Handlery is very -well kept ,with average-size but comfy bedrooms,a first-rate breakfast service at the Daily Grill(cosy bar and restaurant which is usually crowded at dinner time!)and a very gentle and solicitous concierge(Mr John Wood,who literally bent over backwards every time he had to provide us with some useful information,mainly our flight-times checking and tax-refund system at the airport.Very polite indeed!!)All in all,if you are planning to stay in the city,I guess the Handlery is a very good option within the large number of hotels tourists can find in San Francisco's lovely steep streets.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ely0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosebud, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed at Handlery in adjoining rooms for our family of five. Very quant and old world hotel but was certainly very comfortable and clean. The massive bonus of this hotel is its location right in the heart of union square which is a great place to base yourself for all the major site seeing attractions. All staff were very helpful and the breakfast was in the adjoining restaurant was very nice. Can thoroughly recommend.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#76 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,013 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#40 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#74 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handlery Union Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handlery Union Square Hotel

Property: Handlery Union Square Hotel
Address: 351 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1801
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handlery Union Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Handlery Union Square Hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, within walking distance of world class shops, the Moscone Center, and the Powell Street cable car line. All 377 rooms feature wireless Internet access, mini refrigerators, and in-room safes. Enjoy traditional accommodations in the Historic Section or luxurious, oversized rooms in the Club Section. The hotel features on site valet parking, an outdoor heated pool, sauna, and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Handlery Union Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Handlery Union Square San Francisco
Hotel Handlery Union Square
Handlery Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing