We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, good breakfast, non existing noise isolation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Ranked #71 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Villingen-Schwenningen, Germany
Level Contributor
150 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good breakfast, non existing noise isolation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

My company booked me into the Handlery Union Square Hotel for the Photonics West show this year - I had room 202. After staying last year at "The Good Hotel" south of Market Street I was happy not to stay SOM again.

What I liked
- Friendly check-in and service people
- Good setup of rooms and lobby (space to sit down etc.)
- For San Francisco downtown quite large rooms
- Fast Internet available for all devices without much login hazzle
- Comfy beds
- Large bathroom with shower
- Good but expensive breakfast
- Next to Union Square shopping and the Moscone Center
- Inside pool area (I didn't use it but it looked lovely)

What I didn't like
- I have never seen a hotel where the windows are so old and don't block any noise. You hear the noise of the street as if the windows are open (but they were closed). Being at a very busy corner some people might have problems sleeping at all in this noise (I was half sick and exhausted from the show so I slept pretty good).
- Since the windows are not isolated at all cold air is coming in from any corner of the room. You have to run in winter time the noisy air conditioner the whole night.
- The air conditioner is probably 30 years old and in the ceiling over the bed. So warm air is blowing on you the whole night which eventually lead to an eye infection for me
- $169 a night is quite high priced but probably considered OK in CA. Still a lot of money
- The neighborhood feels like South of Market with a lot of beggars and drunk people around the hotel. It never feels really save to walk.

I probably would stay here again just because of the lack of alternatives. However I always will cut my stay downtown as short as possible and then move to cheaper hotels as soon as the show is over waiting for my flight home.

Room Tip: Higher level rooms are less noisy - the same for rooms that go to the inside area around the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teaki78089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,252
    1,677
    591
    180
    79
See reviews for
965
1,558
126
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (876)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed while attending ZAP at the Cocourse. The central location is great - easy to get to and within walking distance of Union Squre, restaurants, and shopping. The staff at both the Handlery and the Dail Grill were very friendly and helpful. The room was quiet and fit all our needs. We had free parking withg our package and this really saved us quite a bit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
192 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Our company has a corporate rate at this hotel so I stay frequently. The staff always remembers my name and goes out of their way to greet me and make me feel welcome.

There are different types of room in the NEW and the "HISTORIC" wing but all are very clean. The historic rooms can be a bit old with creaky pipes and floors, but that is part of the charm.

Room Tip: Spend a bit more and book a larger room. Ask for a room towward the back and not facing Geary Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KenFBWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful boutique hotel in a top location. Rooms are small - like a European hotel - but beautifully appointed and the staff are friendly and helpful. A great find and just a few doors from Union Square. Restaurant is good for breakfast. I have stayed several times and recommend it to my friends. A great alternative to the chain hotels.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamaican-Luck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed here in November 2012 for 2 nights. Hotel was very central to shops, restaurants and had a great bar and restaurant downstairs. 2 nights in San Fran weren't enough so when I go back I'll stay here. Our room was on third floor, was clean, tidy, and quiet. Staff very friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

My friend's travel agent, now mine, Marlene, booked me into The Handlery Hotel. She said it was a great hotel with alot qualities for a decent amount. Boy was she right! The room was just right for 1 person. It had all the amenities too. The staff was very accommodating & always friendly yet professional. The location is right in Union Square. A complimentary breakfast was served every morning in the restaurant in the hotel. I was very pleased & satisfied.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAHLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights at the Handlery which is very central to EVERYTHING you may want to see/do in San Francisco. Our room was in the back section of the hotel overlooking the pool ... a very quite room in the hub of the city. Reception and concierge staff were very helpful to us and we observed them interacting positively with other guests as well. Special thanks to Hermie at the front door ... a great ambassador for The Handlery.

Room Tip: We recommend the restaurant off the lobby for a delicious well priced dinner with excellent service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nepeannorma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,055 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#76 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#42 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,526 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#102 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handlery Union Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handlery Union Square Hotel

Property: Handlery Union Square Hotel
Address: 351 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1801
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handlery Union Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Handlery Union Square Hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, within walking distance of world class shops, the Moscone Center, and the Powell Street cable car line. All 377 rooms feature wireless Internet access, mini refrigerators, and in-room safes. Enjoy traditional accommodations in the Historic Section or luxurious, oversized rooms in the Club Section. The hotel features on site valet parking, an outdoor heated pool, sauna, and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Handlery Union Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Handlery Union Square San Francisco
Hotel Handlery Union Square
Handlery Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing