We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location ... pick a room out the back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Ranked #73 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

On the advice of our travel agent our family stayed at the Handlery. It was a great location in the centre of the city but our rooms were in the old section of the building and so we got city noises all night. Otherwise a good hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orgdevsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

G'day Orgdevsa,
Thank you for choosing the Handlery Union Square and I was glad that you generally enjoyed your stay. We have finished a window project for our streetside windows where we double insulated the glass. Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery, President, Handlery Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,019)
There are newer reviews for Handlery Union Square Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,121 - 2,127 of 4,019 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

We have stayed at the Handlery Union Square every Xmas season for over 20 years. This is a triple A+ Hotel fromn reservations to checkout. Staff is more than accommodating, rooms are comfortable with all the amentities, the hotel is centrally located, facilities are clean and well-kept. We recommend this hotel as excellent in every way and would not even consider staying elsehwere.

Room Tip: We prefer poolside in the tower as they are quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoAnn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear JoAnn S.,
Thank you for staying again at the Handlery. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you next Xmas. All the best.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom suite & had plenty of room. The front desk staff had to be dragged away from chatting with each other to serve you & you did feel as if you we're inconveniencing them when asking them any question. Great location for shopping, restaurants & Union Square. Extremely noisy from the street as the windows are not double glazed due to the age of the hotel. Every other hotel we have stayed in through the USA had free wifi not The Handlery they charge $9.95 per 24 hours per device! An expensive way to check your emails! Housekeeping start persistently knocking on your day from 8:30am to clean your room regardless of whether you're sleeping or not. All in all a disappointing hotel & not worth the money we paid.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Islandjo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Islandjo71,
Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry for any inconvenience you experienced. I have followed up with the staff and we now offer free WIFI in all rooms. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

The location of this hotel is perfect so close to Union Square. We had 4 people (2 adults and 2 kids) and there wasn't much extra room but the walk in robe at least made sure we had a bit more space. An older hotel but a fine place to lay your head.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thelma_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Thelma_Oz,
Thank you for your past review of the Handlery Hotel in San Francisco. I am glad you enjoyed your visit with us and in San Francisco. Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This hotel is really well located for anyone who wants to explore San Francisco. Just beside Union Square. Lovely clean spacious room, comfortable beds and pillows, good bathroom.
Our rate included breakfast which was really good. Friendly helpful staff in restaurant , front desk and concierge.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deirdree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Deirdree,
Thank you for staying at the Handlery Union Square Hotel and I am pleased you found our location perfect and the staff accommodating. We look forward to having you back with us.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Enjoyed at great stay at the Handlery. Location is 50 meters from Union Sq. in the heart of San Fran. Clean room, very good bathroom and slept well in bed. Enjoyed the in-room coffee machine and safe. Classic design with ambiance of America in historic times, I liked it very much because it was done with respect to detail. Front desk staff always helpful and efficient. Will return with my girlfriend to San Fran and will be back at the Handlery.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikemikeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Bikeviking,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Handlery Union Square Hotel. I was happy to read you enjoyed your accommodations and the service. We look forward to having you back.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

My sisters and I have returned to this hotel annually for shopping excursion/get-aways and each time we agree that it is IDEAL! The hotel location is perfect for shopping, entertainment, dining (the Daily Grill is hard to beat!), and how fun to have a Starbucks outside the back door. The rooms are large and clean and the pool is a bonus. The staff is attentive, friendly, helpful, and makes you feel like they are proud you have chosen their hotel for your stay.

Room Tip: The variety of rooms is great. You can choose a pool side with large sliding doors or a city view i...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solsen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Solsen1,
Thank you for visiting San Francisco from Idaho and I am glad you enjoyed your visit to the Handlery Union Square Hotel. It was great to see that this is an annual trip and hopefully we can get you to visit more than once a year. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
5,279 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#33 of 230 in San Francisco
3,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#103 of 230 in San Francisco
1,849 reviews
Union Square
Hilton San Francisco Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handlery Union Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handlery Union Square Hotel

Address: 351 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $189 - $572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handlery Union Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Handlery Union Square Hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, within walking distance of world class shops, the Moscone Center, and the Powell Street cable car line. All 377 rooms feature wireless Internet access, mini refrigerators, and in-room safes. Enjoy traditional accommodations in the Historic Section or luxurious, oversized rooms in the Premier Section. The hotel features on site valet parking, an outdoor heated pool, sauna, and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Handlery Union Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Handlery Union Square San Francisco
Hotel Handlery Union Square
Handlery Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing