We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Location, Great rooms, Good service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Handlery Union Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Ranked #75 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great rooms, Good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Just spent 3 nights at the Handlery and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. On arrival we were promptly served and were given a room in the older part of the hotel. Room was newly renovated with everything we needed. The bed wad one of the best I have ever slept in at a hotel. We received a complimentary breakfast which was also excellent. Easy access from SFO using the BART, the station is only a few blocks away

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick64319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,206
    1,617
    577
    174
    77
See reviews for
925
1,505
118
380
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (847)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

The mayor advantage of this hotel is the location, it is in the downtown right in the Union square from where you can go and visit the city. The hotel is surrounded with restaurants, coffe shops, touristic places, bars, etc.
The rooms are clean and quiet, specially on the 8th floor
In the loby the is a consultant that would help you with every question about traveling in San Francisco
Really great joy and recommended

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Elad L.,
Thank you for visiting San Francisco all the way from Israel. I was pleased to see you enjoyed your room and our location. We hope to have you back again from Tel Aviv and thank you again for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Having heard advertisements over and over for this hotel, AND, getting the chance to spend a couple of nights in San Francisco (we live about an hour away...and seldom spend the night when we visit)... I decided this was the time to try something new. My husband and I spent 2 nights being 'tourists' in a city we'd both grown up visiting. The Handlery was an excellent choice. It's right off Union Square on Geary... the cable cars are but a block away... so centrally located to almost everything. The staff strives to make you at home...the bell captain stood in the middle of the street for nearly 20 min on a Friday night to get us a cab! It's the little things that count. There are 2 sections that aren't connected to this hotel... once understood, it's easy to manage. We stayed in the new section (I asked NOT to be street-side). It was quiet and comfortable. We had a balcony that overlooked the pool. Our room had been recently updated and was large. We'd stay there again .. anytime!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new tower...away from street noise...newly renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbier99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Robbier99,
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at the Handlery. I am glad you had a pleasant visit and apparently the radio ads do pay off. Thanks again for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

This was a very nice stay for us in San fransisco. It was right there at union square and close to the hop on hop off busses. The room was of adequet size although the bathroom was a little small. The restaurant was really lovely, a pleasant change for a hotel restaurant. We got a complimentary breakfast every morning and it was really lovely food. They offer Free wifi which is just so handy when you are traveling. The only down fall I will say is that there is no guest laundry which when you are traveling with kids is essential.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheridan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
G'day Sheridan K,
Thanks for visiting from the land downunder and I am glad you enjoyed your visit at our hotel. I was also pleased that you liked our location and your dining experiences in the Daily Grill. We look forward to having you back from OZ again.

Cheers,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

A perfect location for the centre of San Francisco, on Union Square. It's a 5 minute stroll to the cable car terminus, shops, restaurants etc. I stayed here about 10 years ago and it is still the same reliable hotel. A bit of modernisation would not go amiss, but that would change its personality which could be detrimental! Helpful staff; rooms are clean and fresh. I would stay again for sure!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rod m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear rod m,
Thank you for visiting again from the UK. You need to come back more often then every 10 years. I am glad you found our staff helpful, our rooms clean and fresh again. We look forward to having you back in less than a decade. All the best and thanks again for staying at the Handlery.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
400 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great Location just off Union Square - with the cable cars (Powell Street) just steps away from the front door. There are two sections - the Old section with smaller - older rooms, and the new section with very up to date - well decorated rooms. I stayed in the new section. Only weird thing is that the two halves don't interface well. To get to the new section - you go down two long hallways - up stairs or a platform lift - to the pool, then into the new building with elevators. The Lobby is in the old section - on the first floor. The new section elevators go to the 2nd floor if you wish to backtrack to the lobby, or the parking garage is on the first floor of the new building. It will make sense when you navigate it a couple of times. The new rooms are excellent - new, and well decorated. Coffee maker & Ironing board - Flat screen TV - Internet service is good.

Many of the reviews refer to the EXCELLENT Breakfast in the "Daily Grill." Some guests get free vouchers for breakfast there. The breakfast was good - although most options were 3 egg - and I'm not always that hungery. So my rating is: EXCELLENT if you got it free - GOOD if you didn't. Staff is good. New Area had good business type desk/chair in the room. WILL stay here again.

Room Tip: My understanding is that the older rooms are smaller - but they are more convienient to the Lobby an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MGMTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear MGMTraveler,
Thank you for visiting from Phoenix and I am pleased that you had a pleasant stay. I was also glad that you found our location perfect for your visit and we hope to have you back again. Thanks for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is the place we chose to spend our Halloween in the city.
What a great choice! The staff was extremely accommodating and never once bothered us as we partied though the night, in and out we went as they suggested the best routs to our destinations and even what food would be available and appropriate for our chosen path. So glad we stayed here.Big plus - it's in the heart of the city, easy access to BART and taxis are always right there.Good place for tourists and locals too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dealia420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Dealia420,
Thank you for staying at the Handlery Union Square Hotel and I was happy to see you enjoyed your visit. I am glad that you found our staff accommodating and our location ideal for your visit. Looking forward to having you back again.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#76 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,909 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Abri
Hotel Abri
#39 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#36 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,501 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#99 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handlery Union Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handlery Union Square Hotel

Property: Handlery Union Square Hotel
Address: 351 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1801
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handlery Union Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Handlery Union Square Hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, within walking distance of world class shops, the Moscone Center, and the Powell Street cable car line. All 377 rooms feature wireless Internet access, mini refrigerators, and in-room safes. Enjoy traditional accommodations in the Historic Section or luxurious, oversized rooms in the Club Section. The hotel features on site valet parking, an outdoor heated pool, sauna, and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your Handlery Union Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Handlery Union Square San Francisco
Hotel Handlery Union Square
Handlery Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing