We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Ranked #70 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

This was a very nice stay for us in San fransisco. It was right there at union square and close to the hop on hop off busses. The room was of adequet size although the bathroom was a little small. The restaurant was really lovely, a pleasant change for a hotel restaurant. We got a complimentary breakfast every morning and it was really lovely food. They offer Free wifi which is just so handy when you are traveling. The only down fall I will say is that there is no guest laundry which when you are traveling with kids is essential.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheridan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

G'day Sheridan K,
Thanks for visiting from the land downunder and I am glad you enjoyed your visit at our hotel. I was also pleased that you liked our location and your dining experiences in the Daily Grill. We look forward to having you back from OZ again.

Cheers,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,088)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,217 - 2,223 of 4,088 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

A perfect location for the centre of San Francisco, on Union Square. It's a 5 minute stroll to the cable car terminus, shops, restaurants etc. I stayed here about 10 years ago and it is still the same reliable hotel. A bit of modernisation would not go amiss, but that would change its personality which could be detrimental! Helpful staff; rooms are clean and fresh. I would stay again for sure!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rod m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear rod m,
Thank you for visiting again from the UK. You need to come back more often then every 10 years. I am glad you found our staff helpful, our rooms clean and fresh again. We look forward to having you back in less than a decade. All the best and thanks again for staying at the Handlery.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great Location just off Union Square - with the cable cars (Powell Street) just steps away from the front door. There are two sections - the Old section with smaller - older rooms, and the new section with very up to date - well decorated rooms. I stayed in the new section. Only weird thing is that the two halves don't interface well. To get to the new section - you go down two long hallways - up stairs or a platform lift - to the pool, then into the new building with elevators. The Lobby is in the old section - on the first floor. The new section elevators go to the 2nd floor if you wish to backtrack to the lobby, or the parking garage is on the first floor of the new building. It will make sense when you navigate it a couple of times. The new rooms are excellent - new, and well decorated. Coffee maker & Ironing board - Flat screen TV - Internet service is good.

Many of the reviews refer to the EXCELLENT Breakfast in the "Daily Grill." Some guests get free vouchers for breakfast there. The breakfast was good - although most options were 3 egg - and I'm not always that hungery. So my rating is: EXCELLENT if you got it free - GOOD if you didn't. Staff is good. New Area had good business type desk/chair in the room. WILL stay here again.

Room Tip: My understanding is that the older rooms are smaller - but they are more convienient to the Lobby an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGMTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear MGMTraveler,
Thank you for visiting from Phoenix and I am pleased that you had a pleasant stay. I was also glad that you found our location perfect for your visit and we hope to have you back again. Thanks for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is the place we chose to spend our Halloween in the city.
What a great choice! The staff was extremely accommodating and never once bothered us as we partied though the night, in and out we went as they suggested the best routs to our destinations and even what food would be available and appropriate for our chosen path. So glad we stayed here.Big plus - it's in the heart of the city, easy access to BART and taxis are always right there.Good place for tourists and locals too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dealia420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear Dealia420,
Thank you for staying at the Handlery Union Square Hotel and I was happy to see you enjoyed your visit. I am glad that you found our staff accommodating and our location ideal for your visit. Looking forward to having you back again.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed for just one night. Very efficient and friendly staff, with a knowledgable concierge. Most hotels in San Fraancisco are expensive and the Handlery is no exception but the location does compensate. Perfect for Union Square, shops, bar, restaurants and of course, trams. Room was a bit tired and inward facing, so no view! Wi-Fi in the room was chargeable, which in this day and age, is just unacceptable. Air Con unit buttons were unresponsiive and took some fiddling with to adjust the temperature/fan speed. Hotel offers a third party airport express service, which, at $16 was good value.
All in all quite a good hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadGreekInWuhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear MadGreekInWuhan,
Thank you for feedback for staying with us and I am pleased that you generally enjoyed your stay. I do appreciate your constructive comments and we now offer wifi free. Thank you again for staying at the Handlery.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Location wise this is a great hotel, right in the middle of the shopping hub of San Fran, close to the malls, trams, buses etc. Loads of eating places all around. Limited wifi connection was a bit of a nuisance, so we went to the closest Star Bucks, along with many others. The hotel is fairly dated, but the rooms are nice, clean, roomy, with very comfy beds. The lift wasn't working when we arrived so we had to haul our bags up several flights of stairs. Didn't seem to be anyone willing to help us with it. Overall, a good place to stay, value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSimmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear CSimmonds,
Thank you for your feedback on our hotel after your recent stay. I was pleased that overall you enjoyed your visit and we have just enhanced our wifi and it's now complimentary. I do apologize the inconvenience with regards to the lift. I have actually visited Hamilton on a number of occasions on my way back from Rotorua to Auckland. Thank you again for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Handlery is tired. Its pretty ugly. Its a little dirty. Its overpriced.

The staff is very nice. It is right on Union Square.

Our room was in the older motel like part of the hotel. It was quiet. The pool looked pretty bad but we did not use it. Our friends told us the tower rooms were no better.

So, in summary, you can do better and you should.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winetraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear winetraveller17,
Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry that your stay was not as pleasant as you would have liked. I wish you had contacted me while you were here as I am sure I could have found a room you would have enjoyed. Again, my apologies for the inconvenience.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#33 of 230 in San Francisco
3,745 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#18 of 230 in San Francisco
5,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#93 of 230 in San Francisco
1,846 reviews
Union Square
Hilton San Francisco Union Square
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#122 of 230 in San Francisco
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handlery Union Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handlery Union Square Hotel

Address: 351 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $118 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handlery Union Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Handlery Union Square Hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, within walking distance of world class shops, the Moscone Center, and the Powell Street cable car line. All 377 rooms feature wireless Internet access, mini refrigerators, and in-room safes. Enjoy traditional accommodations in the Historic Section or luxurious, oversized rooms in the Premier Section. The hotel features on site valet parking, an outdoor heated pool, sauna, and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Splitty, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Handlery Union Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Handlery Union Square San Francisco
Hotel Handlery Union Square
Handlery Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing