We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Ranked #69 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Location wise this is a great hotel, right in the middle of the shopping hub of San Fran, close to the malls, trams, buses etc. Loads of eating places all around. Limited wifi connection was a bit of a nuisance, so we went to the closest Star Bucks, along with many others. The hotel is fairly dated, but the rooms are nice, clean, roomy, with very comfy beds. The lift wasn't working when we arrived so we had to haul our bags up several flights of stairs. Didn't seem to be anyone willing to help us with it. Overall, a good place to stay, value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSimmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear CSimmonds,
Thank you for your feedback on our hotel after your recent stay. I was pleased that overall you enjoyed your visit and we have just enhanced our wifi and it's now complimentary. I do apologize the inconvenience with regards to the lift. I have actually visited Hamilton on a number of occasions on my way back from Rotorua to Auckland. Thank you again for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,091)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,223 - 2,229 of 4,091 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

Handlery is tired. Its pretty ugly. Its a little dirty. Its overpriced.

The staff is very nice. It is right on Union Square.

Our room was in the older motel like part of the hotel. It was quiet. The pool looked pretty bad but we did not use it. Our friends told us the tower rooms were no better.

So, in summary, you can do better and you should.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winetraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear winetraveller17,
Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry that your stay was not as pleasant as you would have liked. I wish you had contacted me while you were here as I am sure I could have found a room you would have enjoyed. Again, my apologies for the inconvenience.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

What a great location trolleys on the corner shops everywhere 10-15 mins to all the tourist spots and nice friendly clean hotel which we couldn't find fault with.
We got great room overlooking the pool it was like a quite oasis nice and relaxing on the balcony coffee in the morning and nice cold beer in the evening brilliant. When we go to san fran again booking this hotel again.

Room Tip: New block inside overlooking pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackodanapoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear jackodanapoint,
Thank you for choosing the Handlery Union Square Hotel on your visit to San Francisco. I am glad you found our location great and that you enjoyed our Premier Rooms with the balconies that overlook our pool and courtyard area. We hope to have you back soon.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed here for an overnight shopping trip with my 21yo daughter. The location is ideal, all the stores are within easy walking distance. Rooms are small but clean and beds were comfy. We had an inside room, no view but quiet, I imagine outside rooms could be noisy as this is a busy area. Service was prompt & friendly and while I felt the price was a bit high (we come every yr & I can usually find a room for about $100, but everything was at least $200 this yr), I think this place is competitive with all the better older hotels @ Union Square. Happy hr @ the Daily Grill was great, best Cosmo around! Overall, a very nice stay.

Room Tip: View room might be noisy, opt for inside room for a quiet stay. Happy hour @ Daily Grill: good drink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear water7996,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Handlery. I was happy to read that you found our location ideal and your room clean and our beds comfy. I agree the happy hour in the Daily Grill is one of the best deals and their "cosmos" are fantastic. Thanks again for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed at this hotel while in town for a conference. My room was in the old section, small, but had a comfortable bed, desk, refrigerator in the TV cabinet, no dresser, but ample room in the closet and nightstands to unpack for a week, and there was a safe in the closet. I had a comfy chair and ottoman to work on my laptop--wifi is not necessarily free, but they may give it to you if you ask. I had a wonderful bay window that looked out on Geary St and could see Union Square--lots of street noise, so if that bothers you, ask for the new section in back! I took the streetcar from the corner to get to the conference and down to Fisherman's Wharf, and was able to book a 7-day pass and have that waiting for me when I checked in! Concierge and all hotel staff were friendly, helpful and accommodating and were not constantly looking for a tip for every little thing. (I did tip for help with luggage, cabs, tours, and dinner reservations, not for recommendations on places to eat while sightseeing.) I would LOVE to go back here again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the street are noisy, but great atmosphere--they will gladly give earplugs at the front des...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear SunnyFree,
Thank you for your comments on your stay at our hotel. I am glad you found our staff friendly, helpful and accommodating and that your room was comfortable. We look forward to having you back from Virginia again.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Property was good for business travel and meeting accommodations. Location was excellent with respect to shopping, dining, entertainment, BART station, etc.

Associated restaurant (Daily Grill) was a bit unfriendly to a party of one for breakfast on November 8, 2012. Said it would be a 15-20 minute wait for a table for one. This while staring at 15 open tables. When asked why those weren't available, the hostess said, "We've already set them for 4 people and don't want to pull clean dishes off." Perhaps one of the most incredibly stupid comments I've ever heard. At least 3 patrons left after this treatment. That said, food was fine and so was the server. Hostess could maybe use some "big picture" enlightenment.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rvanreken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear rvanreken,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Handlery. I was pleased that you enjoyed your visit and my apologies that not all aspects of your dining experience were enjoyable. I was pleased that you found the food enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We recently stayed at the Hotel Handlery in San Francisco for two nights while celebrating our 40th anniversary. The staff was excellent from checking to checkout. The hotel s in a great location with easy access to the cable cars ad the trolleys. Our room was exceptionally clean and for a downtown hotel, very roomy. The concierge was very helpful with suggestions for sights ad restaurants and the front desk help was a pleasure to deal with. We were 2 couples both celebrating our 40th anniversaries and this was the sat leg of a 10 day trip that began in San Diego. We ad entwined our anniversary and the hotel sent a battle of champagne to each room. Nice touch. We all highly recommend this hotel. It was difficult to leave this hotel and city and return to Boston.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back. Not much of a view but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjoyal6267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear rjoyal6276,
Thank you for visiting from Beantown and I am glad your experience at our hotel was positive. I was also glad to see that our concierge staff met your needs and before I forget, HAPPY 40TH.
We look forward to having you back on your 41st. Thank you again for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#33 of 230 in San Francisco
3,746 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#93 of 230 in San Francisco
1,848 reviews
Union Square
Hilton San Francisco Union Square
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#123 of 230 in San Francisco
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handlery Union Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handlery Union Square Hotel

Address: 351 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $151 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handlery Union Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Handlery Union Square Hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, within walking distance of world class shops, the Moscone Center, and the Powell Street cable car line. All 377 rooms feature wireless Internet access, mini refrigerators, and in-room safes. Enjoy traditional accommodations in the Historic Section or luxurious, oversized rooms in the Premier Section. The hotel features on site valet parking, an outdoor heated pool, sauna, and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Handlery Union Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Handlery Union Square San Francisco
Hotel Handlery Union Square
Handlery Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing