We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic quaint hotel near to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Ranked #71 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
2 reviews
“A fantastic quaint hotel near to everything”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Rooms were lovely. No view but not overlooking the street. Staff fantastic and concierge very knowledgable, although you can't interrupt him. A great hotel so close to everything. A short walk for trolleys to pier 39 and Alcatraz, right on union square.

Room Tip: Don't go for a street room. Very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melissa_oz63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
G'day melissa_oz63,
Thank you for visiting San Francisco from the land downunder and I am glad you enjoyed our hotel. Many guests, like yourself, love our location and find our staff fantastic as well. We look forward to having you back from Australia and thanks again for staying with us.

Cheers,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,272
    1,702
    598
    183
    79
See reviews for
974
1,583
127
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (890)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We just checked in to the hotel. As you've read already, the location is perfect: near union square, cable cars, convention center... The room and bathroom are very clean. Yet for the money we paid, we hoped to find a bathtub in the bathroom and some curtains instead of shutters in the bedroom. So you know, we combined a business trip with some extra days for exploring the city. Overall we had a good first impression of the hotel though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank krisv79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Krisv79,
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay and I was happy to see that you would return. We are installing black out drapes in our historic rooms in the first part of 2013 which will add more privacy and help soften any noise. I have visited Antwerp and it is a beautiful city
with great food and beer. Thanks again for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I have stayed at this San Francisco establishment during visits over the past 15 years. (last visit Aug 2010) Always pleasant staff, lovely rooms in both Club and Original building (club is a tad quieter)..loved our room on 8th flr large king...classy. Close to everything and cable car/bart etc. and some wonderful restaurants - but do try the Handlerys Daily Grill at least once!..they make a mean apple martini! look forward to next stay.x

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freebird3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
G'day beachbird129,
Thank you for your continued patronage of the Handlery. I am glad you had another great stay and you are right, the apple martini's in the Daily Grill are fantastic. We look forward to your next visit from downunder and thanks again for choosing the Handlery.

Cheers,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Handlery Union Square Hotel! I had requested a Premier King Room with balcony that overlooked the pool. We were interested in having a very quiet room and we most certainly did! The room was spacious with a king size bed, desk area and love seat, chair and coffee table. A very nice make-up area that was separate from the bath. The newer section is separate from the historic section and you do need to take some stairs, but for us, that was not an issue. I did notice a lift, so if need be, I'm sure that could be used. We loved our stay, the location is great, right next to Union Square. We also received a bottle of champagne in our room, due to celebrating our wedding anniversary! Thanks for a nice time!

Room Tip: We had room 565 and again, it was very quite! We also had AC, as some of the Boutique hotels in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Leslie314,
Thanks for staying with us and Congrats on you Anniversary! I was pleased that you enjoyed your room and the amenities we provide in the Premier Section and we hope to have you back again from San Jose soon if not at least on your next Anniversary.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here two nights, 5th and 6th September 2012. The hotel is located very close to Union Square and the all-important shops! China Town is a short stroll away from here, too. From Union Square, you can also pick up the recommended Big Bus tour of SF. Our room was situated above the main street, and did not have double glazing. In consequence, there was some noticed night time and early morning noise but not enough to really matter. The room was furnished to a good standard with a comfy and vast sized bed! The hotel lobby leads to the restaurant named "Daily Grill" where breakfast is to be had and which provides evening meals. The food provided both ends of the day was very good and the restaurant is worthy of recommendation. The staff were friendly, and we would certainly consider staying here is returning to San Francisco.

Room Tip: Maybe consider an inward facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartHammill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Stuart Hammill,
Thank you for your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor and I am happy you enjoyed your stay and our location. I was also pleased that your contact with our staff was pleasant and you enjoyed your dining experiences in the Daily Grill. We look forward to having you back at the Handlery again.

Sincerely,
Jon S Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

OMG! If you have never been you have to go to San Francisco and experience all the exciting places right on your doorstep from the Handlery Union Sq!! The hotel was fab location, friendly and helpful staff. A rooftop heated pool, they even had a sauna. Visit Macy's just a stone throw away and dine at the Cheesecake factory!! Need i say anymore??

Room Tip: I stayed in the historical part of the hotel, lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julietum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Julietum1,
Thank you for your review of our hotel and I was pleased you enjoyed our 'fab' location. I am also pleased that you liked the fact that we have a pool and sauna and I will share your nice comments to the staff. Thanks again for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights on a business trip. San Fran hotels can be quite expensive for what you get but this was a surprise. I've stayed at Hotel Union Square and Powell Hotel before and these were cheaper and the rooms were nicer. There wasn't anything hugely wrong apart from it's an old hotel and the room was very ordinary, outdated and uninspiring. Might be a bit of an unfair comparison but I'd just spent a week at Loews in Philly so probably was expecting more for the price, considering it was a large saving off normal rates based on the special price on Expedia. And I'd enjoyed Hotel Union Square before so was figuring this would be on par. Well, luckily it was only for sleeping but the location is certainly brilliant. Close to much of where it's happening so that's what you're paying for I guess.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeejayTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear DeejayTripper,
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at our hotel and I apologize that not all aspects of your stay were enjoyable. I wish you had contacted me while you were here as I am sure I could have found accommodations that would have exceeded your expectations. Thank you for staying with us and providing your comments.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,111 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#77 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#44 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,552 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#102 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handlery Union Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handlery Union Square Hotel

Property: Handlery Union Square Hotel
Address: 351 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handlery Union Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Handlery Union Square Hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, within walking distance of world class shops, the Moscone Center, and the Powell Street cable car line. All 377 rooms feature wireless Internet access, mini refrigerators, and in-room safes. Enjoy traditional accommodations in the Historic Section or luxurious, oversized rooms in the Club Section. The hotel features on site valet parking, an outdoor heated pool, sauna, and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Handlery Union Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Handlery Union Square San Francisco
Hotel Handlery Union Square
Handlery Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing