We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”
Review of Grant Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grant Plaza Hotel
Ranked #162 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed November 7, 2013

A Budget hotel which gave you what they said they would. No Air conditioning, small room, opaque window onto a well. Not what we would have chosen had there been anything else available but with Americas Cup and the Oracle Conference there was little alternative in the city. A very convenient location for transport and getting arround in general.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (863)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 863 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

After reading trip advisor reviews we were not expecting anything great but were pleasantly surprised. The location is excellent, very handy to shopping and restaurants and we walked to it from the Montgomery St BART station. We asked for a quiet room and got one. The desk staff were helpful with directions and advice. The rooms were clean and had plenty of hot water. We thought the price was reasonable by San Francisco standards. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Woody6049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Nice, older hotel. Older. Rooms were quite small but clean. A little TLC wouldn't hurt. Although there is some street noise, the rooms are quiet. There is no air conditioning, but there was a fan in our room. Decent enough, budget friendly place if you want to be in Chinatown.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank 2CAPs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our Honeymoon. We drove a rental car from Tahoe. The parking was a little expensive, but it is everywhere in the city. We parked and used Muni and cable cars to get around. The hills in town were very steep all over. No AC in the rooms,but not many places had it.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sadams76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed in room 303 with twin beds for 3 nights. The hotel is centrally located in Chinatown within walking distance to the Powell Street BART station. It is also possible to walk from the hotel to Fisherman's Wharf. The room and the bathroom are smallish but for the price of approximately $110 a night, this place is really value for money. There's no fridge, air conditioning or coffee maker in the room but the hotel offers free coffee in the lobby between 6:30 and 9:30am every morning. There's also free wifi in the room which was nice. The hotel staff were helpful. I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Free D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I recently stayed here with my family for 3 nights. Firstly, if you decide to make your own way from the airport then be prepared for a bit of a trek! This hotel is in China Town, which is about 10 minutes walk from the station, and on a very steep hill (made even worse by having to pull your luggage behind you!). My partner and I were fine, but no so great for my mother!

The hotel in is a fantastic location, and most places are easy enough to walk to. If you do require a taxi, do not book one through the hotel. We were quoted $30 for a taxi to Fishermans Wharf. The next morning we waited for ages for our pre booked taxi to show up. As we had Alcatraz tickets, we were short on time so decided to flag one down instead. Not only did we have one within seconds, it only cost us $15 including a tip!

The rooms were ok although in need of some TLC. The beds were fairly comfortable which I was surprised at. Our shower was also decent- running really hot which is needed after a cold day in San Fran! My mothers experience was a little different. Her shower was luke warm and barely had any power. When we asked the guy on reception, he said he'd get it looked at whilst we were out for the day. When we returned he said it had been fixed. We tried it in the room and couldn't get it to work so the guy from reception came back up with the maintenance guy. After a bit of messing around, they could get it to work, however told us there was a 'knack' to it. We tried for awhile and couldn't get it working so my mother and sister ended up using the one in our room. The reception guy was quite rude with us as we couldn't get the 'knack', and not apologetic at all.

When we checked out, we were charged a few dollars more than what I had booked online. When I asked about this, no answer could be given, and even though I showed them the price I'd reserved, they still proceeded to charge me extra??!

Overall the Grant Plaza experience wasn't a good one, but we weren't in the hotel for a long amount of time. The location couldn't be much better and is the main selling point to his hotel. The rooms were as you would expect for the price, but would've been a little nicer though if you felt like you mattered to the staff instead of a bit of an inconvenience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djr2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Room was clean but very basic. No a/c (not needed in sept), sheet was torn, desk staff couldn't recommend a restaurant outside of Chinatown. Location cannot be beat. Desk was very friendly.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#132 of 230 in San Francisco
1,051 reviews
Music City Hotel
#116 of 230 in San Francisco
412 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#82 of 230 in San Francisco
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
SF Plaza Hotel
SF Plaza Hotel
#200 of 230 in San Francisco
457 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#131 of 230 in San Francisco
797 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#88 of 230 in San Francisco
2,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grant Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Plaza Hotel

Address: 465 Grant Ave, San Francisco, CA 94108-3208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $118 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grant Plaza Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grant Plaza Hotel is a limited service boutique hotel located in the heart of the city. It is recommended by many travellers as one of the best valued hotels in San Francisco. The hotel is conveniently located at the gateway to Chinatown, 3 blocks from Union Square, and within easy walking distance to many fine restaurants and theaters in this exciting city. It is also only 1 block to the famous San Francisco Cable Car line, the Bank of American Building in the Financial District and the 5 stars Ritz Carlton Hotel in Nob Hill. It caters to both business and pleasure travelers, and is the perfect place for a vacation getaway. The Hotel has just a completed renovation in 2015. The comfortable guestrooms are appointed with contemporary furnishings, and have recently been renovated for guest convenience with hairdryer, electronic keycard lock and free (WiFi) high speed internet access. The professional and attentive staff at the hotel will ensure that all guests are well taken care of. If you're seeking comfort and affordability all in one, this is one of the best value hotels in San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grant Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Plaza San Francisco
Hotel Grant Plaza
Grant Plaza Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing