We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Grant Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grant Plaza Hotel
Ranked #156 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed September 16, 2013

A friend and I stayed at the Grant Plaza in September 2013. The hotel was in a good central location, in the China town area, not too far from Little Italy or Union Square (10 minutes walk.) The hotel itself was clean and comfortable and the staff were very helpful and welcoming. Our room (a twin) was small but had everything we needed- wardrobe, beds, bedside table, phone, tv and small desk. The bathroom was small with a shower and the maid was very good at providing fresh towels on a daily basis. I think the hotel is perfect if your on a budget and want to be in a central location. I gave 4 stars as the hotel could do with a lick of paint and the lift is a bit scary (it jumps.) But would recommend to anyone wanting a clean, comfortable hotel in a central location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jellybeanellis83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (855)
There are newer reviews for Grant Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 855 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed at the Grant Plaza for 5 nights with my boyfriend, travelling from the UK.

We had not visited San Francisco before and were a little apprehensive about our trip, we had already changed hotels due to reviews on trip advisor stating that the area was unsafe, however, at check-in we were immediately put at ease, the staff were friendly and the area was pleasant.

Our room was small but comfortable, the only reason I gave this hotel 4 stars instead of 5 is the bathroom felt slightly dingy, only slightly bearing in mind I'm a bit of a clean freak when it comes to bathrooms! The hotel supplied free Wi-Fi which came in handy for locating tourist attractions.

Location wise the hotel is perfect, you could walk to most attractions or taxis are reasonably priced (do make sure you use a marked taxi, we made that mistake one evening after a couple of sodas). Make sure you do your research before you visit, there are many things in San Francisco not to be missed; Alcatraz, Lombard Street, Painted Ladies, Fisherman's Wharf, Sea Lions at Pier 39... the list goes on...

Thanks for a great stay Grant Plaza! xX

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayleigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

In San Francisco, hotels are either too expensive or too dingy. This hotel is the perfect mix of a reasonable price and good location. The hotel is owned by Asians (no surprise since it is smack in the middle of China Town). The China Town arch is one block away from the hotel; Union Square Park, buses and trollies are all within ten minute of walk. The actual hotel is on the higher end of the slope that is Grant Avenue, so be prepared to walk uphill. Everything about this hotel is small... the entry way, the elevator, the hallways, the room, and the bathroom. Our entire room was no bigger than two queen beds put together. But on a budget - you make do. The hotel provides you with a desk to write on, and a closet to put your baggage into. The bathroom was tiny - maybe a couple feet wider than an airplane bathroom. You had to wait for the water to warm up and the ventilation of the place is poor at best. The amount of bath towels provided was also limited. The hotel does not offer breakfast and the rooms do not have refrigerators. However, if you have left-overs which are still good, there is a small but weak microwave by the check-in counter, but you have to ask the staff to open up a private room. In addition, the hotel provides a computer for use - it looked and felt ancient and also cost money. The best part of this hotel (besides price and it's location) was that they allowed us to store our luggage with them for the entire day on the day of check-out. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank krnbbkrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at the Grant Plaza for 6 night with 4 adults in one room. After reading a lot of reviews we didn't expect much however where pleasantly surprised. This is a budget hotel in a great location. I would stay here again as its value for money it's not the Hilton but if your after somewhere to base yourself out of and rest your bones at night this is the place for you. It's old but does the job!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I was alone in this trip and I got a single room, it was minimal but clean and the bed was the best I had in my trips, very very comfortable. They cleaned the room and the bathroom everyday, the tv had just 5 channels but I wasn't in SF to keep myself in the hotel to watch tv. Perfect location in Chinatown close to Union Square and Market st.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I wasn't expecting a palace and I didn't get one. However the place was clean, great shower, loads of clean towels daily. The office people were very obliging. Wifi was very good indeed even on the fourth floor. My room didn't have at all a desirable view but it was at the back and very quiet. The mattress was overdue for replacement. I liked being in Chinatown. Good evening food but breakfasts were difficult to come by. Very handy to the centre of town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flica3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The rooms were a little dated but were clean and the bed was comfortable. It was in a great location and just what you need in San Francisco. It was great value for money as there is so much to do you'll be out most of the day anyway! It wasn't fancy or posh but was in a great location and you could walk everywhere - however my boyfriend and I like to walk! Fisherman's wharf was about 25 minutes walk and is quite hilly but we loved the walk in the morning. You can also walk to AT&T park if you want to.

Hotel is right near China Town which is great at night, also just down the road is a restaurant called Hops and Hominy which is a must!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 229 in San Francisco
1,357 reviews
Music City Hotel
#122 of 229 in San Francisco
400 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#130 of 229 in San Francisco
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
SF Plaza Hotel
SF Plaza Hotel
#200 of 229 in San Francisco
455 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#90 of 229 in San Francisco
2,350 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#129 of 229 in San Francisco
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grant Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Plaza Hotel

Address: 465 Grant Ave, San Francisco, CA 94108-3208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $113 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grant Plaza Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grant Plaza Hotel is a limited service boutique hotel located in the heart of the city. It is recommended by many travellers as one of the best valued hotels in San Francisco. The hotel is conveniently located at the gateway to Chinatown, 3 blocks from Union Square, and within easy walking distance to many fine restaurants and theaters in this exciting city. It is also only 1 block to the famous San Francisco Cable Car line, the Bank of American Building in the Financial District and the 5 stars Ritz Carlton Hotel in Nob Hill. It caters to both business and pleasure travelers, and is the perfect place for a vacation getaway. The Hotel has just a completed renovation in 2015. The comfortable guestrooms are appointed with contemporary furnishings, and have recently been renovated for guest convenience with hairdryer, electronic keycard lock and free (WiFi) high speed internet access. The professional and attentive staff at the hotel will ensure that all guests are well taken care of. If you're seeking comfort and affordability all in one, this is one of the best value hotels in San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Grant Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Plaza San Francisco
Hotel Grant Plaza
Grant Plaza Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing