We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, Good location, but...”
Review of Grant Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grant Plaza Hotel
Ranked #156 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel has a good location, right in Chinatown and it is somewhat cheap comparing to other hotels in San Francisco (which I found a pretty expensive city in terms of acommodation). Problems is rooms are pretty small and not very clean. The bed is definitely NOT comfortable as i slept in a spring mattress that looked like 15+ years old.

Parking in the region is not easy, pay attention to the parking signs.

Room Tip: Pay attention to the parking signs before you leave your car in the street at night. Every day they...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViniciusLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (855)
There are newer reviews for Grant Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 855 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at the Grant Plaza Hotel on our last two visits to San Francisco and both were positive experiences. Our most recent stay was July 11-16. We stayed in room 514 and though there was no view, it was sunny with few street sounds drifting up. Maid service was good: the sheets seemed new and freshly ironed and were changed daily, and the shower had plenty of hot water. There is also a hair dryer provided. There are soft drink/ice machines in the lobby and the staff is always friendly and accomodating, willing to call cabs and arrange airport transportation for you.

You can't beat the location-just a block inside the gates of Chinatown with many restaurants and shops to choose from-and the area is alive with tourists and activity during the day. We were coming and going from the area each evening after dark and felt secure. BART and MUNI stops are also convenient.

For San Francisco on a budget this is a good place to start.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Location is ideal as it is walking distant from the BART to the hotel. About 10-15mins walk with luggage. Location is right at the start/end (depends on how you view it) of chinatown. If you are not a fan of chinatown, head southwards to Shopping area at Union sq. Head northwards to the pier area. I walked wherever I go when i was there. So estimated 5mins to reach union square, and about 20-25mins to reach pier 33 from the hotel.

Room is definitely small, and do not expect huge king size bed. Room is ok if you are not the fussy type, decent enough to stay. However, expect not much privacy as walls are not sound-proof. So talk softly if you do not want your neighbors to know what you are conversing.

Reception is helpful. Assisted us to arrange for airport transfer when the BART went on strike. They have a room to keep your luggage and lockers if you plan to lock them up.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kidman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Great hotel...except for the fact that ridiculous charges to vendors I've
never visited showed up on my credit card after I checked out. I was there on
vacation and only used this card at Grant Plaza...interesting that someone
else wrote a similar review around the same time I stayed there. Hopefully
they have figured it out...aside from that, great value and location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank traveler700825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great location a block from the gates of Chinatown so right in the heart of all the little shops and restaurants. Going solo this trip and being a woman alone I was never afraid for a moment and felt perfectly safe the entire time.
I stayed on the top floor facing Chinatown so at times it was noisy with fireworks and people leaving restaurants and bars.
The staff was nothing but extremely helpful and pleasant and anywhere I wanted to go they willingly printed up exact instructions on how to get there.
Now a few comments on the room....it was a small room but nonetheless clean and perfectly fine for a long weekend. I never once seen any sort of bug or insect.
The tv was functional,,,,had limited channels but I wasn't in the room other than to sleep.
The noise from other rooms wasn't as bad as others have mentioned.
One thing to note you do have to pay 25 cents for a bucket of ice.
If I had to say one major flaw it would be the bed which was more of a cot than a real bed so it wasn't overly comfortable but once again ok for a long weekend.
All in all for the price location was ideal,,,it was around a 3 to 4 walk block to union square with all the shopping and restaurants,,,it was safe,,,,affordable and clean.

Room Tip: The higher the better ask for 6th floor.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cujoetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The room was really small, but who goes on vacation to stay in the room? The location was great, right on the edge of Chinatown and really close to Union Square, everything was easily accessible. Only real complaint is you can hear everything that goes on, I heard everything my neighbor did in his bathroom. You get what you pay for, and if you're really just looking for a place to crash after visiting all the SF sights, this is a good spot. And you can smell the overuse of cleaning products on the bed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justinm546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Yes, title is true sadly. Only place my card was used was in this hotel. Received a phone call from the bank a week later to ask about suspicious activity, I wasn't even in the state! So it's either front of house staff or a sneaky maid going through people's things. Authorities have been alerted anyway.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank bambam89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 229 in San Francisco
1,358 reviews
Music City Hotel
#122 of 229 in San Francisco
400 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#130 of 229 in San Francisco
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
SF Plaza Hotel
SF Plaza Hotel
#200 of 229 in San Francisco
455 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#90 of 229 in San Francisco
2,350 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#129 of 229 in San Francisco
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grant Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Plaza Hotel

Address: 465 Grant Ave, San Francisco, CA 94108-3208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $113 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grant Plaza Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grant Plaza Hotel is a limited service boutique hotel located in the heart of the city. It is recommended by many travellers as one of the best valued hotels in San Francisco. The hotel is conveniently located at the gateway to Chinatown, 3 blocks from Union Square, and within easy walking distance to many fine restaurants and theaters in this exciting city. It is also only 1 block to the famous San Francisco Cable Car line, the Bank of American Building in the Financial District and the 5 stars Ritz Carlton Hotel in Nob Hill. It caters to both business and pleasure travelers, and is the perfect place for a vacation getaway. The Hotel has just a completed renovation in 2015. The comfortable guestrooms are appointed with contemporary furnishings, and have recently been renovated for guest convenience with hairdryer, electronic keycard lock and free (WiFi) high speed internet access. The professional and attentive staff at the hotel will ensure that all guests are well taken care of. If you're seeking comfort and affordability all in one, this is one of the best value hotels in San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Grant Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Plaza San Francisco
Hotel Grant Plaza
Grant Plaza Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing