We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Grant Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grant Plaza Hotel
Ranked #165 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Good location (near the China town gates) for the price. We found it hard to get a nice hotel in San Francisco for a decent price and the Grant Plaza was a good find. The room was small but clean and staff were friendly. We walked to market street many times which is about a 10 min walk. From market you can take the F line to Pier 33 (where Alcatraz tour departs) and Pier 39 (tourist area with restaurants/attractions).

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rmb86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (876)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 876 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed 3 nights here, and while the location is good in terms of proximity to shopping (Union Square/Westfield) and transport to Fisherman's Wharf etc, it is pretty noisy and busy until late at night.

After arriving and checking out, we took the elevator to the 5th floor, and were faced with chairs and folded up beds in the hallway which we had to squeeze past.

Our room was really small, the shower tiny, and my feet hung about 10 inches over the end of the bed. I'm about 6'1", so even average sized people would surely feel this. Additionally, our mattress was sunken in the middle, so we both rolled into it, which was quite uncomfortable.

Overall, an OK stay. Probably would only recommend it for the location though...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TindersUhOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

... in lovely Chinatown. The staff was very helpful. We had a nice room with a nice view on Chinatown. Location makes it easy to discover San Francisco by foot. The room itself was clean and comfortable. The bathroom had everything we nedded. Free internet access is provided an very fast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina269Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMgph, General Manager at Grant Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

We are so glad you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Grant Plaza Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your comment online! We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you come to San Francisco!

Sincerely,

General Manager
Grant Plaza Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed 5 nights recently at this hotel. We read reviews beforehand and were expecting modest accomodations at a budget price. Location was excellent, close to everything we planned to do. Front desk allowed us to check in early (2:00) at no extra charge and were given a quiet room with updated furnishings on the back side of the hotel. The room and bed were quite small but adequate. Bathroom and shower were small but updated, plenty of hot water. Not much of a view from the backside but we weren't in the room except to sleep anyway. Upon checkout the front desk held our luggage for a half-day at no charge til our flight left.
There were endless restaurant choices and especially enjoyed the Italian cuisine in nearby North Beach. Lots of daytime tourists and foot traffic in the area during the day. We plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side have no view but are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMgph, General Manager at Grant Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

We are so glad you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Grant Plaza Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your comment online! We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you come to San Francisco!

Sincerely,

General Manager
Grant Plaza Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The room where we stayed for 1 night was really basic but clean. As many hotel in US, sound isolation is pretty bad but it really does the job for a reasonable price regarding situation.
However, the breakfast is almost inexistant : Coffee and bad muffins.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Have stayed here twice now...3 years inbetween stays.Good location at the Gates of China Town..nice and quiet at night.Its basic but fine,clean and tidy and safe.No problems at all during our stay I can recommend this to other travellers on a mid priced budget.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 4th floor at it was fine.Lift is a bit slow and small but as you are in San Fran I s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramonenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMgph, General Manager at Grant Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

We are so glad you have enjoyed your stays with us at the Grant Plaza Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your comment online! We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you come to San Francisco!

Sincerely,

General Manager
Grant Plaza Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We booked a double for us and a twin for the kids for 3 nights after doing a tour up from LA.
Everything about the hotel was above expectations, considering the price, bar our double room. They may not be all like this in the hotel but ours, 410, just about took a double bed (4 ' 6") and not much room for much else. Added to this the bed sagged into the middle badly we didn't have the best nights sleep. Essentially the room was a single.
My just adult children on the other hand had a reasonably spacious twin in which they were comfy.

The reason I still give it a VG is that for the price everything else was great. Location, cleanliness and the staff were extremely nice and helpful.

If you demand AC don't go here as they don't have it but in San Francisco just open the windows as China town shuts down around 11pm and is fairly quite.

Room Tip: Want a spacious double? Don't book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndySW18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMgph, General Manager at Grant Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

We are so glad you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Grant Plaza Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your comment online and we will look into the issue mentioned. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you come to San Francisco!

Sincerely,

General Manager
Grant Plaza Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#132 of 230 in San Francisco
1,063 reviews
Music City Hotel
#115 of 230 in San Francisco
420 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#89 of 230 in San Francisco
2,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#189 of 230 in San Francisco
653 reviews
Union Square
SF Plaza Hotel
SF Plaza Hotel
#198 of 230 in San Francisco
459 reviews
Union Square
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
#138 of 230 in San Francisco
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grant Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Plaza Hotel

Address: 465 Grant Ave, San Francisco, CA 94108-3208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $103 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grant Plaza Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grant Plaza Hotel is a limited service boutique hotel located in the heart of the city. It is recommended by many travellers as one of the best valued hotels in San Francisco. The hotel is conveniently located at the gateway to Chinatown, 3 blocks from Union Square, and within easy walking distance to many fine restaurants and theaters in this exciting city. It is also only 1 block to the famous San Francisco Cable Car line, the Bank of American Building in the Financial District and the 5 stars Ritz Carlton Hotel in Nob Hill. It caters to both business and pleasure travelers, and is the perfect place for a vacation getaway. The Hotel has just a completed renovation in 2015. The comfortable guestrooms are appointed with contemporary furnishings, and have recently been renovated for guest convenience with hairdryer, electronic keycard lock and free (WiFi) high speed internet access. The professional and attentive staff at the hotel will ensure that all guests are well taken care of. If you're seeking comfort and affordability all in one, this is one of the best value hotels in San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grant Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Plaza San Francisco
Hotel Grant Plaza
Grant Plaza Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing