We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room, newly renovated!”
Review of Grant Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grant Plaza Hotel
Ranked #147 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great room, newly renovated!”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

I recently came back to visit San Francisco and stayed at the hotel which I previously have stayed. They assigned me a newly renovated room, and what a difference! Everything is brand new in the room. It is a bargain with a rate less than $100, and right in the heart of the city. A super location, that is convenient to shopping, dining, theaters and very safe neighborhood. We also went across the street to the Ritz Carlton Hotel for high tea one afternoon. We will definitely recommend this hotel to our friends after staying in the newly renovated room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktangohk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    244
    290
    107
    100
See reviews for
101
326
88
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis Mn
Level Contributor
349 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

My wife and I have been staying at the Grant every couple of years for 8 or 10 years now. We first read about it in the New York Times and thought the price was too good to be true. However, it is really a bargain in a major city. (All major cities are expensive.) Our most recent visit was April 20-22, 2012.
Some of the rooms, particularly the corner rooms, have a fantastic view of the street below. I have spent more than one afternoon just watching the wondrous mix of people moving up and down Grant Avenue. On the other hand, some of the rooms have no view at all. It is the luck of the draw, although the twin bedded rooms seem to have a better view. The rooms are small, and only one room has a bathtub, all the rest have showers.
It is clean, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. It is old and worn in spots, but it is due for a major renovation of the rooms in the next few months.
Costs are held low by having no breakfast, in-room coffee makers, or even a large lobby. It does have two PC's one can rent at the rate of $5 for 20 minutes, just enough time to print out your boarding passes for the next leg of your trip. I doubt that it has Wi-Fi, but I have never tried.
The location is fantastic. Exactly one block away is a Starbucks, so that takes care of not having anything to eat in the hotel. It also takes care of lunch and dinner if you are on a budget. A few doors up the hill from the Starbucks is a small shop that sells groceries, wine, beer, and liquor.
Obviously, the Grant Plaza is ideal for scouting out Chinatown, but just outside the ornamental Chinatown gate is the French Quarter of San Francisco. A beautiful French church is just up the hill from the gate, and across the street from the gate is the Café de la Press, a magnet for foreign travelers. (Staff there are required to be at least bi-lingual.) Nearby are four good French restaurants, Café Claude, Café Le Central, and Café La Bastille.
Regardless of where your room is, take the elevator to the 6th floor and look at the stained glass dome and windows. They look original to me. There is also a small seating area beneath the dome.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room overlooking Grant and Pine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JandJ67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Grant Plaza Hotel located just through the gates of Chinatown San Francisco CA was a
great location for walking to the embarcadero, north beach , coit tower and much more.
A little loud late night but otherwise fine. Nothing fancy. Clean rooms and friendly and
helpful staff. Near many fabulous restaraunts .

Room Tip: Rooms not on the street sides. Can be loud at night. Ask for the more renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cfranz2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We chose this place after seeing good reviews, it was cheaper than the hostels that were already booked up and for its location. It's right in the heart of Chinatown and only a few blocks from cable car and finanical district. It felt like you were in china with the smells of the orient, the violin man playing and all the signs are in mandarin - real fun!

Room was compact and basic, not dirty but dated so it kind of looked it (they are renovating so sure this will improve) No fridge or coffee machine or water machines and you can easily hear people in other rooms above and to the side.

But none of this bothered us, we were up and out all day and for the price you can't complain. The desk was really helpfull and friendly. We ended up loving this place :)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomandfigonetravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Just came back from San Francisco. The hotel looks nice from the outside and it is in a good location. The rooms are very small, but very clean. They do offer Wifi but it never worked. I stayed in room 214. The staff is very nice and helpful. Its in Chinatown and if you are looking for an affordable vacation....go for it! Bathroom is very small.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

The room was scary and not remodeled. I stayed because it was cheap, in a great location and I had no plans to do anything but put my things down and lay my head there. I will never stay there again.

The owner was kind however.

I got what PRICELINE paid for...last time I let them 'negotiate' for me.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robinson62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Getting here from the airport via the underground wasn't easy as it's up hill most of the way and with suitcases...not good! Check in was quick and easy. The room was not the greatest, it was actually really small and at the back of the hotel, the view was a wall from a neighboring building but as stated in the title, we didn't pay much for the hotel. The hotel was located on the edge of Chinatown and made getting out and about really easy with quick access to tram's and buses and it is quite nice to take a walk down Chinatown main street on an evening. The hotel staff were friendly and organized a bus tour for us.
Overall it was a satisfactory hotel, worth it if you are on a budget, but I wouldn't take kids there!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back don't get the street noise, but have poor views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damiengibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#126 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Union Square
SF Plaza Hotel
SF Plaza Hotel
#199 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
#142 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Music City Hotel
#127 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grant Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Plaza Hotel

Property: Grant Plaza Hotel
Address: 465 Grant Ave, San Francisco, CA 94108-3208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Grant Plaza Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grant Plaza Hotel is a limited service boutique hotel located in the heart of the city. It is recommended by many travellers as one of the best valued hotels in San Francisco. The hotel is conveniently located at the gateway to Chinatown, 3 blocks from Union Square, and within easy walking distance to many fine restaurants and theaters in this exciting city. It is also only 1 block to the famous San Francisco Cable Car line, the Bank of American Building in the Financial District and the 5 stars Ritz Carlton Hotel in Nob Hill. It caters to both business and pleasure travelers, and is the perfect place for a vacation getaway. The Hotel has just a completed renovation in 2015. The comfortable guestrooms are appointed with contemporary furnishings, and have recently been renovated for guest convenience with hairdryer, electronic keycard lock and free (WiFi) high speed internet access. The professional and attentive staff at the hotel will ensure that all guests are well taken care of. If you're seeking comfort and affordability all in one, this is one of the best value hotels in San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Grant Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Plaza San Francisco
Hotel Grant Plaza
Grant Plaza Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing