We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Ranked #37 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel in central location”
Reviewed September 26, 2006

Having read some discouraging reviews after booking this hotel we were pleasantly surprised. The room was excellent and view was stunning. Hotel staff were lovely and friendly plus there is a taxi queue just outside the hotel. It is central to the city and couldn't have wanted more. Much better than the Fisherman's Wharf area. Hotel bar on top floor has stunning views.

Alcatraz is well worth a visit and the audio tour is excellent.
Lori's Diners are great and Searle's is also good for breakfasts. Harris's steak restaurant is a lovely high class restaurant.

  • Liked — central location and lovely room
  • Disliked — slight problem getting enough creamer for coffee machine
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank happyjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,002
    1,631
    510
    159
    97
See reviews for
996
1,304
226
1,255
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (863)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
nj
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2006

We thought this was a nice hotel but did not really offer anything. Parking is crazzy expensive, $50 a day, and they charge you for everything in the room! (coffee, tea, etc) Hotel was in a great location, we were able to walk to everything (fisherman's dwarf, lombard st, shopping, etc.) but there was a serious lack of restauants closeby. =( we thought there were other nicer places we could have stayed that were more friendly. this was more a corporate hotel. bed was comfy but did not have fitted sheets, so annoying!

  • Liked — comfy comforter
  • Disliked — parking cost, no fitted sheets
  • Tips/Secrets — no car necessary
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank michelecm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2006

The main attraction for this hotel is its location in Union Square. It is a very convenient and safe location in the city for sightseeing.
The rooms were clean and comfortable and staff very helpful.On the downside our room on the 3rd floor looked out onto the street and was quite noisy( Poor sealing on the glazed windows) and the overall impression is that the decor is a bit dated and tired, a refit is surely due.
Car parking at $50.74 per day is outrageous! fortunately the Sutter/Stockton garage is conveniently located across the street. If i remember the daily rate is approx $32.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Cropwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2006

The only reason I booked this hotel was becuase of the rate of $143 over labor day weekend. The hotel is located in the heart of the city, and has some real nice city views. The lobby, and the rooms need some renovation, the furniture is kinda worn and outdated, but it is clean. The hotel has the new Hyatt Grand Beds, has to be one of the best beds I've slept in.
The fitness center is a decent size with new equipment. I thought the service was warm, and professional which I find rare at these large touristy hotels. In the end this is a large outdated tourist hotel in the heart of Union Square.

  • Liked — The bed, the location
  • Disliked — Lobby/rooms are outdated.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank klarkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
248 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2006

Stayed here for two nights in Aug 2006. Room was on the 23rd floor. Not much of a view, but it didn't matter to me. What did matter was the room was spotless, the staff were five-star friendly & professional and the location was great! The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was quiet. Although there was a noisy ice maker located next to my room, I didn't hear it at all once I got in and closed the door. It was no problem having a great night's sleep. Bathroom was just fine - LOVED the citrus/lavendar products they provided. Location was perfect for shopping, restaurants, etc. Highly recommend Sears Restaurant a block or two over - an old classic with great food, especially breakfast.

  • Liked — Heavenly bed!
  • Disliked — No shower cap in bathroom
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TwoTravelersToG... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2006

I got this hotel at 165 per nite thru corporate arrangement. I thought it was a good buy coz the location is so close to China Town, Union Square and Cable Tram to Fisherman Wharf.

The parking of 43 per nite was a killer but again, u get your car anytime you want and as many times as you want, no question asked.

I was assigned a smoking room even tho I clearly stated I wanted a non smoking room. I was told the hotel was full that day and hence the assignment.

Readers beware - the type of room you ask for (King or 2 Double) is a confirmed deal at the point of reservation but smoking/non-smoking room is not.

Then again, the reception gladly switched me to a non smoking room on the next day and guess what, they did all the shifting while we were out - seamlessly!

The smoking room was not that clean coz I could see ashes lying around. The non smoking room was in good shape.

The beds were heavenly after a long day out. The water pressure at the shower was great and so was the overall conditon of the room.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Expensive Parking
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank alexgoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2006

The location is the only thing this Hyatt has going for it. It is centrally located and it's easy to get around the city from there. But as far as the ammenities........it definately is not a 4 star hotel. The rooms are small and old.....tile chipped, rugs in need of replacement, etc. They give you a 5 cent coffee maker in room, but can't chip in the 2 cents for the coffee. The TV in the bathroom shouldn't be a selling point. It is stuck on a pole on the vanity and has a 5 inch screen. It is VERY noisy on the street side and we were 19 floors up. The housekeeping staff did okay, except they opened the door and came in twice while we were in the room...not real happy about that. I would not stay here again, especially for the money.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank showboat57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 227 in San Francisco
2,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 227 in San Francisco
1,093 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4,905 reviews
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#56 of 227 in San Francisco
4,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Property: Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-4694
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the newly renovated Grand Hyatt is steps away form World Premier Shopping, cable cars, Chinatown, the Convention Center. Guests at Grand Hyatt enjoy exquisite comfort & amenities including a complimentary Fitness Center, daily newspapers, free internet access at OneUP restaurant and lobby area and the ultimate sleep experience in a "Grand Bed". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing