We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Clean Rooms, but no parking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Ranked #39 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Clean Rooms, but no parking”
Reviewed April 13, 2009

First of all, be aware that this hotel does not have parking. In fact, you have two choices: valet ($45/night) or public parking ($35/night). I wish I had known this before booking.

With that said, the hotel itself was very clean, amenities felt new, and the staff was superb! From the moment we arrived, the staff was super helpful and cordial from the bell man to the restaurant staff. We had dinner at the Grandview Restaurant on the 36th floor, and felt pampered by the service (even though we had a very messy 10-month-old with us). The next morning, they let me stop by their buffet and pick up some pastries to bring up to the my room (for a very reasonable price). The staff even went out of their way to help me with my baby and stroller.

The location was excellent... just a block away from Macy's and in the center of Union Square. I'm glad the hotel was kid-friendly after all. Downside - Wifi was $9.99, and of course lack of parking. Overall, I felt like everything was clean in the room, had a decent view (and we were only on the 5th floor), and didn't have any problems.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aileenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,116
    1,681
    538
    167
    109
See reviews for
1,066
1,365
235
1,307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (889)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Centennial
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2009

We were a little worried after reading some of the reviews. So here is the truth from an unbiased couple. The location is awesome. The rooms are fine. They are nice and not "outdated" or anything else, although we did not see them as worthy of a $200 price tag, if you pay the regular price. Our $89 Priceline rate seemed like a really good deal. The staff was wonderful and very accomodating. Everything was great... except the clicking! Wow, if you are a light sleeper, it will drive you nuts. The staff said it happens when the wind blows and is worse the higher you go. Something about the hotel moving and earthquake safety. It sure was loud though. So we gave up our view on the 10th floor and moved to the 4th. It was much better and we were not in the room much anyway. If you want the view, head to the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJP6773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2009

My mom and I booked the Grand Hyatt because it was centrally located in Union Square. We had awesome help from the conceige before we arrived (transportation to/from SFO, around the city, etc) Check-in was a breeze once we got there. Our room over looked Union Square on the 31st floor. We caught the Culture Bus to California Academy of Sciences (GG Park) a block away and were dropped off even closer to the Grand Hyatt. I would recommend to anyone that wants a hotel in easy access to everything. Cable cars were a block away on Powell (didn't ride them in this trip, but I love them). The view from the Grandviews lounge on the 36th floor is to die for (We caught it on an afternoon where it had rained the night before and you could see the Bridges (GG and Bay), Alactraz, and Transamerica building)

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank callistamorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2009

This hotel has attentive and welcoming staff from the moment you step off the pavement. Check-in, bell boys and concierge staff are welcoming and friendly and one of the strengths of this hotel.

The other is the superb location just off the corner of Union Square. As such, the rooms (27th floor) and bar have superb views of Powell Street or of San Francisco. The bar also serves great cheese cake. Nearby you are also served with plenty of Starbucks and Walgreens.

The room: I can understand criticism of them being dated or noisy with wind but they are decent rooms of good size, clean, and the noise is not that loud you become troubled by it.

Concierge recommended a great Chinese restaurant ( Hunan Homes) that was a real gift of a find. There is also a great meal and good service to be found at nearby Scala's Bistro. Best breakfasts have to be at Sears...an American Institution. All of these are a short walk from the hotel.

There is no doubt in my mind that the Grand Hyatt would be my first port of call for the next visit to San Francisco.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobs-big-vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2009

I stayed with two friends of mine at the Grand Hyatt for one night. One of my friend is a part of the "gold membership" or something, so we stayed on a private floor and got access to the private lounge. The lounge served Starbucks coffee and provided snacks throughout the day. In the evening they provided reasonably-priced drinks and free desserts. The mood of the lounge was relaxing, and the waiter they had working there was friendly. The rooms themselves were clean and had a breathtaking view. The location was wonderful, and the night we stayed it was raining so the hotel lent us these humongous umbrellas. Overall the stay was nice, and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norcalgirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2009

We got a great deal on this hotel on Priceline for 3 nights in mid February 2009. The location is awesome and you can walk everywhere in Union Square. When we checked in, they were extremely helpful and polite, which isn't always the case when they see you paid a lower rate for their rooms. I even asked how booked they were to see if we could have a room with a view. They happily obliged and gave us a room on the 25th floor facing Powell Street. Actually, the Starlight Room was directly across from us so it was kinda fun watching the parties over there from our window. The room was spacious, quiet, bed was comfy, staff was polite. I couldn't ask for much more than that for the great rate we got. We would definitely stay here again when in SF.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2009

We just got back from a 5 day getaway to San Francisco and we stayed at the Grand Hyatt. The location is the truly grand part of this hotel. You can't ask for a better situated hotel especially if you like to shop! The hotel itself is very dated and in need of some major work. Our room was on the 29th floor and we had a great view. The bed itself was very comfortable but the linens were worn and the towels in the bathroom were rather threadbare. The bathroom was dated and unless you "plugged" the bathroom sink you could smell sewer! Also it was rather windy for a few of the days and the creaking noise in our room kept us up at night and when we called to ask what was going on, since the first 2 nights were nice and quiet, we were told that the creaking was caused by the wind and the building was moving slightly and there was nothing we could do!!! Not really what you want to hear when you are on the 29th floor! The windows were filthy and had childrens hand prints all the way down the lower half! The furniture was old and grubby. Wallpaper was starting to peel off!
The bar on the 36th floor provided a great view but the drinks were very expensive.
The staff were helpful and the best part of the hotel.
There are many other hotels in the area I would check out before ever going back to the
Grand Hyatt.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lannydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#36 of 229 in San Francisco
2,903 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,163 reviews
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#53 of 229 in San Francisco
4,336 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 229 in San Francisco
3,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Property: Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-4694
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the newly renovated Grand Hyatt is steps away form World Premier Shopping, cable cars, Chinatown, the Convention Center. Guests at Grand Hyatt enjoy exquisite comfort & amenities including a complimentary Fitness Center, daily newspapers, free internet access at OneUP restaurant and lobby area and the ultimate sleep experience in a "Grand Bed". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing