We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As you would expect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Ranked #38 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 29, 2009

The hotel is in a great location and what you would expect from a 4 star chain hotel. Its big, its efficient and generally well run. Staff were also very friendly and helpful. A typically expensive bar - but an amazing view from the top of this building and well worth a look. Rooms were good - again, basically what you would expect from a 4 star chain hotel! Although the windows were so dirty it was hard to admire the view! Made an international call from my room; it was almost $100 for a few minutes to the UK....will not make the same mistake again!

Overall, what you would expect from a Grand Hyatt. I still would recommend smaller boutique hotels in SF - better quality and better value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank badger36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,047 - 4,053 of 5,032 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2009

We stayed at the Grand Hyatt in San Francisco for 2 nights during our overseas trip. It is in a fantastic location adjacent to Union Square, shopping, restaurants and in close proximity to BART, Muni and cable cars.

We finally arrived at the hotel at 3:30 am, exhausted after a delayed flight from Chicago. We were especially annoyed by the fact that the airline we flew with had left our luggage in Chicago. The lovely girl at check in accommodated us in the best way she could and asked for 2 hospitality kits (small bags with supplies such as toothbrushes, toothpaste, dental floss, mouthwash, razors, etc) to be sent up to our room. This was an absolute lifesaver.

Our room was situated on a high floor with a beautiful view over Union Square. I must admit the room was a little dated, but it was attractive, spotlessly clean and very spacious. My only complaint would have to be the desk, which was more of a small table than a working desk. The bed was extremely comfortable and was just the thing I needed after spending most of the day in the air. The bathroom was a good size and clad with marble tiles however it would benefit from some modernisation as it seemed a little tired. The hotel gave us a good range of amenities in the bathroom as well as coffee and tea making facilities in the room.

The following day after telling the concierge about the situation with our luggage, she took it upon herself to ring the airline and chase them up. She wasn’t able to get through to the baggage department right away, but she reassured us she would keep trying and do the best she could. We were impressed with her courtesy and professionalism. In the meantime, she organised a city tour for us which was fantastic as were only in San Francisco for the day and were able to see most of the city.

When we returned to the hotel the concierge informed us that our bags were on their way. They arrived about an hour later which was a huge relief! If it hadn’t been for her we probably wouldn’t have gotten them back so quickly and as we were pressed for time, would have had to leave San Francisco without them! We were very grateful for her service.

Overall our experience at the Grand Hyatt was great. The service was great, the room was comfortable and the location was perfect. My only one real complaint with this property would be that room service finishes at midnight (strange for a Grand Hyatt) and this was annoying as we would have loved to order some on our first night as we were starving. Besides that, I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone planning a visit to San Francisco.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank vissi87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2009

The dawn of the 21st century seems to have escaped this Hyatt. Beyond a very comfy bed, nice linens, and an iPod dock, the rooms are still living in the 70s and 80s. The lighting, vanity, and peach-colored tile in the bathroom scream 70s, and the traditional wood furniture is hopelessly outdated. As for technology, there is no real desk (just a table in the corner), no desk chair, only a couple of outlets near the "desk," wifi costs $10/day, and when I'm staying at the "Grand" Hyatt I really don't want to be watching the same 18-year-old tv I have at home. (In fact, it was the same TV that was in a friend's room in one of the cheap old hotels on Post St.) The carpet was very unattractive and there seemed to be no consistent theme to the artwork. The room was not that much cheaper than some others I considered that I know are more up to date, and for the location and clientele, this hotel really needs to step it up.

It was immaculately clean and the staff was friendly and the service good, the lobby is pretty and the 36th floor lounge was nice enough. But overall, I was extremely disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank redheada1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2009

The hotel has a great location just north of Union Square, with easy access to shops, a nearby Walgreens pharmacy, cable cars, Muni and BART. My 8th floor room was clean but smaller than expected and faced east at another building. Rooms facing south have a nice view of the square (with lots of sun). The lobby is not a conducive space for meeting people.

Without a doubt, the highlight of this hotel is the stunning view from the rooftop lounge and restaurant. It's well worth a stop for a drink or breakfast - service was excellent. You don't have to eat there to enjoy the east-facing view.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gilber20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2009

It's a Hyatt, so you know what to expect. The service is going to be good, etc. The room was a little less than what I expected. There was no desk to work at, though I made do with a table that was there. The concierge floors give you access to a lounge for breakfast and appetizers, etc. throughout the day. The gym is pretty good. Most Hyatts have huge lobbies that make for nice meeting spots. That's not the case here. The only place like that is the bar/restaurant on the top floor. It's a nice restaurant with a real nice view.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rater1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed here Thanksgiving night. We had dinner at Michael Mina, an overpriced restaurant at Westin St. Francis. Our 15th floor room at the Grand Hyatt had a view of Union Square. We could see the holiday lights and decorations, as well as the ice skaters in the Square.

The room was a little crowded because of the two double beds (error I made while booking). There was no nightstand on the outer edges of the two beds. The bathroom was fine, though I was surprised there was no shower gel provided. Instead they had toothpaste, shampoo, conditioner, bar soaps, and lotion. The fluorescent bathroom light hummed annoyingly.

Another bad thing--coffeemaker in the bathroom does not come with coffee. You have to PURCHASE the coffee from the in-room Refreshment Center. Lame. There is a Starbucks across from the hotel, though.

We skipped valet parking and instead left the car in the Sutter-Stockton garage, which is diagonally across from the hotel at the corner of Sutter and Stockton. Much cheaper.

In the morning I appreciated the free SF Chronicle outside our door. I like it better than USA Today.

We live locally, so when we can get away from work, we sometimes come to SF because it's only about 45 minutes away. If you stay in Union Square, there's always something to do. It's less arduous than going all the way to wine country or the Monterey area when you have just one day off.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cades2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2008

Every time i went out and back to the hotel, or when popping up to the gym, i had to endure long waiting times for the elevators. There are so many elevators but they always seem to be elsewhere.

I stayed there for business and when i returned in the evenings after meetings, that seemed to be peak hours and there's a constant sizeable crowd waiting in the foyer.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mrsDIY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 231 in San Francisco
3,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#50 of 231 in San Francisco
4,747 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#36 of 231 in San Francisco
3,074 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#23 of 231 in San Francisco
6,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-4694
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $227 - $687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Union Square, Grand Hyatt San Francisco offers magnificent city skyline and stunning bay views, modern accommodations with residential style amenities and state-of-the-art technology. Enjoy easy access to premier shopping, museums, theaters and iconic landmarks including Fisherman’s Wharf and Chinatown. Indulge some of the best San Francisco specialties and wines from Napa and Sonoma Regions at OneUp Restaurant & Lounge. Experience the ultimate in style and hospitality at this luxurious hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing