We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Hyatt Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Ranked #38 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 22, 2009

It's a Hyatt, so you know what to expect. The service is going to be good, etc. The room was a little less than what I expected. There was no desk to work at, though I made do with a table that was there. The concierge floors give you access to a lounge for breakfast and appetizers, etc. throughout the day. The gym is pretty good. Most Hyatts have huge lobbies that make for nice meeting spots. That's not the case here. The only place like that is the bar/restaurant on the top floor. It's a nice restaurant with a real nice view.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rater1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,051 - 4,057 of 5,032 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed here Thanksgiving night. We had dinner at Michael Mina, an overpriced restaurant at Westin St. Francis. Our 15th floor room at the Grand Hyatt had a view of Union Square. We could see the holiday lights and decorations, as well as the ice skaters in the Square.

The room was a little crowded because of the two double beds (error I made while booking). There was no nightstand on the outer edges of the two beds. The bathroom was fine, though I was surprised there was no shower gel provided. Instead they had toothpaste, shampoo, conditioner, bar soaps, and lotion. The fluorescent bathroom light hummed annoyingly.

Another bad thing--coffeemaker in the bathroom does not come with coffee. You have to PURCHASE the coffee from the in-room Refreshment Center. Lame. There is a Starbucks across from the hotel, though.

We skipped valet parking and instead left the car in the Sutter-Stockton garage, which is diagonally across from the hotel at the corner of Sutter and Stockton. Much cheaper.

In the morning I appreciated the free SF Chronicle outside our door. I like it better than USA Today.

We live locally, so when we can get away from work, we sometimes come to SF because it's only about 45 minutes away. If you stay in Union Square, there's always something to do. It's less arduous than going all the way to wine country or the Monterey area when you have just one day off.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cades2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2008

Every time i went out and back to the hotel, or when popping up to the gym, i had to endure long waiting times for the elevators. There are so many elevators but they always seem to be elsewhere.

I stayed there for business and when i returned in the evenings after meetings, that seemed to be peak hours and there's a constant sizeable crowd waiting in the foyer.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mrsDIY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2008

This hotel is in a great location and the staff was extremely friendly. My wife, daughter and I spent two wonderfuul nights over Thanksgiving. The Thanksgiving buffet was great and the view from our table was spectacular. I do hope the hotel gets a much needed renovation soon but I fear that in this economy, it will not.
The CONDITION,not cleanliness, but CONDITION of the hotel kept me from giving 5 Dots. It is definitely clean but needs to be refurbished.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2008

This htel was impressive from the outset. We arrived in our Town Car and greeted by the doorman who took our cases, and we quickly wandered to the reception desk to check in. This was a bit of a pain, as we booked a twin room and were told by the receptionist thatdespite us booking the hotel 12 months ago, they didn't have our room available, but they did have a double for the first night, and then we could move the next day. We agreed to take the double on the basis we could keep it for the duration of our stay as I really didn't travel 11hrs across the atlantic to swap rooms after one night!!

Our room overlooked nothing impressive, which was a shame, but we got all the views that we needed from the restaraunt on the top floor, the food was expensive, but not brilliant, but the views were to die for, especially as we got there in time to catch sunset!!

You can't fault the location of the hotel. Smack in the heart of Union Square, all the shops and convenience stores are right on your doorstep, out throught the foyer to the end of the block, take a left and forward two blocks and there's Walmart, out of the foyer and to the right and you have Macy's, Virgin Megstore, Louis Vitton ... the list goes on. It's between $7 and $15 to Fisherman's Wharf (depending on the time of day) for Pier 39 and Alcatraz cruise boarding, and I would recommend that if you're in a rush to get somewhere in the evening you try to get a taxi a good half hour before you need to be there as they become hard to come by the later the night gets.

I would recommend that you research your stay, we sayed the same time as 'Team in Training', and to say that they took over the hotel is an understatement. And they impacted on everything, including creating a 30 min wait forthe lift (even though there was 5 of them!!). That said, the room was really cozy, bed comfortable, staff were amazingly friendly and it really was everything you could ask for in a hotel. By the time our 5 days were up and it was time to get our connection to LA, I was genuinely gutted to be leaving here, it felt like a home from home.

If I were to go back to San Francisco, I would 100% stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2008

Having read mixed reviews on Trip Advisor we were a bit unsure about staying at the Grand Hyatt for 5 nights in September but from the moment we arrived our worries disappeared.
The hotel is in a great location just off Union Square, and stops for trams and streetcars are just a few minutes walk away.
We booked a Regency Club King which was on a high floor and had excellent views of the financial district. The room was a bit smaller than expected, but the bed was extremely comfortable and the facilites were fine.
Having access to the Regency Club Lounge was great. The views from there were even better than from our room - you could see the Financial District, Union Square, Coit Tower and the Bay. We enjoyed the complementary continental breakfast each morning and appetisers each evening. All soft drinks, tea and coffee were also free, only alcoholic drinks had to be paid for and given that it was a hotel, prices were reasonable. The staff in the lounge were welcoming and friendly.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in San Francisco and did all the usual touristy things, our particular favourites were biking the bridge with Blazing Saddles (we went as far as Sausalito), visiting Alcatraz and drinking lots of excellent champagne at Domaine Chandon during our day trip to Sonoma and Napa. We also enjoyed a delicous steak dinner in classy surroundings at Alfred's Steakhouse.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WelshFee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2008

I stayed here for 3 nights in November, it was an OK hotel at best.

The rooms were very small, mine didn't have a desk. There was no sundries store (you had to walk to a nearby Walgreens), the mini-bar was one of those that charges you instantly if you remove something, so if you want to read a bottle of vitamin water, you get charged, the TV was mediocre, the phone didn't work, and there was no wired Internet connection. Internet services is $9.95 a night (via tMobile). Room service menu is very very limited.

The best thing about the hotel is the location in the heart of union square, about 5 blocks from Moscone. The sky bar is pretty nice as well, but next time I'll stay at the Hilton.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ibeplato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 231 in San Francisco
3,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#50 of 231 in San Francisco
4,747 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#36 of 231 in San Francisco
3,074 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#23 of 231 in San Francisco
6,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-4694
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $227 - $687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Union Square, Grand Hyatt San Francisco offers magnificent city skyline and stunning bay views, modern accommodations with residential style amenities and state-of-the-art technology. Enjoy easy access to premier shopping, museums, theaters and iconic landmarks including Fisherman’s Wharf and Chinatown. Indulge some of the best San Francisco specialties and wines from Napa and Sonoma Regions at OneUp Restaurant & Lounge. Experience the ultimate in style and hospitality at this luxurious hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing