We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location, views and most importantly, impeccable service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Ranked #38 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The Grand Hyatt has been my "go to" hotel for years in San Francisco. Recently updated, each of the rooms are modern and the beds are super comfy. Most importantly, the service is top notch! I highly recommend this hotel. If you are a regular, they never fail to remember your name. The staff at this hotel takes pride in their work and they actually care. Simply amazing. PS - Sneak to the 36th floor for the views, incredible!

Room Tip: Ask for the corner rooms, they are a bit larger and have better views. Anything from floor 20 and u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sffoodie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted you had such a great experience with us and enjoyed our stylish guestroom! I'm particular happy to read your comment about the service we provided and it is always great to hear we met your expectations. Please come back and see us again soon!

Warm regards,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,595 - 2,601 of 5,032 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2014

I think that this hotel is a no mistake choice due to location (which is perfect near Square Union); if you choose it, one will understand why (hop on hop off busses the perfect way to get initially oriented, renowned cable car next corner, big shopping area etc etc). Overall good hotel, rooms and service. It is advisable to take from the hotel some day trips like Yosemite, Napa Valley etc. I did not regret one minute...

Room Tip: room north side1607
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dragos43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! Sounds like you had a great time exploring San Francisco! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the ideal location of our hotel and had a memorable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

From the moment we stepped through the door the Grand Hyatt offered us a great experience. We utilized the web check-in option and when we noted our arrival time of 12 noon didn't expect to receive an email advising us our room was ready 2 hours before check in, tick number one. Tick number two came when I inquired regarding a late checkout and reception staff were more than accommodating.
Location is top notch, for me Union Square is the epicentre of San Fran and it was so easy to branch out in all directions either on foot, bus or trolley car. I must admit though USD6 for the trolley ride can be a little steep if you are only going one or 2 stops.
Rooms are decorated with an earthy modern design and offered more than enough room for us. I'm not a fan of showers over baths but at least this one wasn't too difficult to get in an out of. I am a fan of tea and coffee making facilities in room and unfortunately the only thing on offer was a drip filter in the room, a quirky idea but it was missing a part and there wasn't any milk in the fridge to have with it only that revolting powdered chemical "creamer" mix. Another great option on offer is a morning breakfast bar in the foyer offering Starbucks coffee, fruit, cereals and pastries etc. A great option to grab something light and take back to your room rather than a full breakfast in the restaurant.
We visited the bar on a couple of occasions and the staff were very engaging and helpful. As we weren't overly hungry one night we ordered a snack off the bar menu and it was lovely. A few tips for San Fran... don't bother with shuttles from the airport, at approx. $50 the taxi and speedy trip was worth the $20 extra. Carry USD1 notes at all times for public transport as they don't give change. Don't bother with duty free alcohol, it is so much cheaper at Walgreens or any grocery store.
And lastly for a hotel in such a busy location we had absolutely no traffic noise on the 20th floor.

Room Tip: If you are happy to pay the extra then the bay view room is worth it as they are also on the higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for x5 nights on my honeymoon and we were very happy with the level of service and room size. Excellent location too.
Our only criticism was the pillows...way too soft we stayed on level 3 and asked twice to be placed on a higher floor. The cleaners started vacuuming outside our door and asking for cleaning at 8.30am!!! Way too early.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melbs06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We were very happy with our recent stay at the Grand Hyatt. We spent the extra money to get the "city view on a higher floor" and were happy with Room 2803 - very neat city view. The hotel lobby was ALWAYS very busy, no matter what time of day. I would highly recommend doing the web check-in and web check-out (which we did, and it was very easy and efficient).

The bed was relatively soft, so it wasn't the best night of sleep, but the pillows were amazing, and the overall level of the room was great...very modern and updated. Extremely clean.

Transportation in the area was pretty easy...we took a bus a few blocks from the hotel to get down to the Alcatraz tour pier, took a trolley car on our way back, and were close to the BART to go to/from the airport. We even took a Metro to AT&T Park for a Giants game, and then just walked back, which wasn't bad.

Although we didn't use it, we checked out the hotel's gym, which was GREAT!!! We wish we had a gym like this to use...amazing view from the gym too, as it was on the 2nd floor from the top. You can also go up to the top floor for a wonderful view of the city.

Great stay, and we felt it was a good value for the level of hotel, especially as compared to other area hotels.

Room Tip: Higher floors are worth the added expense...great views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jayme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

When looking for a place to stay there are usually a few brands that you can count on to provide a nice upscale room in a great location. Hyatt is one of those brands. We booked a king room with a city and bay view. The room was very clean and was furnished in a modern tone. The rooms are not large but they are adequately sized. We had some amazing evening views of the city and the bay.The hotel also has a nice bar area that is very relaxing. We did not dine at the hotel because we met some friends for dinner near the wharf. We also left the next day very early to make a drive to Lake Tahoe so we did not have breakfast at the hotel. I felt this hotel is in a great location no matter what you want to do in SF. The only complaint I have is one regarding a hotel staff member. My wife left her cell phone in our room and we realized this about 50 feet from our room when we were leaving. One of the cleaning staff saw us leave the room and then when we asked to be let into the room to get her phone, the staff person refused and told us we needed to go to the front desk. I was kind of irritated because she saw us leave the room with our luggage. If we were not the room tenants, what were we doing in that room? She could have called the front desk to verify that we were the guests in that room and that would have saved me the trip down many floors and then back up again. But by midday I changed my mind and realized she was just doing her job. It was clearly our fault for not making sure we had everything with us when we left the room. I will definitely stay here again when in SF.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gene2459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

This. Hyatt is direct on Union Sq and has a good overall quality. The standard rooms are small but clean and kind of modern. The side with the bay view is great, wake up in the morning with sunshine, the bed quality is excellent . The lobby is a negative point, very small and not that many seats too. Not convenient for some talk meetings. The service is good but not over friendly. Overall a good business and (premium) tourist hotel. It can be pricy in the hot season and when the city is booked well. The gym is good and has a great view of the bay.

Room Tip: Higher floors with bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hahee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 231 in San Francisco
3,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#50 of 231 in San Francisco
4,748 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#36 of 231 in San Francisco
3,074 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#23 of 231 in San Francisco
6,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-4694
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $228 - $688 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Union Square, Grand Hyatt San Francisco offers magnificent city skyline and stunning bay views, modern accommodations with residential style amenities and state-of-the-art technology. Enjoy easy access to premier shopping, museums, theaters and iconic landmarks including Fisherman’s Wharf and Chinatown. Indulge some of the best San Francisco specialties and wines from Napa and Sonoma Regions at OneUp Restaurant & Lounge. Experience the ultimate in style and hospitality at this luxurious hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing