We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Ranked #39 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay at the Hyatt in SF. Excellent location, very close to Union Square and plenty of shopping choices. Speedy check in and check out and housekeeping responded quickly to a couple of requests. Rooms were spacious and very modern and well appointed. We had a room on 5th floor and had a bit of street noise occasionally but not a major issue for us. I would stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,013
    1,636
    513
    159
    98
See reviews for
1,005
1,308
227
1,260
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (864)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

I recently stayed at the Grand Hyatt on Stockton and was very pleased with the new renovation and upgrade in general. I particularly like this location because I an find everything I need and walk everywhere. But I am most impressed with the concierge desk. Elaine is my favorite go to person whenever I am in town but John, Annie or Lisa all provide wonderful services. Elaine recommended a top notch massage place: Pure Organic. I promise you will not be sorry!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grawu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thanks so much for your awesome review and glad you like our new look! I must agree with you our concierge team is definitely one of the best in the city! thank you for staying with us again and hope to see you soon in the near future!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

I stayed in this Hotel with my Family and thoroughly enjoyed the Stay. The staff are nice and the Best part about the Hotel is its proximity to Union Square. Its just Beside the Hotel. There is enough transportation nearby and Also lots of Shopping Option. Overall the Hotel experience was pretty good.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher room for a good view of the City
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ntpasari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

We had a quick 2 night stay at the Grand Hyatt for a conference and it was in a wonderful location. The hotel is centrally located in Union Square and within walking distance to everything from shopping, dining, entertainment to Chinatown and the BART. We actually took the BART to the hotel and it was quite convenient.

The only negative thing I would comment is that the air was a little stuffy and stale when we entered the room. Of course you don't feel it as much after you get adjusted. The size of the room was decent with all the standard amenities expected at a Hyatt. They have additional items you can request for which is always nice. I've attached a picture of the list for anyone who wants to see.

During our down time, we also explored the area a bit. If you contract concierge, they have a full map of the SF area from SoMa (South Market) to Fisherman's Wharf. For those who don't mind walking, we actually walked to Fisherman's Wharf from the hotel. Took us about 25-30 minutes, but it beat having to wait in line for the same amount of time for the trolley.

Room Tip: Higher floor so you don't hear the noise from the street as much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atlas1059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed that the Grand Hyatt San Francisco in April 2014. Modern Hotel, lots of electronic amenities including automatic window shades controlled from your bedside, and a Smart TV that allows you to surf the web, watch movies and order room service among other things.

Very comfortable room, of a decent size.

Staff were very friendly and accommodating.

At one mean at the hotel restaurant called One-Up, well actually the lounge / bar attached to the restaurant, had the One-Up burger it was extremely good.

Location is steps from the heart of Union Square - for shopping junkies this is the place to be. Also just a couple of the blocks in the other direction is Chinatown.

The only complaint, is that as a Gold Passport - Platinum member, I was not offered a complimentary room upgrade, which was surprising as I understand it the hotel wasn't close to sold out.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2theTop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

The prices were steep like every other place in downtown SF. Location is fantastic. Can walk to most places not involving the harbors/piers in the downtown area.

The rooms are clean, apparently updated. No hot tub, but very nice work - out area.

Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank xamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

At modern Grand Hyatt; ease of checkin/out very much appreciated....comfortable bed...quiet corner room- my new choice for San Francisco stays--great breakfast with excellent service/cozy bar to end the evening

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank onygo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,914 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#56 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Property: Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-4694
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the newly renovated Grand Hyatt is steps away form World Premier Shopping, cable cars, Chinatown, the Convention Center. Guests at Grand Hyatt enjoy exquisite comfort & amenities including a complimentary Fitness Center, daily newspapers, free internet access at OneUP restaurant and lobby area and the ultimate sleep experience in a "Grand Bed". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing