We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Great Value in Union Square”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Ranked #37 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I'm not suggestion that this is a 5 star hotel in terms of hotel ratings, but everything about this place was excellent and deserves an excellent Trip Advisor rating. It is an excellent value! The design is very modern decor, very non-traditional. Service was excellent, rooms very nice with most offering great views. It is an excellent hotel, great value, in a great part of the city.

Room Tip: No parking garage for the hotel. Public garage under union squar and one kitty corner from the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review! We are thrilled you had a wonderful time with us. It is great to hear you enjoyed our modern guestroom and the services provided. Your compliments is much appreciated and I'll be sure to share your comment with the team! Please come back and see us again.

Warm regards,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,883)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,530 - 2,536 of 4,883 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

I stayed here as a single traveller last week. It is a great hotel in a superb location. Union Square in a good central place to stay and is close to the shops, bus tours etc. The hotel had great decor and the rooms are spacious and modern. The reception and concierge staff were all really helpful and the customer service was great. It was a bonus having a Starbucks in the lobby!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank lottiib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We are delighted you enjoyed the ideal location and our modern guestroom. It is always great to hear nice compliment on our staffs and I'll be sure to share your comment with the team! We hope to see you come back soon.

Warm regards,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We travelled with three teen girls and knew I would have trouble finding accommodation in SF. I am so glad we booked at the Grand Hyatt! With 5 people, we needed to book 2 adjoining rooms and they were able to offer a great family rate when I called reservations directly. The hotel is cool, modern, urban and easy to navigate. We added a breakfast package and enjoyed the buffet before a long day of sightseeing. All of the staff was very friendly and unpretentious which I appreciated. Definitely visit the top floor of the hotel for an amazing view. My only complaint is that the beds are too soft.

Room Tip: Call reservations directly if you are travelling with a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marlene915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The hotel's renovation really changed its character into a high energy urban hotel, if that's what they were seeking. The decor was nice, the service prompt but not overly fussy and the location is simply unbeatable.

The hotel was very open about Stockton Street being closed at Geary and gave alternate directions which where easier than trying to mess with a GPS unit.

Overall, a great stay.

Room Tip: The "odd" side rooms have a bay view, the even side rooms have a city view. Either are sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGfromDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Myself and a buddy stayed in San Francisco for 4 days as part of a California/Nevada roadtrip and booked this hotel for our stay. We had cut costs throughout the holiday so this was a bit of a treat to kick start the holiday being a fair bit more expensive than our other hotels. It was well worth the cost.

The hotel is a relatively easy 30 minute drive from the main international airport and has parking right next door (this is however pretty pricey, though this is to be expected in Downtown San Fran).

The hotel itself is smart, modern and very clean and this trend continues in the rooms. Our room came with a fantastic view over Union Square and the city's skyline. The room was beautifully furnished - everything looked brand new and the beds were among the comfiest I have slept in. I know that sounds exaggerated but they genuinely were awesome beds!

The hotel is located literally ON Union Square so right by the streetcar (a must do!) and right by a load of high end shops (Tiffany's etc) and a fantastic Cheescake Factory with a roof top seating area. It is a 5 minute walk from the main mall and is in great proximity to AT+T Park (well worth going to a Giants game!) and Fisherman's Wharf etc.

I couldn't write this review without giving a mention to the fantastic concierge. The whole team were incredibly helpful and were brilliantly knowledgeable. We were visiting during the Stanislaus Forest fires and thought it would scupper our trip to do some hiking in Yosemite but the concierge advised us on alternative routes to the park and other general tips.

Also before heading to the states I looked to buy tickets for Alcatraz (about 2 weeks before our arrival). I had no idea it sold out so quickly so when I went to purchase the tour tickets it emerged that they were gone weeks in advance and that we couldn't go. In a 'Hail Mary' attempt I emailed the hotel to see if they could help. To my (pleasant) shock they managed to arrange tickets to the prison and a city sightseeing bus tour for a great price and even phoned me in England to confirm it all. FANTASTIC service.

If you are looking for a great, clean, safe, helpful hotel in the centre of town then look no further!

Room Tip: Anything overlooking Union Square is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jstride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Wow! We can not stop smiling reading your review. Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We are thrilled you had such an amazing time in San Francisco and glad we made a long lasting impression. Our hotel was completely renovated recently and we are very proud of the finished product. More importantly, our guests really enjoy their stay with us!

Sounds like you had a fantastic time exploring all that San Francisco offers and glad our staffs were able to find you tickets to the most popular attraction - Alcatraz. Your compliment is truly appreciated and I'll be sure to share it with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The front desk agent, Paul, was phenomenal! He was very informative and answered all my questions and concerns. I really enjoyed their gym as well. It has an amazing view. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Great to hear you had a lovely stay with us! We appreciate your kind words for Paul and glad you enjoyed the beautiful view. Your recommendation is our biggest compliment! Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I enjoy staying at the Grand Hyatt, we have been there many times. It's close to Union Square and a lot of shopping. This morning I called the valet to get my car and I was looking at the claim card and it showed three little scratches in the back which I knew about. Nothing else. Car comes give card to valet and my wife says there is a scrape and a little scratch on right side front. Valet with pen in hand says oh it's on the card. How could my wife and I both miss that? He said he was going to check the other card at valet station and comes back showing mark on card. What can you do? I wish I has taken a pic of the ticket with my phone before I handed it to the valet. I told him I don't believe him and left. I should have gone him with to valet station. So if you use valet parking be sure to check your car and go to valet station with him. I like the place and will go back but we learned a lesson this time.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#33 of 230 in San Francisco
3,747 reviews
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#48 of 230 in San Francisco
4,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
3,021 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-4694
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $166 - $633 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the newly renovated Grand Hyatt is steps away form World Premier Shopping, cable cars, Chinatown, the Convention Center. Guests at Grand Hyatt enjoy exquisite comfort & amenities including a complimentary Fitness Center, daily newspapers, free internet access at OneUP restaurant and lobby area and the ultimate sleep experience in a "Grand Bed". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing