We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After renovation absolutely to recommand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Ranked #38 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Location I think is the best in San Francisco, directly at Union Square. After the recommandation the rooms are very modern and clean. Negative: small restaurant for the breakfast and in peak hours you have to wait

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naitsabenomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,987)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,678 - 2,684 of 4,988 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

Wanted a nice place for a quick get out of town stay. Spent lots of time on Yelp looking and finally decided on the Grand Hyatt. Check in was smooth and easy. We asked for a room with a water view higher up and got a great one on the 25th floor with floor to ceiling windows and a partial view of Alcatraz!

The bed, pillows, décor, tv, and most everything in the room was 5 star.

What makes my review only a 4 star is only for the fact that you can hear your neighbors if there wasn't any source of noise in our room. But luckly they checked out after the first morning.

But the concierge desk made the getaway really amazing! Everyone one of the staff was very professional and eager to help. They gave maps with detailed instructions/directions and recommendations to whatever we asked for.

So a big 5 star for the Concierge Desk! They made things easy for a slightly OCD person like me ;-)

Location was really great, couldn't get much closer to Union Square and there was a starbucks across the street.

All in all a great value for the what you get. I'd be very happy to come back again.

Sincerely, David D.

Room Tip: Get one with a water view, floor to ceiling windows, and higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SocalDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed here for two nights when travelling to Honolulu. This hotel is great cause of its location and service. I recieved top service. Everyone at the checkin was friendly and 100% there to make my stay great. I had the suite at the 29th floor wich had spectacular view over the city of SF. The Grand Club was also top notch with food and beverage. I sat there alot cause of the nice view of the city. I have no complaints about this hotel at all! I think they treat their platinum/diamond members very good here and therefor i will stay here next time again. I really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Grand Hyatt is located in Union Square. There are plenty of shopping nearby. Chinatown is a few blocks away.

Friendly and smooth check-in. Modern type reception, which was very welcoming. The lobby is on the smaller side but I liked the design. The rooms are nice. The color scheme are very earthy and furniture is Jetson like. Comfortable bed with plenty of pillows. The bathroom is adequate, however the pressure in the shower was poor.

Breakfast was great and service during breakfast was stellar.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Reslimpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

I'm a frequent traveler in luxury hotels. Hotel get 4 stars, restaurant 2 stars - hence 3 stars in total. Stayed here over the weekend. Location is absolutely great - walking distance to everything. Friendly staff and good clean room with a very comfortable bed. Lived in 1001 - some noise from the elevator and ice machine. Water in the shower running slow - annoying. Only one small restaurant at the hotel. Ordered room service twice - very boring food with no taste. Breakfast the same. But again: Staff is very friendly. OK bar if you want to get a beer, but rather small for a hotel this size.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Morten Juel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at this hotel by Union Square for eight nights over Christmas. The hotel is located perfectly in the midst of all the shops, so the location is perfect for shoppers who need to drop off their shopping bags several times during the day.

The hotel itself is very clean, the bed is quite comfortable, love the numerous pillows, airconditioning is great. We also had an air purifier in the room. Wifi was not bad and it was free. I especially liked the anti-slip mat in the bathtub. This mat, plus the soap dish by the sink, were much appreciated. I don't see these often in hotels, but they are so useful and makes a big difference for safety (the anti-slip mat) and neatness (the soap dish).
Service staff were also very polite and helpful, from the front desk, the concierge, valets, cleaners... no complaints!

The lobby is a bit small, however, and there are not many seats for sitting/waiting. It can be a long wait at the elevators. It was a very busy hotel when we were there but once you are in the privacy of your room, it is very relaxing.

Overall, an excellent pick. I would recommend the hotel and I would stay there again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Marie B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Marie B S,

Wow! Thank you so much for your review and for a long-stay with us over the holiday. Sounds like our location was ideal for your holiday shopping needs! I'm glad you enjoyed the nice touches in the guestroom and found those amenities useful. Your compliment on our staffs is much appreciated and I'll be sure to share it with the team.

Thank you again for staying with us and for your recommendation! We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future!

Best regards,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed overnight, had first-rate the following morning, quiet rooms, good sleep.
First night picked up relative coming in from over-seas, so 2 rooms worked
best for us. Breakfast in a.m. first-rate in beautiful setting on Mezzanine floor.
All service was tops, the location? The absolute BEST.

Room Tip: Our rooms faced away from a busy street so especially quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nelsonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you and your relatives enjoyed the guest rooms and had a good sleep. I must agree with you the convenient location can't be beat. Look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#31 of 230 in San Francisco
3,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#49 of 230 in San Francisco
4,717 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
3,059 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#23 of 230 in San Francisco
6,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-4694
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $247 - $735 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Union Square, Grand Hyatt San Francisco offers magnificent city skyline and stunning bay views, modern accommodations with residential style amenities and state-of-the-art technology. Enjoy easy access to premier shopping, museums, theaters and iconic landmarks including Fisherman’s Wharf and Chinatown. Indulge some of the best San Francisco specialties and wines from Napa and Sonoma Regions at OneUp Restaurant & Lounge. Experience the ultimate in style and hospitality at this luxurious hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing