We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Nearby Hotels
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$223
$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$279
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$336
$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kimpton Buchanan(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$197
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$223
$198
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$274
$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$299
$254
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
$416
$254
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
$205
$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (5,148)
Filter reviews
5,148 results
Traveler rating
2,381
1,842
605
194
126
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,381
1,842
605
194
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunion squaregreat locationapple storetop floorclub roomfloor to ceiling windowsbay viewconcierge deskcoit towergreat shoppingfitness centercentral locationthe heart of the citycable carvalet parkingfisherman's wharffew blocks
Filter
Updating list...
2,937 - 2,942 of 5,148 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The title says it all, from check in to check out, we had a fantastic time. When we pulled up in the car Peter was very helpful, took our luggage and gave us directions to the car rental return. On returning to the hotel we were met by Erica and the check in was smooth and efficient and we were shown straight to our room. The bell hop that showed us to our room was very efficient showing us fire escapes how everything worked in the room and offered to get ice for us. The staff in the club room were very friendly and welcoming, in particular Jimmy and Dave who likes to wave. The views from the club room are amazing. When I return to San Francisco I will certainly stay here again

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Alan T,

Fantastic! Wow, thank you so much for your 5-star review! We are thrilled you had such a great experience with us. Sounds like check in was a breeze and you enjoyed the beautiful view from your room! We really appreciate your kind words on our staffs and I'll be sure to share your review with them and the entire team! Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed here 1 night (Sept 30) for work. The hotel was in a great location - walking distance to all of the high end shopping. There is a Starbucks right across the street. The rooms are all newly upgraded with an Asian simplistic feel to them. Loved the Grohe shower fixture. The room was super clean and the beds and pillows were very comfortable. The room was also very quiet. My only issue is that my TV would not turn on, and I could not connect to the WiFi in the room - but I checked in so late and checked out so early I didn't have time to raise the issue with the front desk.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Season S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Season S,

Thank you for your compliments on our convenient location and enjoyed the redesigned guestroom. Sounds like you had a good night rest in our Grand bed! However, we do apologize for the inconvenience caused from the TV and WiFi connectivity. We would love to find out more about your recent experience. Please reply to the private message with your information, so that we can make things right and prevent the same issues from happening again.

Look forward to hearing from you.
Warm regards,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel is situated in Union Square so a great location if you like to shop and it is within easy access of the cable cars. The staff were friendly and helpful and our room was clean. There was free Wi-Fi which is always a plus so overall we had a fairly good stay.

Our stay was marred slightly by the fact that the room was a little noisy as there was a gap between our windows/doors so we heard the external traffic (though to be fair we didn't bother trying to address this). Also we were located fairly close to the ice machine so heard that on a fairly regular basis which can be a little annoying. I personally don't like a bath/shower set up so didn't particularly like that and the water pressure definitely could be better.

If location is important then this is a good option and worth consideration.

Room Tip: If you want a view then ask for a higher room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in September and really liked it. The hotel has a great location. It is right in the middle of Union Square, which is a main shopping area. Macys is one block down and the Westfield shopping centre (Old Navy, Levis, Abercrombie and Fitch etc) is only two blocks down, so really quick to walk to.

The hotel reception is nice – it has got a large lounge area with fireplaces and comfy chairs. When you walk in, there are quite a few staff members around with laptops that can check you in, rather than the usual check in desk. We arrived at about 4pm and were checked in straight away with no queue. We asked if we could have a room with a city view which they gave us. The room was on the 31st floor, and the views over the city were great! We were also high enough up that we couldn’t hear too much street noise. There is some construction work going on down the street near Macys, but we couldn’t hear this from the room.

The room was quite large, with twin beds which were both really comfy with nice squashy pillows. We also had a flat screen HD tv with lots of channels. There is a safe in the room and tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom is quite big, but as other reviewers have said, the bathroom door is just a sliding door with no lock. The shower was over the bath, but the water was hot and the pressure was good for every shower, so no complaints there! The sink is a quite long and shallow, so the water from the tap does tend to splash back if you turn the tap on too hard, but we soon got the hang of it!

The best bit about the room is the floor to ceiling windows that look out over the city. The view is amazing, and the windows had curtains and automatic black out window blinds, that could be closed and opened at the touch of a button. The blinds were great at keeping out light so both me and my husband slept well.

There is a little coffee bar downstairs in the lobby that sells tea, coffee, bagels and other breakfast things. We had two bagels with cream cheese and two teas and it came to just over $10 so it wasn’t expensive by hotel standards. It opens at 5.30am so handy if you wake up with jet lag!

The only thing we didn’t like about the hotel were the lifts. They were a bit clanky, and one day it sounded like something broke off and smashed into the top of the lift! We jumped out on the 23rd floor and walked up the stairs for the rest of that journey! Another guest reported it to reception, and the lift was closed off for the rest of our trip so we didn’t have to risk it again! The views from the 36th floor are amazing – you can see over the bay so it is definitely worth a trip up there if you get time.

We didn’t walk up to Fishermans Wharf, but we did take the cable car which you can pick up from just past Old Navy, near the Westfield shopping centre. We used the Powell – Mason line, which was $6 per person per ride. It took about half an hour to get from Union Square to Fishermans Wharf on the cable car, and the views are amazing as you come down the hill towards the bay.

We had a great omelette for breakfast at Mamas on Washington Square, but we got there at 8 when it opened, and had to queue for half an hour to get in! The best place for breakfast was a place called Sears Fine Food, which is just round the corner from the Grand Hyatt on Powell Street. We had their signature pancakes, which were delicious, but the service was just amazing! Our waitress was so friendly and professional, and they even give you a good luck token when you leave.

I would definitely stay in this hotel again. All the staff we met were really friendly and helpful, the location is great, the beds are comfy and the views are amazing. I would recommend it to anyone. Thank you Grand Hyatt for getting our honeymoon off to a great start!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor for a better nights sleep
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fryzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

This is some hotel!! It's beautiful and has amazing views from some of its rooms of San Francisco. It really is amazing!! The room was a little small but had everything. They even have a list in the rooms of toiletries that you can have if you've forgotten anything (the usual in a good hotel) and things that you can borrow! We borrowed a kettle, there's nothing nicer than a mug of tea in the morning and that's rare in the US!!? The location is fantastic, it's right in Union Square. The only down side was the parking!! Valet is $55 + tax per night and self parking is $39 + tax, a bit steep even by SF car parks!! But apart from that, this hotel is excellent, we'd stay here again!! I highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sazmcdaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Wow! Thank you so much for your 5-star review! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Great to hear you took advantage of the 'Missing Must Have' list! Now you can pack and travel light! We understand the parking is quite expensive in the San Francisco area, for your next visit, kindly consider taking the MUNI, BART or cable car as our location is close to many major public transportation!

Your recommendation is truly appreciated and we look forward to see you again!
Warm regards,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews