We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Ranked #40 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great location and comfortable stay”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed here four nights on my first trip to San Fran. The room was clean and comfortable. I paid extra for the City View room so I was higher up and the street noise was less. Loved the floor to ceiling windows. Location was perfect. I took one of the tours offered through the concierge. For a first time visitor, it was a great tour as I got a feel of the town. The hotel is next to the Muni so you can visit other parts of the city easily. Lots of great restaurants nearby. Breakfast at OneUp was a perfect start to the day and worth the extra money. Met some nice people at the happy hour there too. I would definitely stay here again on my next trip.

Room Tip: Pay extra for city view so street noise isn't as bothersome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pa2charlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. Great to hear you had a great time exploring San Francisco! We are delighted you enjoyed our redesigned guestrooms and our ideal location. OneUP offers a lively atmosphere for guests and locals, glad you had a fun time during our happy hour!

Your compliment is much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,081
    1,665
    529
    166
    106
See reviews for
1,043
1,353
232
1,290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (878)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Excellent hotel friendly and helpful staff .I was in a tenth floor room overlooking Union Sq. Beautiful room spacious clean with all facilities required . Large floor to ceiling window gave a fabulous view over this wonderful city . Not cheap but worth it every penny. One small issue is lack of a retail outlet for essentials . However staff will try there best to assist .

Room Tip: Rooms facing Union Sq are the best although some traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manwithsuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

It certainly has location going for it! Very convenient to doing the touristy things inSF. But unfortunately, many of the staff know this and believe they can throw customer service out the window into union square. Our encounters were mainly with the front desk and bell desk the two times we stayed

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swamiash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as our first stop in California. We don't travel light unfortunately and because we had no car during our stay in SF, all our luggage had to fit into this tiny room. Small issue if you are using this as mostly a city break to see the sights of SF. But with all our shopping and baggage, we could barely see the carpets on the floor by the end of our stay!

The lighting in the bathroom is super amazing for applying makeup. Big plus for me:)

Location is definitely unbeatable. You are steps away from Union Square and there is a cable car stop just round the block. There are tons of shopping nearby at Market Street and Geary and Post. Starbucks is just across the street so no problems with breakfast & coffees.

All round reliable option as a base in the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staceleong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I love the location of this Hyatt. Very nice room, quiet, clean & spacious. The lobby was being renovated, so Front Desk was in a temporary location. The Front Desk staff handled the flow of guests very well. Very courteous and accommodating.

The Stay Fit gym was bigger than most Hyatt's I visit, which was awesome. I didn't visit any of the Food & Beverage outlets, so no comment here.

Again, if you love to shop, this is the place. I will recommend to family & friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2liau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear 2liau,

Thank you for staying with us last October and took the time to write us a review. Sounds like you enjoyed the convenient location and had fun shopping in the Union Square! Your recommendation of our hotel is truly appreciated.

Our entire hotel is now completely renovated and we hope you will come back and see us again soon!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Our trip started with 3 nights in San Francisco and we choose this hotel because of the location just close to Union Square. The Grand Hyatt was renovated and the entrance was nice. The staff at the front desk (especially Olivia) was super friendly and helpfull.

We got a room on the 30th floor. Room was clean, good and the most important quiet during the night. The hotel has free wifi and it works good in the room too. We had inroom dining and the food was good including the service.

We would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martijn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Excellent experience at the Grand Hyatt! It is located in the heart of Union Square, next to multiple shops and restaurants. I was able to walk to Chinatown, North Beach, Fisherman's Wharf, Coit Tower, the Ferry building and took a taxi to Hayes Valley in the evening to watch the symphony. The hotel does have it's own coffee shop, but right outside the door is also a Starbucks. The lobby has a very modern and open feel with a friendly staff readily available to help with any questions. The food onsite is good. My conference experience was good. The room was very nice and comfortable. I stayed on a higher floor with a great view. Internet was provided and there is 24 hour fitness. When I go back, I will be staying at the Grand Hyatt!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor for a great view!
See more room tips
Green Features: There is water available on every floor so bring your water bottle!
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piphiangel80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us! Sounds like you had a great time exploring San Francisco from our ideal location! Besides Starbucks across the street from us, we do have a Coffee Bar located in the lobby across from the Concierge desk, open daily from 5:30a - 11:30a. We appreciate your kind words on our staffs and compliments on our facilities. I will be sure to share your comment with the entire team!

Look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 228 in San Francisco
2,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,075 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 228 in San Francisco
3,588 reviews
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#57 of 228 in San Francisco
4,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Property: Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-4694
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the newly renovated Grand Hyatt is steps away form World Premier Shopping, cable cars, Chinatown, the Convention Center. Guests at Grand Hyatt enjoy exquisite comfort & amenities including a complimentary Fitness Center, daily newspapers, free internet access at OneUP restaurant and lobby area and the ultimate sleep experience in a "Grand Bed". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing