We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, newly renovated hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Ranked #38 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 3, 2013

checking in to the hyatt, the front desk felt a little weird to me. maybe it was a more modern way of checking in? the lobby was nice and warm and we got in just in time for a free wine tasting at the lobby! we had a weird experience while have breakfast at the restaurant, one up. The glasses for juice they gave us were very small. it was like a 3 ounce glass (they we're using the same glasses for shots at the lounge.) and then when we asked for water, the server only filled our glasses halfway for some reason, all 4 of us. we werent upset or anything, just found it all unusual. overall though, the rooms were nice, the location was good and right in the middle of everything. the food, decent and standard for a hyatt hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadianeh28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,030)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,878 - 2,884 of 5,030 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The Grand Hyatt is truly a Grand Hotel on its own. They won't call it GRAND for nothing. From the reception area to the elevator and then to your room, you're greeted by the employees with their great smiles. The view on my room was superb. Facing the Union Square and it is really wonderful view especially at night time when you see all the lights on the buildings nearby.

Overall, I give 10 Stars to Grand Hyatt for their location, service and great customer service.
I had to mention about their valet parking... It is a compliment since one of the valet driver was so kind that he helped us to rotate the steering wheel since we couldn't get it to move. Thank you so much Mr. Valet Driver for helping us out!!! It was late at night when we checked in, but thank you for making us feel comfortable in the area and for your kindness in helping us out. You guys are the best! Also, the lady who gave the directions on where to go, local attractions, etc was also nice and very helpful. She takes time in telling you where you need to go and what street to take.

Good job everyone. Please keep up the good work!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Choosy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Choosy2011,

Wow! Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled you had such a great experience with us! I must agree with you our location is definitely ideal for exploring San Francisco especially the great shopping in Union Square! Your compliment is truly appreciated and I will ensure to share it with the entire staff! Please come back and see us again soon.

Warm regards,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I periodically have to stay in San Francisco and always choose the Grand Hyatt Union Square. The renovations turned out great, the club is well run and service is great? I would love to have windows that open as I prefer fresh air to air conditioning

Room Tip: I always opt for club floor rooms. The one thing I would love is....windows that open"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vrkaufman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind words on our redesigned guestroom and the Grand Club Lounge. I agree with you fresh air is always better, however, due to safety issue, the sliding door in our guestrooms can only be opened a few inches. We truly appreciate you took the time to write us a review. Look forward to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It is nice to see the improvements continue at that Grand Hyatt Union Square, but I really really miss the breakfast and cocktails on the top floor. It is no longer open to the public and only used for convention space.
The restaurant and bar on the mezzanine level is ok, but just not the same as it was on the top floor. Not likely I'll stay here as I just loved taking in the views from up there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunseekerChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in July of this year. This hotel is in the middle of union square near all the shops and restaurants and is near all the major transit lines. If you like a nice stroll, you can walk to the Embarcadero. The bus stop to Chinatown is right across the street. Our room was a little small but very comfortable and clean. Because our room was on the 21st floor, we had panoramic views of the city and bay. Their breakfast is a little expensive but very delicious; I recommend it for anyone staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper levels for views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed for a conference in the hotel 5 nights. Asked for a high floor room upon reservation and at check-in. Was put on 10th floor with a view of...nothing. I thought it might have been because of the conference rate, but others at the conference had great rooms. A little disappointed. Room was also next to elevator shaft.

Rooms were clean and well appointed. Small as expected in a big city.

Location was excellent, near restaurants, shopping and transportation.

Not sure what the doormen are supposed to do, because they didn't do much. They seemed more interested in chatting with eachother than opening the door for my wife.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timmsteiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

It is placed at Union Square, near lots of magazines and the Moscone Convention Center. The restaurant is undersized for the number of rooms, and frequently we had to wait to be seated for breakfast. The employees are very attentive.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catcher-in-the-rye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 231 in San Francisco
3,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#50 of 231 in San Francisco
4,747 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#36 of 231 in San Francisco
3,074 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#23 of 231 in San Francisco
6,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-4694
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $225 - $687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Union Square, Grand Hyatt San Francisco offers magnificent city skyline and stunning bay views, modern accommodations with residential style amenities and state-of-the-art technology. Enjoy easy access to premier shopping, museums, theaters and iconic landmarks including Fisherman’s Wharf and Chinatown. Indulge some of the best San Francisco specialties and wines from Napa and Sonoma Regions at OneUp Restaurant & Lounge. Experience the ultimate in style and hospitality at this luxurious hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing