We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Ranked #38 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Expensive”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Nice clean hotel and the staff were fine but we didnt have any issues. The area is great if you fancy shopping in macys or if your into your brands. The hotel currently does not have a gift shop to buy drinks etc and the meals in the hotel are very expensive. I wouldnt reccomend this area and would advise to stay in the fisherman wharf area for going out etc.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,119
    1,682
    538
    167
    110
See reviews for
1,068
1,367
235
1,308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (889)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We lucked out picking the Grand Hyatt. We'd never been to San Francisco before, but this hotel turned out to be a perfect site-seeing "base camp." We didn't rent a car and were able to easily walk the few short blocks from the BART. Then we were able to walk all over. Chinatown was right around the corner, catching a Hop On/Hop Off tour bus was only a block or two down, as was catching the buses and trolley cars. The concierge was helpful getting us last-minute tickets to Alcatraz (and advising us to book while we had a chance, as the tours sell out fast. If we'd waited until the next morning we wouldn't have gotten tickets. And we were lucky period we were at the end of busy season because Alcatraz sells out weeks in advance, which we didn't know.) It was a long walk, but doable, to Fisherman's Wharf. We had a blast walking all over in fact, and the hotel proved the perfect starting point for all of our adventures each day. Plus, the rooms were spacious and the bathrooms pristine. Oh, and our room came with the buffet upstairs every morning, which was pretty decent from a choice/selection standpoint and offered excellent views of the city.

Room Tip: Upper floors get better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HauntJauntsGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Courtney M.,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel! Alcatraz tour was always hard to get tickets and great to her you were able to enjoy the tour! We appreciate you took the time to write us a review. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We just returned from a trip to San Francisco and we could not have been happier with our stay at the Grand Hyatt. Clean, modern decor, great location, concierge was very helpful, staff was attentive all the way around. We were celebrating our anniversary and arrived to find complimentary wine in our room. Just can not say enough good things about this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPB1459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear SPB1459,

Happy anniversary and thank you so much for choosing our hotel to celebrate this special occasion! We are pleased to hear you had a wonderful time in San Francisco and we appreciate your compliments. Look forward to welcoming you back to celebrate many more special moments with us!

Cheers!
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed as a family of 5 (baby and 2 small kids) in a double queen room for a week whilst my husband was at a conference. There are a lot of challenges involved in that especially without a kitchen or laundry but the hotel staff were so helpful and accommodating and the location so good that it made the
stay enjoyable. Particular mention to the awesome girls on the breakfast coffee cart in the lobby who my girls "adopted" and who are just lovely. Great coffee and food as well. There is a laundromat just up the road as well if you find yourself in the same boat as me!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Sharyn L.,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We understand traveling with young children might be a challenge and I'm glad to hear our staffs were able to assist you with your needs. I will be sure to share your kind words with my team. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future!

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I recenly returned from a two night stay at the Grand Hyatt in San Francisco to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Having never been to the city we were looking for something centrally located. The Hyatt just off Union Square was perfect. We had a 10-15 walk to most everything we wanted to do.

The service at the hotel was excellent! From check-in to check-out the staff went over and above to meet and exceed our needs. The hotel was recently renovated and it shows. From the high tech front desk to the electronic window shades in the rooms, there were nice touches everywhere.

The rooms were very modern, clean and we had a great view of the city from the 20th floor.

I would not hesitate to recommend this property to any of my friends or colleagues.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdginz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and happy wedding anniversary! I must agree with you our central location is ideal to explore all of the attractions in San Francisco. I am particularly happy to read your comment about our service and great to hear you enjoyed the amenities offered in our renovated guestroom. Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. We hope to see you come back and celebrate many more special occasions with us!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We just returned from a 4 night stay at this wonderful hotel. The check-in and check-out process was very efficient and the staff was very professional. We loved the modern, clean room with very comfortable beds. A big plus for me was having a digital room thermostat that worked great and an electronic privacy curtain that made the room very dark for sleeping. The hotel location was perfect to see many sites and near the cheap public transportation stops. There are many terrific stores and restaurants within walking distance and the concierge desk was so very helpful in making suggestions and also reservations for you. We were very happy with the Grand Hyatt!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1983Hoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear 1983Hoops,

Wow! Thank you so much for the great compliment! Sounds like you had a very relax and comfortable stay in our remodeled guestroom. Our concierge staffs are absolutely one of the best in the city and great to hear they were able to assist you with your needs. We look forward to have you back soon!

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The service was great. The moment our cab from the airport pulled up, employees were opening doors and assisting with luggage. Check in was a breeze, and even though our room wasn't quite ready yet, it only took about 20 minutes to get it ready. Everyone that we came in contact with was friendly and professional. We were on the 9th floor, so we could hear a little bit of traffic noise, but not enough to keep us up at night or disturb us in any way. The rooms were super clean, very comfy. The staff will help you out with anything you may have forgotten. The fitness center was very nice, as compared to other hotel fitness centers, and the view from the equipment can't be beat. Cable cars were right around the corner, as well as stores and restaurants. I was impressed. When we return to San Francisco, we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: a higher floor would probably have a much better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Holly C,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Hyatt recently rolled out a new program called "Hyatt has it" and it offers a list of items that our guests may have forgotten to bring with them. So next time, you can pack light when you staying at any of the Hyatt hotels! It is great to hear we left you a great impression. Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. Please come back and see us again soon!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#35 of 229 in San Francisco
2,905 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,168 reviews
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#53 of 229 in San Francisco
4,343 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 229 in San Francisco
3,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Property: Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-4694
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the newly renovated Grand Hyatt is steps away form World Premier Shopping, cable cars, Chinatown, the Convention Center. Guests at Grand Hyatt enjoy exquisite comfort & amenities including a complimentary Fitness Center, daily newspapers, free internet access at OneUP restaurant and lobby area and the ultimate sleep experience in a "Grand Bed". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing