We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Ranked #37 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Spring, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly service”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Centrally located so you can get to just about every part of the city by walking. The service was friendly and attentive. We had a great room, comfortable and clean. It even had a refrigerator so we could store the cheese we bought at the Farmers Market. The only reason I wouldn't give it 5 stars is because the beds (2 doubles) were a little soft and worn out. All else was good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,123
    1,683
    539
    167
    110
See reviews for
1,071
1,368
235
1,309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (889)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I traveled here for business. Very disappointed in this hotel. Great location and nice modern rooms. But there was no mini bar in the room and no store in the hotel or nearby to buy amenities such as bottled water and soft drinks.

There is ONE restaurant in the hotel that serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Two mornings in a row, the small restaurant was full and I would have had to wait at least 15 minutes. The first morning, we walked to the W Hotel and had a wonderful breakfast there (I'll be staying there next time, that's for sure).

The second morning I had to catch a plane, and after trying the hotel's restaurant for breakfast and being told it would be a 15-30 minute wait, I was forced to walk across the street to Starbucks for coffee and a stale scone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LasVegasLaura69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear LasVegasLaura69,

Thank you for your feedback. We understand quick and easy access to a mini bar and breakfast is one of the most important criteria for business travelers. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

We have removed all bottled water from our guestrooms as part of our Green initiative and offer a hydration station on each floor. Guests can bring their own bottles to fill it up at anytime. A Walgreen is also located at Sutter and Powell street for more beverage selections. The Coffee bar located in the lobby offers fresh coffee and pastry, ideal for a quick grab and go in the morning.

We hate to see you go to another chain and should you consider to stay with us in the future, please contact me and I will be happy to personally arrange your stay at the Grand Hyatt San Francisco.

Hope to see you again.
Sincerely yours,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurong, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Check in was efficient and fast. Rooms were decent sized, and very clean and updated. Great location in the midst of Union Square. We got a great package that includes breakfast (crowded but not a big problem). When we were there part of the lobby was undergoing renovation, so it was a bit messy. And there was no proper drop off place for cars, just a makeshift door way at the back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

So you are considering the Grand Hyatt in San Francisco? I say go for it. However, you probably want to know why. Firstly check in. I checked in from my office in Toronto on my day of travel. They have webcheck in and it is very convenient. We arrived in SFO at 1130pm so didn't reach the hotel until after midnight. The girl at the checkin was very cheery and welcoming - although given we had already completed it online, all that was really required was our room pass. We were given an awesome room on the 25th floor - expansive and modern. The bed was really comfortable and the room had all we needed. Some have complained about the sink in the bathroom - really not an issue. The room had remote control blinds that could be operated from the bed. Quite a treat enjoying the view outside. You can even order complimentary items for the room - e.g toothpaste, toothbrushes,hairspray etc. Other items such as shower gel and shampoo and conditioner were already in the room.
The location of the hotel is excellent. It is about a 2 minute walk from union square - very safe and lots of people around (even at the late hour that we arrived). There are many shops and restaurants nearby, as well as the bus pick up locations for the sightseeing tours. We had not been to San Francisco before, so my husband spent a lot of time praising me for my excellent choice of hotel location!
The hotel lobby etc is lovely. There are comfy couches where one can linger with a coffee. The concierge staff were also very helpful and knew a lot about what the city had to offer.
Housekeeping was also excellent. Everyday we returned to a perfectly clean room - with no un-wanted rearranging of our personal items.
If you want to work out while you are there (if walking the city all day is not enough) the gym is excellent - lots of equipment etc. Also fresh towels and water - not to mention the amazing view (the gym is on a really high floor).
You do hear the occasional ding of the cable car bell from your room - however it is not really loud - it adds to the character. I had such restful sleep at the Grand Hyatt and woke up refreshed each day.
Check out was also simple - you have a range of options - the internet, the interactive tv in your room or the traditional way with a person. You can also print out your boarding passes from the hotel lobby - I did that and it made things that bit easier.
Overall a great stay, came back relaxed and refreshed and would most certainly stay at the Grand Hyatt next time I am in San Francisco.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Msgeocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Wow! Thank you so much for your review! Sounds like you and your husband had a fantastic time exploring San Francisco! We are delighted you enjoyed the redesigned guestroom and the amenities offered. Many of our guests also enjoy the seating area with cozy fireplace in the lobby and it makes a great place to enjoy a cup of coffee and relax! I am particularly happy to read your comment about our staffs, they are simply the best! Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great location and wonderfully updated, this hotel is a very good value in Union Square. Staff was friendly, room was well appointed and room service was punctual with good quality food. We had a standard room with downtown views and a view of Coit tower. Parking was available across the street and worked out well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kadeeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Wonderful staff, great bar and restaurant. Reasonably sized rooms, excellent location. Recently renovated lobby. Asked for a top floor, got a decent 16th. No bad views: city or SF Bay. Priced accordingly, but got a discount over the convention web site. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Of course call after you make a reservation and ask for the obvious top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MasterBoneco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review! Great to hear you enjoyed the renovated guestroom and the beautiful view from your room. We appreciate you took the time to write us a review and please come back and see us again soon!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My husband and I spent seven nights at the Grand Hyatt San Francisco. After reading all the TripAdvisor reviews on this hotel, and most reviews for most other hotels in the same price bracket, I chose the Grand Hyatt with slight reservation. I'm a really fussy traveller.

I used the hotel's website to pre-request specifics for our room (one bed, bath tub, high floor, view). This is the only hotel in our month-long trip that paid any attention to my requests. We asked for a Gold Passport upgrade to a bay view room, which the hotel kindly gave us.

Firstly, the check-in. People who complain about the funky layout must be seriously jet-lagged not to figure out how it works. The layout means no lines and attentive service. The lobby is mod but relaxing. The bar equally pleasant.

The room. Yes, the windows fog with the shower and you can hear police sirens on the 25th floor and the loo could be more sound-proof, but it was so comfortable and nicely laid out that we extended our four night stay to seven nights. Our view over the bay was gorgeous. The bed and pillows were heavenly. Housekeeping responsive. Room service really yummy. The concierge couldn't be more helpful.

The location. It is impossible to find better. The area is safe and near Chinatown (wonderfully vibey), not far from North Beach and in the designer shopping area. We love walking (but aren't particularly fit) but could walk to almost any attraction within half an hour. All modes of public transport are very close. We love bars and music. Not into pretentious, but enjoy smart as well as grungy. Try the Tunnel Top (very close to the hotel), Vesuvio (Jack Kerouac's haunt) and The Saloon (has to be seen to be believed). The last two are a 15 minute walk (which helps one sober up if one has had too many margaritas!).

This hotel is superb value for money. Not the cheapest, but worth the price. I spent days searching the internet for the best deal and couldn't beat the hotel's own website.

Room Tip: The higher up the better. Try get a bay view (not many rooms that have this) - it is worth paying a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimPlusFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear KimPlusFriends,

Thank you so much for choosing the Grand Hyatt San Francisco and being our Gold Passport member! We are delighted you enjoyed our remodeled lobby and guestroom. Our location is definitely perfect for shoppers and ideal to explore many attractions in San Francisco. I am particular happy to read your compliments on our service and accommodation and because of that, you have extended your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to write us this great review and I will be sure to share it with my team! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#35 of 229 in San Francisco
2,910 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,180 reviews
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#53 of 229 in San Francisco
4,350 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 229 in San Francisco
3,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Property: Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-4694
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the newly renovated Grand Hyatt is steps away form World Premier Shopping, cable cars, Chinatown, the Convention Center. Guests at Grand Hyatt enjoy exquisite comfort & amenities including a complimentary Fitness Center, daily newspapers, free internet access at OneUP restaurant and lobby area and the ultimate sleep experience in a "Grand Bed". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing