We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good choice in San Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Ranked #38 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 24, 2013

after struggling with poor reviews of many luxury hotels in San Fran i finally settled on the grand hyatt union square. i have nothing but positive things to say, rooms were comfy, clean not noisey. room key always worked, breakfast with room deal was great and they will make you what you want if its not on the buffet!. staff was all nice and we were just happy in general with our choice

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel2Escape45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,820)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,930 - 2,936 of 4,822 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

First time at this Hyatt property. Fairly fancy and recent renovation was almost finished. Hotel was clean, as was my room. Hotel is a short walk to many nicer stores, and actually quite close to many different attractions in the area. Hotel has an excellent exercise area, if that is something you like. Rooms were a bit small, but workable. Internet was terrible. I was told I should have paid the 9.95 fee to get the "upgraded" internet connection, and the cost would have been removed when I checked out due to my member status. The rooms do creak when there is high winds, which is part of the building construction. Caught me by surprise the first time it happened. Staff at the front desk ran Hot and Cold. Might give it another try when I get back to see if things have improved.

Room Tip: need to go high to get a really decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soccer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stay in San Francisco about once a month and always stay here because its right on Union Square near the shopping and dining. The recent remodel of rooms and lobby have really turned out nice. The hotel can be a little noisy on weekends but that is expected. Good value for money at this prime location.

Stayed: March 2013
2  Thank B Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Short three night trip and it was excellent. Just off Union Square and in the heart of the City. Walking distance to much of the City and convenient to transportation and lots more.

I was on one of the Club Level floors and access to t he Grand Club. Well done, good, attentive staff and very friendly.

I have stayed at this property before and it was good but now that they have finished the renovations, the rooms are really very nice and most have good are very decent views. I was on the 32nd floor looking West, interesting. Not quite as spectacular as looking East towards the Bay but still good.Modern, clean, great bathroom. I was happy with my stay.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the quieter the and the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The Grand Hyatt is everything you expect and more. The location is ideal for downtown San Fran. A good walking distance to the Pier, but great location for amazing restaurants and shopping all nearby.
The rooms are perfect size and the beds are very comfortable. The rooms are decorated to modern times and the hotel lobby and bar are modeled extremely nice.
The staff were all very helpful, friendly and most importantly, knew what they were talking about when asked many questions. The Concierge staff were especially helpful with tips and locations of restaurants, shopping, etc. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank superstar4772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear superstar4772,

Wow! Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are thrilled you had such a great experience with us! Sounds like you had a fun time exploring San Francisco! Your compliments to our staffs is much appreciated and I'll be sure to share it with them! Look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here in March 2013. The hotel is in a safe and excellent location, ideal for single ladies travelling alone. The beds are wonderful! I slept like a baby for 8 straight hours. The room is bright, intuitive and the amenities are what you expect from a Hyatt.

Room Tip: I had a room on the 14th floor, it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiddySing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear KiddySing,

Thanks for the 5-star review! It is great to hear you had a great night sleep in our Grand Bed and enjoyed the newly renovated room. Your business is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Grand Hyatt. The check in and out was very fast and efficient. We arrived before 9am and was pleasantly surprised to be offered our room then. The room has been remodelled and was large and modern with great views. It is the best location for downtown San Francisco with everything at walking distance or a trolly ride away. It is a excellent hotel and we will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmess_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. Sounds like check in and out was a breeze! Great to hear you enjoyed our remodeled guestrooms and the ideal location of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warm regards,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,713 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#47 of 230 in San Francisco
4,546 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
2,988 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-4694
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $208 - $753 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the newly renovated Grand Hyatt is steps away form World Premier Shopping, cable cars, Chinatown, the Convention Center. Guests at Grand Hyatt enjoy exquisite comfort & amenities including a complimentary Fitness Center, daily newspapers, free internet access at OneUP restaurant and lobby area and the ultimate sleep experience in a "Grand Bed". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing