We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Very Good!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Ranked #40 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not Very Good!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have been to this hotel before and it has certainly gone down hill. On the face of it the hotel has been remodelled, but it has been a negative not a positive. The beds and pillows are really not good and the reception service not great. We had a drink in the bar, which is nice, but I have never so many people behind a bar doing nothing. When I went to the bar it was too much for one to just serve I was told its table service so you then wait 10mins for that while you watch 6 guys behind the bar do sod all! Good way to get tips up, but USA is driven that way. Overall wont stay here again and more a business (on expenses) experience. Overall not good, but a great location. The stay was finally finished off when the town car we took got pulled over by the cops on the way to the airport.... Possibly the worst driving I have every seen!

Room Tip: Beds are not great and pillows like bricks
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smasher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the poor experience you had. A private message has been sent to you in regards to your recent stay with us. We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely yours,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,116
    1,681
    538
    167
    109
See reviews for
1,066
1,365
235
1,307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (889)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Spent a weekend here on vacation. It's at a great location near Union Square, Market Street, Chinatown and Nob HIll.

Positives - 1. Lovely large room 2. Recently remodelled, so everything is pretty much brand new. 3. Bathroom supplies are nice and unconventional - ginger body lotion and cucumber soap. 4. Room had a large closet and a dressing table and chair. 5. Breakfast buffet and ala carte menu is pretty good. Had the eggs benedict - nice. Restaurant staff are attentive, perhaps a tad too attentive. 6. Hotel can arrange a shared shuttle to the airport for US$16.

Negatives - 1. No master control switch for lights next to bed. 2. Switches for bedside lamps are hard to find. 3. Free Wifi is slow and hard to connect to. 4. Think only 1-2 lifts out of 6 lead to the Mezzanine level where breakfast is served. A little confusing. 5. Would have been nice if reception had asked if I needed information about the city. Got that a day later from the Concierge.

Room Tip: A high floor room facing Stockton Street will give you a great view of the bay and pier area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gurms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed in an executive suite for 2 nights. It had 2 full bathrooms, one with a tub for our girls and another with a shower only. It was nice to get ready for my meeting without disturbing my family. The location can not be beat. The renovation was excellent. The Grand Lounge had an amazing views. The staff in the lounge was wonderful, he saw that I needed and extra chair and brought it over before I had a chance to ask.

Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: High level with bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear foodie007,

Thank you for your review! It is always nice to hear compliments on our staffs and I'll be sure to share your comment with the team. I must agree with you our location is unbeatable and close to many attractions and restaurants in the city. Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. Please come back and see us again soon.

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel three nights. this was my first stay after the renovation and I see there is a significant improvement. room is efficient. strange looking sink. everything except bathtub in the room seemed renovated. friendly staff. great location. as we all know we should not expect much from big American chain hotels (Hyatt, Hilton, Sheraton, Marriott, etc.) in the us unlike the ones in Asia, this hotel was one of the better one in the US.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank sw k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

After our 14+ hour flight from Australia and a shower, it was fabulous to crawl in to the exceptionally comfortable bed...!! Very impersonal registration process, you look for reception desk to find there are some benches with laptops and when you step up to one a receptionist walks over, books you in and hands you your keys - at AU$227 a night I was expecting a little more. The room was great and you could not have asked for more in regards to position though. Disappointed with the buffet at their OneUP Restaurant - see my review. FORGOT TO MENTION: Could not believe to see people stepping out of elevators with dogs on leashes as we were waiting. DOGS staying in hotel rooms??? YES!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvidTravellers56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california,usa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel is in the best of locations in Union Square. The recent facelift is beautiful however the loud pounding music( noise) competing with the enthusiastic chatter throughout the reception/ mezzanine area in the early to late evenings is very negative. One can't hear to converse in the lobby sitting area whether it be with a companion or staff member. What a shame. It seems that this hotel is trying to compete with W hotels in a non favorable manner. Oh by the way the loud pounding music is piped in when you get off the elevator, yet another reminder. One saving grace is that once you get to your room you've arrived to a quiet haven and the rooms are nicely remodeled.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vagabond2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed the renovated room and the convenient location of the hotel. It is disappointed to hear the live entertainment was less than an ideal experience for you. Your review is very important to us and I have shared your comment about the noise level with my food and beverage team to evaluate. We hope this will not deter you from visiting us again in the near future.

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I really did not see anything wrong with this Hotel for a four star rating. The rooms were just remodeled. the bar and restaurant had just opened (brand new). THE ONLY CRITICISM i had was its a weird front desk. I personally like a grand entrance with a big impressive front desk, art work and attentive hotel staff behind it. This hotel just a table with a a staff person at it with a computer.
There were about 6 or 8 tables in the lobby and that was it, maybe its the new thing.
I would look on all the discount site for your stay here because you can get it for under $200 a night.
Also if your driving opt for the Self Park option only $36. per night with in and out privileges and its about 1/4 block away. The regular hotel parking is $56.
You are in the heart of San Fran so don.t eat in the hotel. There are plenty and I mean plenty of restaurants with in walking distance.

Room Tip: Just ask for a quite room not facing a street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TropicalTommy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#36 of 229 in San Francisco
2,902 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,160 reviews
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#53 of 229 in San Francisco
4,336 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 229 in San Francisco
3,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Property: Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-4694
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the newly renovated Grand Hyatt is steps away form World Premier Shopping, cable cars, Chinatown, the Convention Center. Guests at Grand Hyatt enjoy exquisite comfort & amenities including a complimentary Fitness Center, daily newspapers, free internet access at OneUP restaurant and lobby area and the ultimate sleep experience in a "Grand Bed". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing