We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Rennovation of a Classic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Ranked #38 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Rennovation of a Classic hotel”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I had never stayed at this hotel and I was pleased with the location and service. The have been renovated to a very high standard from both business and casual traveler. The views are tremendous. My only complaint is the restaurant is more then a little over the top for breakfast. Other then that this a great location in SF.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmeriSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,056
    1,650
    521
    163
    103
See reviews for
1,023
1,335
231
1,280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (871)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed at the Grand Hyatt for 5 nights whilst in San Francisco for a conference.

Despite having 'man flu' the whole time I was in San Francisco I still very much enjoyed my stay and found the hotel very comfortable, quite and relaxing.

The view from my room was superb and the view from the restaurant is even better. The location right in the centre is also excellent.

The service and care from the staff was great too. In short I would love to return for a personal holiday with my wife some day.

Room Tip: If not on the bay side then try for a room on a high level for great views across San Francisco
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Tim F.,

Thank you so much for the 5-star review! We are delighted you had an enjoyable time with us. Our location is definitely ideal for both business and pleasure. It is great to hear you would consider visiting us again with your wife in the near future and we certainly look forward to seeing you again!

Truly yours,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

First of all I feel guilty for not writing this review many months ago! I hosted a grand luncheon for a special birthday for 30 ladies in feb. 2012. From the planning stage till it was finished everything went smoothly. I work with a lady named Kaleen Bartlet and she was most gracious, accommodating and very professional.

It was at their event room on the top floor! Breathtaking views!

Everything was done according to my specification. Had 4 course sit down meal which was executed perfectly. The waiting staff, the bar tender and the supervisor were all very courteous and professional.

Only thing I Had a problem with was their "corkage" fee and policy. I guess I should have paid more attention. Make sure you choose your minimum for the event and whether it is cheaper to get their wines instead of bringing your own.

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank shez369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear shez369,

Wow! Thank you so much for your 5-star review! We are thrilled you had such a great experience with us! I'm sure the luncheon was a huge success! I must agree with you Kaleen is great to work with and I will be sure to share your comment with her. The view from our top floor meeting space is truly specular! Your business is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel over Christmas. The weather was gloomy, but the location could not have been better.
From check in to check out the experience was wonderful. It is a whole unique experience. The check in desks look more like casual computer stations. It is a new concept and confusing when you are looking for the standard check in desk. Hyatt thought of that aspect too. There are several Hyatt employees in the lobby to immediately assist you.
Our room was ready even though we checked in early and we were quickly escorted up to the room. We stayed on the 19th floor, and upon entering the room we had this amazing view of the city surrounding Coit Tower. It was such an impressive entrance to a room. The room was done in a sleek modern style that was also extremely inviting. We could have comfortably relaxed in this room with the amazing view, but Union Square with all of the holiday finery was just around the corner. We could easily walk to Chinatown also.
As far as the bar and restaurant facilities, I think the hotel was lacking in this area. The service in the bar was impeccable, but it was a very strange design with odd furniture. At peak bar times, seating was at a premium.
The restaurant left one cold. We ate there Christmas eve. There were 5 selections and left us hungry when we left. To compound this on Christmas we had lunch there since we were departing that afternoon, and it was the same menu. I am sure the cooks put together this special menu, but a simple hamburger would have been a nice choice also.
There are several unique items that they have decorated the hotel with. We enjoyed our stay but as far as things to do in the hotel on cold wet rainy San Francisco days, or to get away from the crowds, this hotel is very limited. It was such a perfect location.
While we were there the ASU football team was there to play Notre Dame, so our visit has lots of screaming kids in the lobby, not to mention leaving big messes (open food containers, apple cores, potatoe chip bags etc.)that the staff quickly cleaned.
The staff was beyond exellent and so was the location. Go confidently that it is a marvelous hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mavericktravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear mavericktravels,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! The newly designed registration desk and the cozy lobby with fireplace are unique from the traditional front desk. Our goal is to create a personal experience for our guests and glad you enjoyed it. The Coit Tower view from your room is truly amazing and the convenient location of our hotel is perfect to explore San Francisco. We apologize for the limited activities offered in our hotel and the crowd during the bowl game. It is always great to hear compliments on our staff and I'll be sure to share your review with the team. Your business is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Very good location very pleasant staff, before I arrive I got an email that protest at the front gate, but the staff they did there best to help my to reach the front disc, really every thing was great. The hotel was a bit noisy even my room at the 12th floor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fotogrfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california, US
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Grand Hyatt is our favorite San Francisco hotel, and we've enjoyed it for several years. We love the spirit of the Union Square, and appreciate it even more when the Ice Skating is on. Hotel service, comfort, friendliness, etc. is always perfect.

It was beyond disappointing to learn that the 'Grand Views' bar on the upper floor is no longer serving hotel guests.... The 'Grand Views' truly belongs to the San Francisco 'must see' list. Hate to find this enormous downgrade to otherwise joyful stay.

I consider the recent renovation a success: modern hotel style is very appropriate for San Francisco. I expect some modern, but nonsense bar furniture is replaced by now, or will be replaced soon. We were so sorry for the waiters missing extra-narrow bar tables!

Room Tip: It is worth to pay for the 'view', meaning higher floor, room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trip_rep_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

With construction complete the Grand Hyatt San Francisco is my new place to lay my head when my wife and I go to SFO. There was a sophistication that came with the hotel. The halls were not filled with yelling children, nor were the elevators lined with drunken adults. Over the Thanksgiving holiday we assumed there would be families and tourists galore. We made the getaway from our family tables looking for a good time, so naturally we assumed others would do the same. They did come out in droves, but all were well behaved.

The hotel is right next to Union Square. If you have ever been to San Fran, you are well aware of how crowded Union Square can get. Being that it was Black Friday and the Christmas Tree Lighting Ceremony the street surrounding the hotel were closed. After the initial day after Thanksgiving shock, the street opened and getting in and out of the hotel was much more tolerable. Market St, the main street is just a few blocks away. From there we were able to get to every part of the city with the clipper card. Chinatown was a short quick walk about 2 blocks away. The Warf is a nice 20 minute walk through North Beach and Chinatown.

The remodel was fantastic. We had a large room on the corner, which allowed for the bathroom to be in a different position. It was at the back of the room, down a short hallway. With bathrooms normally off the entrance to the room it was nice to have it isolated. It kept the light out of my eyes while my wife got ready in the morning. The beds were comfortable, the TV was large, and the aesthetics were pleasing. My favorite was the automatic curtains. I was like a child playing with a new toy every time I opened and closed the curtains from the warmth of my bed.

We happened to get a special for $150 a night including breakfast and WIFI. The WIFI signal was sufficient. I wasn’t streaming movies so it didn’t matter the speed anyhow. The breakfast was ok. It was trying a little too hard. I am a basics type of guy. The sour cream and shallot scrambled eggs were a little much. This is San Fran! If you are going to put stuff out for the guests to eat you better keep on par with the other 150 restaurants serving amazing breakfast. We tried it one day and didn’t go beck the next 2. We were happier going and paying for something we truly enjoyed.

Besides the food, the hotel was great. A convenient location, great design and formidable service make the higher price worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cgarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#31 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,022 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#57 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Property: Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-4694
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the newly renovated Grand Hyatt is steps away form World Premier Shopping, cable cars, Chinatown, the Convention Center. Guests at Grand Hyatt enjoy exquisite comfort & amenities including a complimentary Fitness Center, daily newspapers, free internet access at OneUP restaurant and lobby area and the ultimate sleep experience in a "Grand Bed". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing