We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city, good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Ranked #37 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great city, good hotel”
Reviewed March 20, 2008

The location of the Grand Hyatt is great. Union square is right outside the doors of the hotel. Tons of designer shopping and restaurants to choose from. Close to Chinatown. It was so easy to walk practically everywhere in the downton area from the hotel. It was also easy to catch a cab to surrounding neighborhoods in the San Francisco area such as Golden Gate Park and North Beach areas.

I pre-arranged a towncar car airport pick-up and drop-off through the hotel e-concierge before my arrival. The drivers were prompt and polite. Upon arrival the staff were friendly and courteous. The concierge desk was helpful and provided maps. Unfortunately I was not able to get an early check-in as I requested since my flight landed at 11:30 AM and I was at the hotel by 12:30 PM. But they were able to check and hold my bags so I could begin exploring the city. I was able to use their facilities, which were nice and clean, to freshen up beforehand.

I reserved a bay view king room and it was on the 24th floor. The view was nice, since I was able to see the bay, part of Alcatraz, Angel Island, and party of the city. The room was clean and of average size. A little worn but not too bad. It could stand to be updated some more. The whole hotel seemed worn in general, especially the furniture. One feature I liked was I was able to slide open my window about 4 inches to let in fresh air, as the hotel room smelled kind of stale. I left the window open during my entire stay. One negative aspect is you have to pay 10 dollars a day for internet access. Some other hotels I was debating between did offer free internet access. Also, the television was old and dated compared to other hotels in this category.

I did not eat at any of the restaurants in the hotel. I opted for local restaurants in the area. I did order room service a few times. The Angus burger and fries were quite delcious. The chips, salsa and guacamole were good. I was a little disappointed in a fresh seasonal fruit tray I ordered. The only fruit I recieved was a little bunch of purple grapes and one strawberry cut in half. I expected a little more than what I received.

Overall, my experience at this hotel was good. I give this hotel only 3 stars because it was average, nothing more. It definitely did not exceed my expectations for the price. I probably will try another hotel the next time I visit this city.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No internet access included
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank vintageshimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,123
    1,683
    539
    167
    110
See reviews for
1,071
1,368
235
1,309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (889)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2008

The grand hyatt is a hotel located right in front of Union Square, where all shops, restaurants are. The location is perfect, you can walk to chinatown, the cablecar is one block away and macys, bloomingdales, apple, etc are around the corner.
The hotel was once a 5 star, now the rooms seem old, though spacious (king room has more space than 2 queen bed room)the bathroom is really old, ugly, but clean.
200 dolar a night, was not very cheap, but the other hotels in this location, Marriott, Four Seasons are much more expensive and luxorious, of course.
Breakfast is ridiculous, it cost 16-20 dollars, depending on what you eat, but the buffet is so small, you could easily go to a starbucks (in front of the hotel) or macys to have a coffe and some pastries.
garage is extremely expensive, about 50 dollars/day.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ale_esteves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2008

Staff very friendly and helpful from the front desk to doormen to the concierge. Doormen were always opening the door for my party and the concierge offered several excellent restaurant

Conventiently located near the cable car line and a short walk from the convention center.

Room -- Bed was comfortable but lighting could be better. Closet door was broken. The whole hotel needs some remodeling.

Excellent view from the restaurant on the top floor.

Exercise room is one of the best I've experienced in a hotel. Even had headphones for you to plug into the equipment!

  • Liked — Location and staff service
  • Disliked — Condition of hotel -- need remodeling
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amberms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2008

I stayed on the 17th floor from March 11-March 14, 2008. This hotel is excellent. The front desk staff is fast and nice. Bell staff is on top of things. The room was perfect, very clean and even had a safe! Bed slept very well and the view was excellent. It is a little pricey but it is in the center of the action. Highly recommend for the business traveler.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank NashvilleTNGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2008

We have stayed here twice for 4 nights and 8 nights in the last 2 years. We upgraed to a suite using hyatt points and the room was very nice with a great view. We got a rollaway and there was plenty of room for the four of us. The bed in the main room was a very comfortable king bed. The location is perfect. We can take the cable car down to fisherman's wharf as needed, walk to the ferry building, and get theater tickets at half price at Union Square.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — it can be noisy when it is very windy.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mannaham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2008

After reading a few TA reviews, I was a bit apprehensive about staying 3 nights at this hotel. However, I needn't have worried. It was an excellent choice.

The location was perfect (everything within walking distance), the staff was extremely helpful and friendly, the rooms were very good (not 5* perfect but near enough) and the bed was amazingly comfortable. The concierge was also so helpful at finding excellent local restaurants (which also happened to be really cheap).

I would recommend starting off the day having the buffet breakfast (about $25) on the top floor. The views of the city, harbour, golden gate bridge and alcatraz are stunning. If you don't want breakfast just pop in for a drink or a sit down. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank LondonTealady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2008

This is a great hotel. My top criteria for selecting a hotel is the quality of the beds. The beds at this hotel are amongst the best. The rooms are very clean and everything is top quality. My only complaint would be the room did not have sufficient lighting. Outside of that, this is an excellent hotel.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Insufficient lighting
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingengr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#35 of 229 in San Francisco
2,910 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,180 reviews
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#53 of 229 in San Francisco
4,350 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 229 in San Francisco
3,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Property: Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-4694
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the newly renovated Grand Hyatt is steps away form World Premier Shopping, cable cars, Chinatown, the Convention Center. Guests at Grand Hyatt enjoy exquisite comfort & amenities including a complimentary Fitness Center, daily newspapers, free internet access at OneUP restaurant and lobby area and the ultimate sleep experience in a "Grand Bed". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing