We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend at The Grand Hyatt”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Ranked #37 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband, kids, parents and I spent 2 nights at the Grand Hyatt in SF last August. The location of this hotel is great if you would like to stay downtown. It is right at Union Square, close to shops and tour stops. We had two adjoining rooms on the 15th floor. The view from both rooms was amazing. The rooms were recently remodeled. One of the rooms had a vanity right outside the bathroom which I thought was very useful. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom, although a bit small, was functional and nice looking. The lobby was still under construction, so it got crowded at times but since we were not spending time in the lobby, this did not bother us that much. On the last night at the hotel, we had dinner at the rooftop restaurant which supposedly has one of the best view in SF. I say "supposedly" because we did not get to see anything since the fog had settled in. Overall, a great stay at the Grand Hyatt and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The higher floor rooms have a great view of downtown SF
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carvacri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Carvacri,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! Sounds like you and your family had a wonderful time in San Francisco and enjoyed the view from our renovated guestrooms! On a clear day, the view from our restaurant is absolutely gorgeous and it is disappointed to hear you didn't have the chance to witness it due to the fog. We appreciate your choosing the Grand Hyatt San Francisco and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon!

Warm regards,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,769)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hyatt San Francisco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,092 - 3,098 of 4,769 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

First vist to SF, the hotel is in a great location for all transport around the city, Muni F takes you between pier 39 and fishermans wharf to south of market, renovation of the hotel not quiet finished, but will be great when it's done, the rooms are a good size and very modern, with everything that you need, hotel staff are friendly and has free airline check in which was useful, thanks for a great holiday!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alrightmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I recently stayed at the Grand Hyatt in San Francisco for 7 nights. The hotel is great and I have mostly all positive things to say about my stay. The room I had, in particular, was fabulous. It was a huge room on the 31st floor that overlooked the financial district. The room was modern with hardwood floors, large windows with automatic blinds, great furniture, a nice bathroom with a HUGE walk-in shower and, of course the Hyatt bed which is large and comfortable. Outside the room, the gym was very nice, as was the Club Lounge and the hotel is very close to Union Square and all of the San Francisco sites. The staff for the most part was all very nice and helpful...it didn't seem like they would go out of their way to be friendly and helpful, but if engaged it was fine.

Now, there was a couple things that that kept me from rating the hotel a "5". First, is the reception area. I understand the lobby is under construction and that's fine. However, the check-in procedure (which appears to be fully renovated) is very confusing for a hotel this size. There are several small desks for check-in and the lines get quite long and people get angry quickly.

My second criticism would be the restaurant, or more specifically, the lounge on the 36th floor. I am assuming it is next on the renovations list because it is quite outdated and rather old appearing. The menu in the lounge as well is quite small and very basic food. I ate there 2 nights - not wanting to go to the restaurant - it was fine, just had a diminished expectation from the feeling from the rest of the hotel.

Overall, I would quickly recommend the Grand Hyatt to anyone. I was sad to check-out and move into my new apartment in San Francisco.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ord2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for a week from the 19th September. Was in a great location, the room was big and the beds were lovely and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpfull. The fridge in the room was good for keeping water and milk in. There was a water machine and a ice machine on all the floors. The lobby is still being done up, will be finished in November, but didnt make any difference to our stay. The bar on the 36th floor was great, but its going to be changed into a conference room and the bar will be relocated. Rooms were cleaned and beds made everyday with clean towels. Would definately go back

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sue j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed here recently with some girlfriends. The location is perfect, right on Union Square, the rooms are very comfortable and clean and the fridge is very useful. The only thing missing is an ipod dock which is standard in most good hotels. The hotel charges for wifi which is unnecessary and annoying !
The staff are all friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dabernster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear dabernster,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel near Union Square and our newly renovated guestroom. Each guestroom equip with a Uno-Bitell media phone with ipod/MP3 docking capabilities. It maybe difficult to locate the plug from the phone and for that, we are truly sorry. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My friend and i have just returned after staying a week at the Hyatt and this hotel was in a great location.We had a room on the 12th floor and found only the same levels of noise coming from outside that you would find in any city so really wasnt that bad.We had a room with 2 double beds which were sooooo comfortable after a long day out sight seeing.Yes the lobby is not completed yet but that did not bother us and all the staff were very polite and very helpfull especially the consierge team.The 36th floor bar was great with amazing views and was very busy at times it is such a shame that they are moving the bar to the 2nd floor im sure the powers at be know what they are doing never the less agreat shame.
Union square is a great location for getting out and about we took the cable car one block away on powell street this is also where the station is for the bart train from the airport $8.75 one way or $16 for shuttle express arranged by the hotel which was very efficient.

All in all this hotel is great value and im sure if the lobby means alot to some folk it will be great when completed in nov.Would i stay again most deffinately.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathedralcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear cathedralcitygirl,

Thank you so much for your 5-star review. It is great to hear you and your friend had a great time in San Francisco and enjoy the ideal location of our hotel. I must agree with you the Grand Bed is absolutely one of the best compared to other hotels. Though we will be relocating the restaurant to the mezzanine level, we assure you it will be equally impressive. It is always great to hear compliments on our staff and I will be sure to share your review with them.

Your recommendation is our biggest compliment, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Excellent and safe location - 1 minute walking distance from Union Square. Very clean and new renovated room.

Wireless internet should be free- no slippers in the room and no shower cap! For a 4 star hotel these are must.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vacationsrbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review! Sounds like you had a great time exploring San Francisco and enjoyed the ideal location of our hotel! Our internet fee is comparable with other hotels in the area and slippers, shower cap maybe request from our housekeeping department as these are not our standard amenities. We apologize for the inconvenience caused. Should you return to the Grand Hyatt San Francisco in the near future, please give us a call directly so that we can assist you with your requests in advance. Look forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#48 of 230 in San Francisco
4,495 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#33 of 230 in San Francisco
3,689 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
2,976 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-4694
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $219 - $803 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the newly renovated Grand Hyatt is steps away form World Premier Shopping, cable cars, Chinatown, the Convention Center. Guests at Grand Hyatt enjoy exquisite comfort & amenities including a complimentary Fitness Center, daily newspapers, free internet access at OneUP restaurant and lobby area and the ultimate sleep experience in a "Grand Bed". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing