We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confortable Hotel Very Well Located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Ranked #38 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel is very well located, very close to the Union Square, Macy's, Nike, and some fancy stores like Prada, Burberry, Louis Vitton etc. I chosen a Club Floor Room that provide me breakfast and snacks. The food and service is very good and I slept very well. I recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PedroHelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear phelder2006,

Thank you so much for your review! We are delighted you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel and glad you took advantage of the food and beverage from the Grand Club Lounge! Your recommendation is our biggest compliment and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,360 - 3,366 of 5,032 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

Despite the more recent reviews, we found our room to be clean and comfortable. With floor-to-ceiling windows, there is plenty of light in the room (we had a bay view, with full views of San Francisco Bay and Alcatraz). The rooms are small, but this isn't Kansas.
We did not eat at the Hyatt restaurant (Grandviews on 36th floor), but heard it was good.
Pluses:
1. Starbucks directly across the street.
2. All the shops around Union Square at your back door (Nordstrom, Prada, Zara, Louis Vitton, Levi's, Macy's, Bloomingdales, etc.).
3. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance.
4. Leave the front door, turn left (Sutter), and at the next corner (Powell), you can take the purple cable car (Powell-Hyde) all the way to Ghiradelli Square for $6. Walk along the shoreline to Fort Mason (next door) and have lunch at Greens (vegetarian fare).
5. San Francisco Chronicle is put out by the elevators in the mornings for you to take.
Minuses:
1. Room was noisy on Saturday night, but quiet on weeknights.
2. Bar (also on the 36th floor) was always crowded, so we went elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view room. It's worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinchesterTrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel and the views from your room. I must agree the location to shopping is unbeatable and public transportation makes it so much easy to explore the area. Your business is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warm regards,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

and looks bad.
The rooms are small, depressing and ugly. The service is unfriendly. I just couldnt wait to leave the room as soon as I arrived.

I still it competes very strongly with the New York Grand Hyatt for my worst Grand Hyatt experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CKGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns with us via email. It is disappointed to hear our renovated room and level of service did not meet your expectation. However, we truly appreciated you giving us an opportunity to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Nice place located in Union Square, breakfast at the top of the tower. Downstairs there is a a starbucks just across the road (Seems very important for USA people ;) ... 10 minutes by walk from the ferrymarket, 5 from the Chinatown and from Market street and Yerba Buone (where you can find a very nice foodcourt as well)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaudioErba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear ClaudioErba,

Great to hear you enjoyed the close proximity of our hotel to many San Francisco's attractions. Thank you for your review and for staying with us! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warm regards,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights in August: fabulous location, next to Union Square and not too hard of a walk from the Powell St. BART Station. Room was spacious enough and beds comfortable. Front desk very professional. Heard some street noise but don't think that can be avoided downtown. Had a band playing one night at Union Square and we could hear it from our room but it quieted down by the time we went to bed. Still doing some renovation but was barely noticeable. Booked a room that included breakfast for an additional $20 and boy, was it worth it. The buffet was excellent and I think I had the best french toast ever from their kitchen! Only thing is that I thought the internet was included and it wasn't but since I had an I-Phone, it was OK. Will clarify that detail next time. All in all, it was a great experience for us and I would highly recommend the Grand Hyatt.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear Jackie F.,

Wow! Thank you so much for the 5-star review! We are thrilled to hear you had such a great experience at our hotel and glad you enjoyed the delicious meals from Grandviews restaurant. Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. Please come back and see us again soon!

Warm regards,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The hotel lobby is under renovation, but you really wouldn't notice it as the areas affected are fully blocked off. The hotel location simply cannot be beat. It is across the street from Starbucks and just a block away from Sears Fine Dining which is a good option for breakfast. A Trolley stop is 1 block away as is the main drag that takes you to Union Square and the Trolley turnaround. Amazing Union Square shopping is steps away from your front door. We stayed in a "pure" room, high floor, which was beautifully remodeled in a very clean, modern style and included an air purifier. Room size is smallish but I think that's what you can expect in a downtown setting and for 2 adults and 2 children it was just fine.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liv2trvl2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

Loved being in Union Square! This hotel is in walking distance to Chinatown, union square, cable cars...everything. Cabs are right out front, staff is helpful and friendly. Hotel is newer, nice rooms, very clean, nice view of city. Restaurant was good. Overall excellent experience and would absolutely stay at the Grand Hyatt again!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennifr80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear Jennifr80,

Thank you so much for your review! We are thrilled you had such a great experience in San Francisco and at our hotel! It is always great to hear compliments on our staffs. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 231 in San Francisco
3,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#50 of 231 in San Francisco
4,747 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#36 of 231 in San Francisco
3,074 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#23 of 231 in San Francisco
6,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-4694
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $227 - $687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Union Square, Grand Hyatt San Francisco offers magnificent city skyline and stunning bay views, modern accommodations with residential style amenities and state-of-the-art technology. Enjoy easy access to premier shopping, museums, theaters and iconic landmarks including Fisherman’s Wharf and Chinatown. Indulge some of the best San Francisco specialties and wines from Napa and Sonoma Regions at OneUp Restaurant & Lounge. Experience the ultimate in style and hospitality at this luxurious hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing