We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely Busy!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Ranked #36 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Extremely Busy!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2007

Be prepared to wait in line at elevators for at least 5 minutes, crowds of people rushing about. We had to take the stairs from the 18th floor at one point, after waiting on an elevator for 10 minutes. This is No Grand Hyatt, its in need of a major renovation. Also, walls are paper thin, you can hear your neighbors talking in normal voices during times in the night. If you book on priceline, I wouldnt put in more than 50 a night, its about all its worth.

Helpful?
1 Thank robtguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,970
    1,614
    499
    158
    95
See reviews for
970
1,293
224
1,237
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (855)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2007

My SO and I decided to stay here for Christmas Eve and Christmas just to relax and have a mini getaway from our apartment in the south bay.

We booked through the hyatt website with a AAA discout that included full breakfast for two in the Grandviews restaurant/bar.

The Grandviews is aptly named, located on the 36th floor of the hotel, it has an amazing and beautiful view of the bay and the city.
Grandviews is worth visiting even if you aren't staying at the hotel.

Our room was on the 17th floor and had a decent view of the bay through the tall buildings. The bed was very comfortable, with a down comforter and plenty of down pillows.

The toiletries were adequate, nothing special and the shower was either a bit too hot or a bit too cold, the temperature control was difficut to tweak. However, the hot water never ran out, which is a plus.

This hotel satisfied for our short stay and provided quite an excellent value in SF. I plan to stay again and again.

  • Liked — The location and views of SF.
  • Disliked — The room was very average.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank epiphaneia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2007

We thougt we could not go wrong with the Grand Hyatt. Boy we were so wrong. We were given a room whose walls are so thin that we could hear every piece of conversation that was coming from the next room. We asked the front desk for a room move and the guest service agent told us nothing is available and to check back the next day. They made no attempt to assist us.

The next day, I attempt to room move again but the guest service agent was again reluctant to assist us. She only room move us after I threaten to check out. There's mildew in the bathrooms for both rooms, cracked caulking and the lights don't work.

On my last night, I was trying to retrieve my package from the Front desk. The guest service agent told me that he doesn't know where it is becuase it is not part of his job and to wait for the bellman to assist me. He would rather I wait 10 mins while he is sipping his starbucks coffee and talking to his fellow colleagues rather than making an effort to look for my package.

  • Liked — Nothing!
  • Disliked — Hated it!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Roamer18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2007

Stayed at the Grand Hyatt for some Christmas shopping and a show at the Curran Theatre. Lots of great shopping around nearby Union Square and a short walk to the theatre. China town and the Ferry Building are also nearby.

Unlike others, we found the concierge most pleasant and helpful. They were able to book a last minute dinner res at a great little bistro two blocks away. It was packed 20 minutes after we arrived. Staff was pleasent, available and most helpful.

The room was quite pleasant, though not extraordinary. The bathroom was small but clean. The bed, however, was a 10...very comfortable.

Views? We paid up for the bay view...and it was worth it, if you like views. The views from the top floor Grandviews resturante and lounge are magnificant. The food is...well, go there for a drink.

This was our second stay and we were pleased with both visits.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank segraves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2007

This is our third stay at the hotel, the first being shortly after it opened.

We had a wonderful view on the 26th floor, of many of the gorgeous buildings in the City. The bed was very comfortable, and the room was clean, although there was paint peeling on the ceiling in the bathroom.

My only problem was a noise that I could hear that sounded like a vibration in the ceiling near the door. I wanted to call the front desk, but at the time it was happening (late at night), I really didn't want to have the maintenance person in our room. My fault for not reporting it.

The location of this hotel is great if you want to be near Union Square and all the great shopping!

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Paying for Wireless Internet Service
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank blondeegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2007

Imagine our distaste when we arrived at this hotel from the East Coast shortly after midnight local time only to find that the hotel had given away our room. Never mind that the room had not only been guaranteed with a credit card, but that card had already been charged for the entire stay. They did have a room we could stay in - with a roll-away bed. After much deliberation with the unaccommodating front desk person, a double room was finally found to put us up in for the evening.

A king room was supposed to be found for us and our luggage automatically moved the next day. When we returned to the hotel around 1:00 p.m., this had not yet happened. Another less than pleasant exchange at the front desk yielded another double room! They were finally able to locate an available king room so we returned to our original room to retrieve our own bags and relocate to the king room.

Overall, the hotel is average. There is nothing that stands out about this hotel to make it recommendable. Rooms were clean (minus the coffee pot which still had a half pot of coffee in it when we arrived.) Location was great for access to China Town, the Ferry Building and some excellent restaurants. A night-cap in the Grand View bar on the 36th floor was enjoyable. No bell-staff were available upon our arrival to assist with our bags, the door or direct us to check in. (Hopefully this was due to the arrival time but was still a surprise.) Linens and glass-ware in the rooms were kept to the bare minimum – a surprise for a room set up to accommodate two people.

We travel a lot and are realistic about hotels and our expectations. We are comfortable in Wingate Inn as well as 5-star hotels. If you’re looking for service (friendly or otherwise), avoid this property. I’d say find a Sheraton or Marriott brand nearby. If you’re looking for a clean hotel where you’ll be left alone, this is the place. Based on this stay we will not return to this hotel and will not consider Hyatt as a top choice brand in other cities when choosing hotels in the future.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank TravelPlanner8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2007

Have stayed a lot of places in San Francisco, and finally found a keeper.

Staff upon check-in was great - was using the kiosk, and the guy at the front desk said "let me check that it gave you a good room". My room was quiet, and an okay size for SF. The gym was smallish but VERY well-equipped, and no fee (unlike the Westin St. Francis). The concierge was very helpful, and her recs were similar to those on Chowhound (so she wasn't just sending me to the places that paid her best). The location is perfect for where I go to work, and would be wonderful for a tourist as well (close to Union Square and to some amazing restaurants). No time to wait for the shared-ride van, so the
doorman immediately got me a limo to the airport for the price of a cab ride.($45 flat)

The Mark Hopkins had nicer bathrooms, but it was noisier & pricier, and the St. Francis nickels & dimes you plus their check-in line is appalling. Next trip to SF: Grand Hyatt

  • Liked — The amazingly friendly and helpful staff, plus lots of elevators -- no waiting!
  • Disliked — You could hear a club across the street closing at 2am Monday morning
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liontamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#8 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#30 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,816 reviews
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#58 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Property: Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-4694
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the newly renovated Grand Hyatt is steps away form World Premier Shopping, cable cars, Chinatown, the Convention Center. Guests at Grand Hyatt enjoy exquisite comfort & amenities including a complimentary Fitness Center, daily newspapers, free internet access at OneUP restaurant and lobby area and the ultimate sleep experience in a "Grand Bed". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing