We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Ranked #38 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights at the Grand Hyatt. We had a great view of the skyline and the bay.
We were celebrating a birthday that weekend and the Hyatt sent us a complimentary bottle of wine and food platter the 1st night. That kicked off 4 great days. We were lucky and caught a fleet week air show over the bay and a Columus Day Parade in North Beach. The rooms have been updated since we were here in 2008 and the Hyatt did a great job. The room was very clean and the front desk was very helpful. It is a great location and good hotel

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyril59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2011

I am delighted that you had a great experience while staying at our property. It sounds like you had terrific views of the skyline and bay. What a great way to celebrate a birthday by having fantastic views and great service. I am pleased you found the rooms to be very clean and comfortable. With our recent renovation all of our guestrooms have the most refreshing and vibrate feel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcome you back to our property on your next visit to San Francisco!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,918)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,606 - 3,612 of 4,918 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2011

Location is excellent and the views from the Grandview Restaurant and Lounge are breathtaking. The recent renovation is well done- love the remote control windowshade and the babybath size sink. We were on a lower floor- room 606 and unlike other reviewers weren't bothered by noise of neighbors and fully expect to hear city noises in a city.

Prices in the Grandview lounge are relatively reasonable for a bar menu that equates to lunch-size portions. Wish that there were a couple more eating options like a coffee/breakfast/snack bar. Also there aren't any vending machines in the hotel, so hard to grab a bottle of water or a soft drink before setting out for a day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMLAalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

The location is great. The rooms are extremely nice and well appointed. The only complain would be the noise. The walls are paper thin. We could hear everything in the hallways every time someone was near our room. Street noise was also bothersome, but likely due to our being on a low floor. Overall, it's a good hotel if you go the Priceline route, but not worth the standard rate compared to other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Make sure to get on a high floor to avoid being disturbed by street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YadiDadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Surprisingly good experience at this large hotel right off Union Square. Set at the top of Stockton Street and surrounded by great shopping and dining, this is the choice among the big chain hotels in the downtown/financial district area at this service category. The staff are very curteous and pleasant, from the reception desk to the concierge team. The rooms, though not large, have been nicely and comfortably renovated and feature nice amenities like a fridge, large flat panel TV, window shades that work, and great bath products. The hotel property is definitely showing its age and despite the renovation, which has not yet extended to the public areas, doesn't feel as crisp or fresh as other Hyatt properties but if you're looking for a great location with many of the city's top locations within easy walking distance and great views (be sure to check out the bar on the 36th floor), this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STYLEONTHEGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

I stayed here on business last week and was not disappointed. First of all, the location is wonderful - a short walk from a lot of attractions, close to the financial district, and just a nice central spot overall.

The rooms have been completely renovated, and while a little too modern for my personal taste, they are very nice and well appointed. Pretty good sized too given the location, and mine was immaculate - I don't recall the last time I stayed in a room that felt so clean! Comfy bed, nice TV - a nice place to stay. My only complaint about the room was the shower. It had the worst water pressure and the nozzle was lousy in my opinion. Other than that, great rooms!

Service was friendly and everyone was really accomodating. I have stayed in several hotels in the area and plan to make this my home base from now on because the location is really THAT great! I am really anxious to see the renovations of the 1980s lobby and the rest of the place.

I almost forgot - the fitness center on the 36th floor is OUTSTANDING! Easily one of the nicest hotel gyms I have seen - it was huge, well equipped with really nice, new stuff, and the view was spectacular!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOTraveler010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Had an excellent three night stay here, the room was clean and quiet and all of my interactions with the staff were excellent. The floors are divided into four sectors or clusters of rooms so you don't get that oppressive long-hallway hotel feel, which is nice. My only complaint is that the room layout is a little weird but other than that it was recently redone with modern finishes and looked great.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BartFargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay at our recently renovated hotel. Our staff is dedicated to providing an excellent experience for our guests. Hope you come visit us again soon!

John S. - A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Stayed july 2011.
Excellent location if you want down town. wonderfully, relaxing rooms. Reception desk staff were distant and standoffish. Must see veiw from top floor restaurant/bar.
Messed up my credit card by charging too many things on one day so bank stopped it, then they charged me twice! Writing this on 11 oct and still no refund. Not impressed with the customer service either. Lovely hotel spoilt by people who work there. I will update this when I get a refund.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joss48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
3,759 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#49 of 230 in San Francisco
4,645 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
3,034 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-4694
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $187 - $631 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the newly renovated Grand Hyatt is steps away form World Premier Shopping, cable cars, Chinatown, the Convention Center. Guests at Grand Hyatt enjoy exquisite comfort & amenities including a complimentary Fitness Center, daily newspapers, free internet access at OneUP restaurant and lobby area and the ultimate sleep experience in a "Grand Bed". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing