We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Nearby Hotels
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$338
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$225
$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$209
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Kimpton Buchanan(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$217
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
$309
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$279
$237
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
$415
$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (5,147)
Filter reviews
5,147 results
Traveler rating
2,381
1,842
605
194
125
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,381
1,842
605
194
125
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunion squaregreat locationapple storetop floorclub roomfloor to ceiling windowsbay viewconcierge deskcoit towergreat shoppingfitness centercentral locationthe heart of the citycable carvalet parkingfisherman's wharffew blocks
Filter
Updating list...
4,233 - 4,238 of 5,147 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2007

We have just completed a 10 night stay at the Grand Hyatt in room 2508 and it was excellent. I was somewhat apprehensive after reading some of the mixed reviews on this site, but my apprehensions were completely unfounded. This was my third stay in SF; having previously
stayed at the nearby Sir Francis Drake and also the Hotel Boheme. The
Grand Hyatt stands head and shoulders above either of these two.

Let me now respond to some of the issues previously raised, in no particular order.

1. Room size. If our room was anything to go by, the rooms are quite simply palatial. Anyone who considers these rooms small has never stayed in a hotel in New York or indeed any of the so called
"boutique" hotels around SF.

2. "Tired" decor. This is perhaps a fair criticism, but everything is relative here and the so-called "tiredness" would only be an issue if your baseline is 6 star Asian opulence. Perhaps "dated" would be a better word, as there is none of the shabbiness that the word 'tired' implies. And again, if you really want to see tired and dated, just go to anywhere that markets itself as boutique.

3. The lobby. Yes, this is a shambles - the layout being dictated by the central core of elevators. But really, who cares.

4. The staff - without exception were extremely polite, efficient, and helpful. Special mention must go to the concierges who we used shamelessly on at least a daily basis - nothing was too difficult for them and they were a goldmine of local knowledge. Most other hotel concierges simply hand you pamphlets. I can't praise them highly enough.

And it must also be said that the location is excellent, the bed one of the most comfortable I have experienced and the hotel has a very good fitness centre. In terms of value for money - I can never score the rock-bottom rates like those offered on priceline; instead paying $239 a night. I considered this rate to still be good value for money, given the location of the hotel, the time of year and quality of service provided.

I would have no hesitation in staying again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank gasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2007

Let me start of by saying I think all hotels in SanFran are overpriced. We managed to get what I have been told is a great rate - 148/night for 3 nights. For that amount, Im used to staying in very nice hotel rooms.

I would say our room was average. We did get a non smoking king size bed on the 15th floor, but our view was of the back of the tiffanys building. Others we talked to paid much much more.

I had no real complaints - the check in process was smooth and our room was cleaned daily. We didnt see many bums outside, and those we did see were not intimidating or aggressive.

The location was perfect for us, only 2 block from chinatown, and located directly in the middle of the upper end retail outlets. The girlfriend visited all of the shops nearby..

Car rental locations were about 5 block away, I had no problem finding them.

The trolley is only a few blocks away, and the 30 bus takes you through chinatown to the fishermans wharf - that was quite convenient.

Check out was simple, simply dial a number and you can leave. No extra charges were put on our bill.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank miaminemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2007

Stayed here for 2 days. The location is great, just off union square. We booked through priceline, was not expecting much. However, the check-in person was quick, efficient and smiling, and gave us high floor with a view of union square. The room itself was fine without being "grand". On another occasion, the reception was also able to change Canadian Dollars to US Dollars quickly, although they warned me that their rate is higher. Not a problem because I wanted only some change.

Armed with reviews of this hotel, we made the right decision not to have a car during the stay. It is not needed. Took the BART train from the airport to the hotel. The MUNI Pass is a great way to see the city. While leaving, we walked to a car rental nearby and drove away to our next destination (San Jose).

Be prepared to pay for everything. Internet access was $10. there is a charge if you want to print something. Didnt touch the minibar. However, they have automated machines to print out airline boarding passes (Free). Checkout can be done through these machines as well.

In summary, the Grand Hyatt is a good hotel with a great location.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank sb_tor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2007

Our stay at the Hyatt got off on the wrong foot when check-in told us that they could not put a roll away bed in our room even though this was part of the reservation. The excuse was that this was the national web site and it did not know that the rooms in the SF Hyatt are small and there is not space for a roll away bed. Pretty lame for an organization as sophisticated as the Hyatt, and really amounts to bait and switch. They did offer us a second room at a discount but this was more than the original reservation plus the surcharge for a roll away. The nickel and diming continued. Parking was $55 plus tax and tip. The internet connection was $9.95 per computer. My wife and I both travel with our own laptops. Although we decided to share one connection, it meant that one of us did not have our files and environment when answering email. There is also a surcharge for the exercise room.

Our room was on the 32nd floor overlooking Union Square. The night we stayed, a construction crew was installing an awning for an exhibit, and we heard beams clanking and truck backup warnings all night.

Hotel also needs a renovation. The bathroom "featured" a 5" CRT television which when it was installed must have been the height of tech, but now looks more like a museum piece.

On the positive side, the location is great and the 32nd floor Regency Club offered a good continental breakfast and the staff was cheerful and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2007

For first time visitors this was a perfect location, walking distance from many attractions and close to public transport links, including cable cars if you don't mind the long queue.
The hotel was good but not outstanding. If you can get a high floor with an unobstructed view it makes a big difference. Excellent concierge service which directed us to some good restaurants, but one of the duty managers on reception clearly thought dealing with the customers was beneath his dignity.
The in-house restaurant and adjoining bar have wonderful views, but the restaurant is too small when everyone wants breakfast, and in the evening the quality is below expectations at the price being charged. OK for arrival day when you don't want to go out again, but you can do so much better within comfortable walking distance.
If you fly into SF don't bother with a car. Others have mentioned the cost of parking, and you simply don't need a car here. We rented one the day we left for Santa Barbara, and several rental agencies are in a street about five minutes walk from the hotel.

Stayed: August 2007
6  Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews