We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Ranked #38 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 3, 2007

Stayed here for 2 days. The location is great, just off union square. We booked through priceline, was not expecting much. However, the check-in person was quick, efficient and smiling, and gave us high floor with a view of union square. The room itself was fine without being "grand". On another occasion, the reception was also able to change Canadian Dollars to US Dollars quickly, although they warned me that their rate is higher. Not a problem because I wanted only some change.

Armed with reviews of this hotel, we made the right decision not to have a car during the stay. It is not needed. Took the BART train from the airport to the hotel. The MUNI Pass is a great way to see the city. While leaving, we walked to a car rental nearby and drove away to our next destination (San Jose).

Be prepared to pay for everything. Internet access was $10. there is a charge if you want to print something. Didnt touch the minibar. However, they have automated machines to print out airline boarding passes (Free). Checkout can be done through these machines as well.

In summary, the Grand Hyatt is a good hotel with a great location.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank sb_tor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,826)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,972 - 3,978 of 4,826 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2007

Our stay at the Hyatt got off on the wrong foot when check-in told us that they could not put a roll away bed in our room even though this was part of the reservation. The excuse was that this was the national web site and it did not know that the rooms in the SF Hyatt are small and there is not space for a roll away bed. Pretty lame for an organization as sophisticated as the Hyatt, and really amounts to bait and switch. They did offer us a second room at a discount but this was more than the original reservation plus the surcharge for a roll away. The nickel and diming continued. Parking was $55 plus tax and tip. The internet connection was $9.95 per computer. My wife and I both travel with our own laptops. Although we decided to share one connection, it meant that one of us did not have our files and environment when answering email. There is also a surcharge for the exercise room.

Our room was on the 32nd floor overlooking Union Square. The night we stayed, a construction crew was installing an awning for an exhibit, and we heard beams clanking and truck backup warnings all night.

Hotel also needs a renovation. The bathroom "featured" a 5" CRT television which when it was installed must have been the height of tech, but now looks more like a museum piece.

On the positive side, the location is great and the 32nd floor Regency Club offered a good continental breakfast and the staff was cheerful and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank a2djs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2007

For first time visitors this was a perfect location, walking distance from many attractions and close to public transport links, including cable cars if you don't mind the long queue.
The hotel was good but not outstanding. If you can get a high floor with an unobstructed view it makes a big difference. Excellent concierge service which directed us to some good restaurants, but one of the duty managers on reception clearly thought dealing with the customers was beneath his dignity.
The in-house restaurant and adjoining bar have wonderful views, but the restaurant is too small when everyone wants breakfast, and in the evening the quality is below expectations at the price being charged. OK for arrival day when you don't want to go out again, but you can do so much better within comfortable walking distance.
If you fly into SF don't bother with a car. Others have mentioned the cost of parking, and you simply don't need a car here. We rented one the day we left for Santa Barbara, and several rental agencies are in a street about five minutes walk from the hotel.

Stayed: August 2007
6  Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2007

The Grand Hyatt is what you think a big chain hotel in a big city will be; filled with business and tourist folks alike. This is no surprise either, the hotel's location is downtown,close to the financial hub for the suits, and for the fanny pack crowd, only blocks away from great shopping on Market or the odd smells of Chinatown.

As with a majority of our personal travels, my wife and I secured a great rate using Priceline. Gotta love that William Shatner!!

Our room was larger than what I expected of a major downtown hotel and it was clean. The bed wasn't "heavenly" or cloud-like, but I slept well and that's all I really need. The one mildly disturbing room feature were the paper thin walls. If you're a light sleeper, bringing ear plugs will remedy the situation.

We didn't have car, so I can't tell you about parking. If you can avoid having to rent a car (i.e. you're staying in the city), do so. Parking in SF should be an Olympic sport; an EXPENSIVE Olympic sport performed only by those highly trained in the craft. Besides, SF is a great city to explore on foot and the Muni bus system and the BART (use it from SFO into the city) is one of the best public transportation systems in the country (relax, NYC yours is still the best). Oh yeah, and the California cable car line is about three blocks from the hotel. It will take you to within a block or two of the Ferry building and all it's restaurants and gourmet shops.

I'd stay at this hotel again without question.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CSwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2007

I had a great stay recently at the Grand Hyatt San Fran. The room was clean and spacious and the view was fantastic. The bed was comfortable and while the walls were a little thin - we slept well both nights of the stay. Highly recommend to travelers to the SF area.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank arb59181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2007

The room was very nice - though small. Bed was comfortable. We had a general view of the city from our room, not spectacular, but not looking a wall, either.

We had a AAA package that included breakfast. Breakfast was very good and their dining area on the 36th floor has wonderful views. We were on the Regency Club level and had access to the lounge. It was nice - again, great views. It was also nice to be able to go in there and get bottled water (no charge) during the day and evening.

It was not an "amazing" hotel experience, but it was nice and worked just fine for our vacation. It definitely was not a negative hotel experience. We wanted to stay in a good hotel in the downtown area at a "reasonable" price and I think we did that. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cambria2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2007

After recovering from knowing that valet parking will cost us $50 a day (you need valet if you want your car back to cruise around town, $30 across the street but no in/out priveleges), we were welcomed by a very friendly staff and helped by a friendly bell boy to our room. We have a room with 2 beds, very tight! The view overlooking Union Square was spectacular. I hate to admit, but after being in the room for an hour, I started to notice things that I would not expect for the price that we paid for. AC was not functioning properly. Chair upholstery very poor and bathroom tiles grungy (minor maintenance needed and probably affordable by a Hyatt), closet doors were pretty banged up, no microwaves, no refrigerators and the worst, couldn't get any sleep at night due to construction (jackhammering) until 11 at night. We wanted to check out the following day, only to find out that they will charge us for the day and $50 penalty charge for checking out early.

It's the Grand Hyatt! We've stayed at cheaper places and had better quality of rooms. Staff was excellent though, from the very second you get there.
Rooms were average. If it wasn't for the staff, I would give Grand Hyatt a lower rating.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank coolchik808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,715 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#47 of 230 in San Francisco
4,547 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
2,990 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-4694
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $208 - $754 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the newly renovated Grand Hyatt is steps away form World Premier Shopping, cable cars, Chinatown, the Convention Center. Guests at Grand Hyatt enjoy exquisite comfort & amenities including a complimentary Fitness Center, daily newspapers, free internet access at OneUP restaurant and lobby area and the ultimate sleep experience in a "Grand Bed". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing