We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Galleria Park - Clean Hotel, Excellent Service. Will go Back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Galleria Park Hotel
Ranked #35 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Hotel, not to mention the superb location (3 blocks away from Union Square and 2 Blocks from Chinatown in the heart of the City of San Francisco) has excellent service! The amentities are clean. Across the street from cafes and restaurants. Everything you need is here! Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan Gabriel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,046 - 1,052 of 2,212 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, nice lobby with roaring fire and room, although small, was cosy. However, not a place to stay for a good nights sleep, which I think is important! Noise from 3 sources: 1) fridge, intermittent vibration of whole cabinet, fortunately can manually be turned off; 2) constant loud hum of what sounded like a heating or aircon unit from outside, we could not turn this off! [we were on the 8th floor facing into quad (rm 824)]; 3) very thin walls, we could hear the next room's TV, their conversations and even a lady's quiet sneezing.

Staff very good and wine in early eve well received.

Location great for shops and Chinatown, but we found we were heading to Fisherman's Wharf mostly (Alcatraz, bike hire etc) so that would have probably been a better location.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank NicholasP1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I am really impressed by the excellent service of the galleria park hotel. The staff are very attentive and would make you feel comfortable and welcome to their hotel. Since my first stay there has been some changes in the hotel, the rooms have been wonderfully renovated. Although my room was facing the street I was able to sleep comfortably and noise was not an issue, probably because I was on the 6th floor. The keurig coffee maker was again a wonderful amenity in the room. The bathroom was also newly renovated and well assigned. Hecho was no longer open, but there are many wonderful places to have a meal nearby, just ask the concierge and he will be more than happy to help you out! Complimentaty wine hour and morning coffee are still good bonuses in this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are easily bothered by street noise, ask for a room facing the interior, if you want one that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rexoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have recently returned from a week's holiday at The Galleria - overall a very good hotel, excellently situated but a couple of problems that perhaps need addressing by the management.
On arrival, as at all times during our stay, the staff were very welcoming. We were allocated a clean, well decorated room on the sixth floor at the back (south side) of the hotel. It was a slightly tight fit for three adults plus luggage but was manageable after a slight rearrangement of the lighter items of furniture! The mattresses on the Queen beds could have done with being firmer - if sharing with a restless partner every wriggle was a shared wriggle and we suspect anyone suffering with back problems might have found the lack of support a real problem. However our most serious nightime concern was the noise. Despite us not overlooking the main streets ( we were on the southside overlooking an alley) we were awoken most nights by traffic noise, the sounds of garbage trucks and on occasions road repairs - the hotel might want to consider installing double glazing on it's next upgrade....in the meantime we'd advise taking ear plugs or getting a room overlooking the centre of the hotel
The free flow coffee from 5 AM was most welcome and we indulged in the free wine in the lobby on a couple of evenings. To burn off the calories we used the small exercise room - adequate for us but perhaps not up to the needs of a hardened gym goer.
For 2 nights in the middle of our stay we parked a hire car in the hotel car park (valet parking) - unfortunately at checkout we were subsequently over billed for it's use. It seemed once we had used the parking for one night it was assumed that we had used it for every subsequent night of our stay. Once the mistake was spotted the bill was promptly corrected with an apology from the staff.
Would we stay again? Yes, overall a good hotel in a superb location with excellent staff, however because of the the overnight noise levels we're unable to offer more than 3 out of 5.

Room Tip: Central rooms are probably quietest at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

15 mins leisurely stroll to union square.The noise level was unbearable on some nights; a view echoed by other guests. A really tiny fitness center. Wished it opened earlier; rushed through my workout so that I could get to work on time (opening hours 6am - 9pm). Efficient concierge.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank biscuitChomper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at the hotel last year prior to hotel renovations and enjoyed our stay. This year there were several upgrades to the hotel but the most notable was the renovations to the bathroom. The showers, sinks and floors were all renovated and everything looks great and works wonderfully. The complimentary coffee in the morning was nice way to kick start the day. The staff were helpful with local eateries and things to see that were out of the ordinary. Definitely gong to be back

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room so you can look out on Sutter as well as Kearny streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

I would give this hotel 3.5 stars if I had the option. Good, comfortable rooms and a lot more charm than other hotels in the area. However, I think others have overrated the place because they were under the influence from the free wine receptions in the evening. (The staff neglected to tell me about the receptions when I checked in.) The gym is virtually non-existent and the running track is better suited to host the bevy of smokers that tend to hang out around it. Still, I liked this hotel... just not as much as others.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank DrAndyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalleriaHotelGM, General Manager at Galleria Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear DrAndyman,

First off, I would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We believe that feedback is important for our business and I truly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback so that we can continuously improve on our product and service.

I am pleased to read that overall that you liked our hotel albeit we did not exceed your expectations.
I want to truly apologize that we failed to inform you about our wine hour and that you found our gym inadequate. While we make every attempt to ensure that all guests receive a unique experience, it is apparent that that did not occur in this case and for that I truly apologize.

I would love the opportunity to welcome you back to the Galleria Park and should you choose to give us another opportunity to change your perception.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel.

Sincerely,



James Lim
General Manager
jlim@jdvhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#31 of 230 in San Francisco
903 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#11 of 230 in San Francisco
403 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#52 of 230 in San Francisco
545 reviews
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#22 of 230 in San Francisco
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galleria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galleria Park Hotel

Address: 191 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94104-4595
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $177 - $539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Galleria Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of San Francisco, Galleria Park gives you easy access to everything the Bay Area has to offer to its visitors. The hotel is located with easy access to the Bay Area's central transit systems of BART, MUNI and the fabled cable cars. Within blocks are Union Square, Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, and several world-class museums. The hotel is just steps away from world-class shopping destinations in Union Square--an area that is definitely a tribute to the power of shopping. Saks Fifth Avenue, Neiman Marcus, Barneys New York, Gump's and a very substantial Macy's are right on the Union Square. The venerable Bullock and Jones and Tiffany and Co. are within walking distance, as is the nine-story Westfield San Francisco Shopping Centre with its three-level Nordstrom and Bloomingdale's. It is also a center for exclusive couture and high fashion, with boutiques dedicated to Betsey Johnson, Kate Spade, Herve Leger, Karen Miller, and Michael Kors. Post Street, which is a block away from Galleria Park is where the high-end stores are located including Ralph Lauren, Ferragamo, Juicy Couture, Tory Burch, Ferrari and Porsche clothing stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone and Cancelon so you can book your Galleria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleria Park, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Galleria Park San Francisco
Galleria Park Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing