We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Nice Amenities, Decent Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Galleria Park Hotel
Ranked #33 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Location, Nice Amenities, Decent Rooms”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Have stayed at this property a couple of times, the most recent in June 2013. The location is great, near Restaurants and shopping. Staff has been nothing but helpful, from the doorman to front desk and housekeeping they have been courteous and welcoming. Love the bath products provided and the coffee/tea setup in the morning. Rooms are mostly small with a tiny but well designed bathroom. I also like the fact that the stairways are open and easy to use, helps get a little extra exercise in :). There are many sizes and configurations of the rooms, so ask to see another if you find the first room not to your liking. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KP&TP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    991
    734
    199
    49
    21
See reviews for
333
741
136
466
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2013

As soon as I checked in they charged my credit card for my three night stay; however, they never mentioned that they also charged to my card a $100 per night security deposit fee (300 bucks).

Most hotels have your card on file and will charge you for any damages or incidental costs after you check out. This place makes that charge up front then reverses the charges after your stay.

This seems deceptive and a bit backwards, especially since they don't inform you and the information is hard to find on their site (it its there at all) and is not included in their confirmation emails.

This is especially a pain if you use a debit card because of the extra costs that comes out of your account all before your trip to an expensive city even begins. I think they can do better, or just operate like most fine hotels in the world who don't withhold this fee ("just in case you break anything" as someone at the front desk told me when I brought the issue up).

Room Tip: be aware of $100 per night security deposit
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, Director of Operations at Galleria Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Marcos P.,

Thank you for sharing your recent Galleria Park Hotel experience on TripAdvisor! I am sorry that we did not notice you that you provided a debit card upon your arrival and inform you of the nightly authorization. You are correct in the process of "holding" funds is different between debit and credit cards. Please know that this type of authorization is common and is noted on our email confirmations. Having said that we should have been better in notifying you when you checked in. I will be reminding my team of the importance communicating this policy to future guests. Again, thank you for taking the time to let us know where we can improve. It only makes us better!

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future. If I can be of any additional assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Best regards,

Kevin Scott
kscott@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great hotel, right in the heart of downtown San Francisco. Our family were there during the Fourth of July holiday and we had a blast! We were able to go around town without any hassle due to easy access to transportation. Our room is spacious, comfortable, with high quality bedding and bath supplies. The best part is the courteous and helpful staff who had smiles on their faces from the time we checked in up to the time we left the hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank migosgic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, Director of Operations at Galleria Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear migosgic,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience at Galleria Park Hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you rated us 5 stars but most of all that you mentioned our amazing team as the best part of your stay. This really means a lot and I cannot wait to share this with them.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. If I can be of additional assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Best regards,

Kevin Scott
kscott@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have travelled to many other US cities as a tourist family of reasonable expectations - without hesitation we highly recommend this hotel ; it is right downtown , within easy walk to the Embarcadero, Union Square, Chinatown , Market Street trams , numerous good restaurants and many bus routes that took us all over town.

For our family of 2 adults and a tween girl we had a room with two double beds - we were there for 7 nights; the beds were comfortable - bedding and bath towels of good quality - the furnishings were in good condition - bathroom clean (shower only) - the rooms are quiet but there is nightly garbage collection that can be noisy for rooms near the front of hotel .

Immediate upon arrival we asked staff remove the costly snacks and drinks - no problem at all and that was attended to right away - this freed up the small fridge for our own drinks and saved us a ton of money.

Good complimentary coffee available on the 2nd floor every morning --likewise good complimentary wine every evening between 5:30 - 6:30 (self serve) .

Presently , the restaurant / kitchen is closed for renos -- this is of little concern as there are a multitude of good eateries nearby .

And, look into the discount shoe shop in the same building - I bought a good pair of Rockports for $50 !! .

Don't waste time/money on rental cars if you are staying here --- with a bit of patience and planning the buses , trams and cable cars will take you to all the sights .

The staff here are very friendly and professional . We would happily return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the inner court yard -- no view but it should be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allez-y-donc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Very friendly staff, a few blocks from Chinatown/North Beach/etc, pet friendly & has a nice, clean 3rd floor outdoor terrace to walk them. This is DELUXE when you need to run them out at night. Rooms are well-done & nice. Rooms are no smaller & have no less street-noise than any other rooms in SF (without adding a few hundred more dollars a night to your bill). Glad to see their adjacent restaurant is changing hands and will no longer be a combination sushi & tequila bar (shudder).

Restaurant tip: you can take fido with you to dinner at nearby "Beldon place", a closed-off alley/courtyard with 5 or 6 restaurants...recommend "B44" which is a nice Barcelona tapas place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, Director of Operations at Galleria Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Troy N.,

Thank you so much for your recent 5 star review on TripAdvisor! We are so thrilled to hear that you and your little ones enjoyed our hotel, central location and our unique 3rd floor terrace. It is such a great amenity when traveling with furry friends!

We, too, are so excited that Gaspar will be taking over in the next couple of months. We look forward to the new French Brasserie concept which we believe aligns well with our hotel, design and guest demographic. Very exciting times ahead!

Again, thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and we cannot wait to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

Kevin Scott
kscott@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the galleria while traveling to San Francisco for the America's Cup. The hotel was perfectly located near buses and trams and surrounded by good restaurants.
Rooms are big enough and in perfect conditions and the staff is nice and helpful ! Do not miss the happy hour in the lobby for a nice glass of complementary Nappa valley wine !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duffy0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is not a review of the hotel itself, but of the customer service. On a trip to SF last month, we made a mistake in our hotel booking (not at the Galleria Park) and were forced to scramble for a room elsewhere. We thought all was well when we got a room at the Galleria Park through a third-party site. That turned out to be wrong, as we discovered when we tried to check in—the hotel was already fully booked. It would have been easy for the staff to simply turn us away. Instead, Kevin, the operations manager, and Wendy, at the reception desk, expended considerable time and effort on rechecking the reservation system for a potential opening and looking for alternatives elsewhere in the affiliated JDV properties, all while making us comfortable as we waited. We hope to finally try the hotel itself on a future visit to SF; we know the service will be exceptional.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDM_JTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalleriaHotelGM, General Manager at Galleria Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear DDM_JTL,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Galleria Park with regards to assisting you find alternative accommodations. It's unfortunate that we were not able to accommodate you, but I'm glad that both Kevin and Wendy were able to find you a room at one of our sister hotels.

I shared your review with both Kevin, Wendy and the rest of our staff. It means a lot to us when our guests post positive reviews online, especially when our guests remember the names of our staff members. Thank you, again.

Sincerely,

James Lim
jlim@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#18 of 228 in San Francisco
1,429 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#13 of 228 in San Francisco
2,748 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#22 of 228 in San Francisco
829 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#34 of 228 in San Francisco
2,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galleria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galleria Park Hotel

Property: Galleria Park Hotel
Address: 191 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94104-4595
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Galleria Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of San Francisco, Galleria Park gives you easy access to everything the Bay Area has to offer to its visitors. The hotel is located with easy access to the Bay Area's central transit systems of BART, MUNI and the fabled cable cars. Within blocks are Union Square, Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, and several world-class museums. The hotel is just steps away from world-class shopping destinations in Union Square--an area that is definitely a tribute to the power of shopping. Saks Fifth Avenue, Neiman Marcus, Barneys New York, Gump's and a very substantial Macy's are right on the Union Square. The venerable Bullock and Jones and Tiffany and Co. are within walking distance, as is the nine-story Westfield San Francisco Shopping Centre with its three-level Nordstrom and Bloomingdale's. It is also a center for exclusive couture and high fashion, with boutiques dedicated to Betsey Johnson, Kate Spade, Herve Leger, Karen Miller, and Michael Kors. Post Street, which is a block away from Galleria Park is where the high-end stores are located including Ralph Lauren, Ferragamo, Juicy Couture, Tory Burch, Ferrari and Porsche clothing stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galleria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleria Park, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Galleria Park San Francisco
Galleria Park Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing