We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location. Outstanding Staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Galleria Park Hotel
Ranked #35 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Galleria Park is an ideally located, warm and unpretentious hotel. Their staff might be most helpful and knowledgable in the Bay area. I have stayed in several three to five star SF hotels and this place has the most patient and service focussed staff of the lot.

You can easily walk to Union Square, SFMoMA, BART, the ferries, or even the Giants' baseball stadium from the Hotel.

The Galleria Park also offers a generous wine trolley in the early evening (with popcorn) around a fireplace in the lobby.

If it feels a little crowded, grab a glass and take it to your room.

There's also plenty of great restaurants and bars in the area.

I stayed in a King Suite and enjoyed having the extra room. Recommended.

There's parking next door and a valet service if you like. Other nice perks are in-room coffee maker and ice machines on every second floor. They have a small gym and a "walking track" which is a pleasant outdoor roof space.

All in all it was extremely comfortable and pleasant stay. I wouldn't hesitate to book it again next time.

Room Tip: I was fortunate to have a King Suite and it was fantastic to have the extra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esther1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,263 - 1,269 of 2,237 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We spent a night in this cozy hotel right in the heart of downtown SF. Anytime I can book a good hotel for under $200 in San Francisco I'm smiling.
The Galleria Park is an older hotel with old wood trim but well maintained and has excellent decor. The room we stayed in was small with a queen bed. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

I really liked the location. The hotel is only a 10-15 min walk to Union Square, Macy's, Neiman's, Nordies, and Bloomingdale. It's only a block away from my favorite restaurants in Belden Ally as well. The Mongomery BART station is a few blocks away making access very easy.

Valet parking with in 24 hour in and out priveledges is $38 . An oh yes, free Wi Fi!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charmking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Booked this hotel on our way back from Napa And Sonoma Valley Wine country. Was pleasantly surprised by the interior lobby and the overall pleasantness of the staff. They were very friendly and informative. Would definitely recommend this hotel, the room was clean and modern and about the size we expected to see in the of San Fran.

Great location and nice little surprise with the wine hour.

Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southpaw1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Not astounding in any way, but really nice in every way. Room isn’t huge, but wasn’t a tiny deal typical of “boutique” hotels. Plenty of outlets. Quiet. Decent art on the walls. Friendly staff. Nice moisturizer with all the usual bathroom stuff.

Network (both wifi and wired) a little finicky, but basically worked.

Tip: Don’t give them their email unless they promise to not spam you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeMorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was my first stay in a JDV hotel-although I've heard nothing but great things about them-I wanted to see for myself, and I was NOT disappointed! The staff was exceptionally friendly, efficient, and helpful-I rarely feel that the hotel industry can WOW me in their service, but THIS hotel certainly did! The room was small, but elegant-I did not feel cramped. I will absolutely stay here again, and recommend it to my friends and family!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrstna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, Director of Operations at Galleria Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Chrstna,
Thank you so much for your rave 5 star review on TripAdvisor! We couldn't be happier to hear that you chose the Galleria Park as your first JDV hotel experience. Secondly, we are thrilled to learn that we were able to WOW throughout your stay. We constantly strive to provide these moments to each and every one of our guests. Our team will be so excited to hear that they have succeeded.
We cannot wait to welcome you back and please let me know if I can be of any assistance upon your next visit.
Best regards,
Kevin Scott
kscott@jdvhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed for one night on our way to New Zealand. The staff was very accommodating as we had reservations at a sister property and they allowed us to change to the Galleria with no trouble. The staff was helpful in recommending a place to grab lunch and the location could not be better. We even enjoyed the lovely complimentary wine in the lobby before going to Belden Place for dinner which was adorable and we never would have known it was a block away if not for the hotel staff. I've been to San Francisco many times and this was a definite gem. Great location, easy access from airport, and friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunloveny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel about 8-10 times over the past 4 years. JDV properties are all nice, but many are a little out of my government per diem price range. but I can usually get a room here within my budget. 3 minute walk to BART, 5 pm wine social, nice rooms with top-notch amenities. And the personnel are always pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kurtzu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#36 of 230 in San Francisco
618 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,530 reviews
The Alise - A Staypineapple Hote...
#11 of 230 in San Francisco
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
913 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#53 of 230 in San Francisco
566 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hote...
#21 of 230 in San Francisco
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galleria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galleria Park Hotel

Address: 191 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94104-4595
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $212 - $748 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Galleria Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of San Francisco, Galleria Park gives you easy access to everything the Bay Area has to offer to its visitors. The hotel is located with easy access to the Bay Area's central transit systems of BART, MUNI and the fabled cable cars. Within blocks are Union Square, Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, and several world-class museums. The hotel is just steps away from world-class shopping destinations in Union Square--an area that is definitely a tribute to the power of shopping. Saks Fifth Avenue, Neiman Marcus, Barneys New York, Gump's and a very substantial Macy's are right on the Union Square. The venerable Bullock and Jones and Tiffany and Co. are within walking distance, as is the nine-story Westfield San Francisco Shopping Centre with its three-level Nordstrom and Bloomingdale's. It is also a center for exclusive couture and high fashion, with boutiques dedicated to Betsey Johnson, Kate Spade, Herve Leger, Karen Miller, and Michael Kors. Post Street, which is a block away from Galleria Park is where the high-end stores are located including Ralph Lauren, Ferragamo, Juicy Couture, Tory Burch, Ferrari and Porsche clothing stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Galleria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleria Park, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Galleria Park San Francisco
Galleria Park Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing