We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel to stay in..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Galleria Park Hotel
Ranked #33 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dearborn, Missouri
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice hotel to stay in..”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a lovely hotel. There are nice rooms, lovely decor and a beautiful rooftop garden with running track. So neat! Right in the financial district, there is plenty to do without a car. Not highly recommended if you have kids though,, the amenities are more for adults. .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSArchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    726
    195
    48
    21
See reviews for
328
729
135
459
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the Galleria Park in November. We took the BART from the airport and this hotel was only a short walk from the station. The staff was very friendly and check in was a breeze. The hotel and rooms were very clean. The rooms are a bit small, but that is normal in San Francisco. The free wine hour was a definite bonus. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessc2078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, Director of Operations at Galleria Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear jessc2078,
Thank you so much for the wonderful 5 star rating on TripAdvisor! We are so happy to read that you two had a great time with us and thank you for mentioning that our team was friendly and the hotel was very clean. We really pride ourselves on providing great service to each and every guest that walks through our doors.
We cannot wait to welcome you back!
Best regards,
Kevin Scott
kscott@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
132 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Hotel is located on the west end of Sutter Street, right in downtown San Francisco, with short walking distance to downtown financial and shopping areas. You don't need to worry about finding parking while you shop! Compared to other hotels in San Francisco, this hotel is well maintained and with sufficient space. Staff are very friendly and the price is affordable. If you are looking for a hotel right in downtown and in a convenient, safe neighborhood, I would totally recommend this one!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antony_Yiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The only "but"i have is about the wifi, that works poorly. The crew is very frendly and available and help me to give flowers to my wife in her birthday, when we stayed there. and there was a cake, that I didn't ask, as a courtesy. I relly appreciate the mood and the staying. is near everithing and you can walk everywhere you wnt to.

Room Tip: nevertheless there is no problems with street sounds, take a sout size apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zedneto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
179 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed 3 nights at the Galleria Park during a busy convention week in the city when this was the only downtown place I could get. The rates were sky high but I had little choice.

Anyway, the property on the surface seemed pleasant enough, rather European looking at the lobby level with a small seating area, a fireplace on to cut the chill and an evening wine reception ongoing. The reception staff were cheery and friendly. I was checked in quickly and proceeded to my room. That is when it began to hit that there is a well-worn feel in the hallways which was replicated inside the room. Multiple layers of paint,some over old wallpaper, show signs of peeling at the edges. The molding has scuff-marks of long ago that testify to the age of the property.

I had a room with two double beds and the room size was average. The windows looked across an alley to another building -- again, not unexpected in a city. The furniture in the room had seen much better days. The doors to the dresser, on which the large LCD TV sat, had lost their alignment and would no longer close. The finish on the dresser doors was cracked and worn. Rather than showing the patina of age that reflects good care taken by successive owners, the furniture just looked neglected.

The bathroom was about the size expected in a large city hotel. What was most interesting though was that the I had to walk right across the bathroom to the back wall before I could reach the light switch. The bathroom too showed its age and not too well. The floor looked grimy like I had once encountered at a Newark airport motel several decades ago. There was a pedestal sink and two titled shelves above the toilet -- I spent three days terrified that my stuff would slide off the shelves right into the toilet.

To top off the air of neglect and age, the bed linen was threadbare and I found a bath towel one day that clearly had what seemed to be a bloodstain. From then on I closely examined every towel before use.

The positives for the Galleria Park are its location, the friendly staff and quiet hallways (though street noise is still very obvious), the nice touch of the evening wine reception in the lobby, and access to the downtown area. The hotel does not have a restaurant of its own though it does sit right next door to a bustling cafe on one side and a sushi restaurant on the other. Wi-fi is free to guests but slow.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the atrium. You won't have a view but it will be a lot quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SelectTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, Director of Operations at Galleria Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear SelectTraveler,

Thank you so much for your recent review on TripAdvisor! We are so happy to hear that you found our team to be friendly and engaging as well as enjoyed our evening wine reception and convenient access to downtown San Francisco. We are very proud of team and the history of the hotel.
I would like to let you know that we are fully underway with an extensive bathroom renovation that will not only add a modern comfortable look but will also address the functionality of the bathrooms. We are on pace to finish the entire hotel by June.
Additionally, I would be greatly interested in finding out what room you stayed in so I can address the issues you mentioned with my Housekeeping and Engineering teams. Please feel free to email me at kscott@jdvhotels.com.

Thank you so much again for your time and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in one of our renovated rooms in the future.

Best regards,

Kevin Scott
kscott@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We were in San Francisco for three days of shopping and visiting museums, and the Galleria Park was perfect. The hotel is only a couple of blocks from Union Square. It's also an easy walk to the Ferry Building and the Jackson Square area, both of which have great places to eat. For breakfast, there's Bread & Cocoa on the corner; just down the street is a large La Boulange with the world's best french toast. The hotel staff were very welcoming, and we enjoyed the complimentary wine hour in the late afternoon. The Galleria Park is a friendly, relaxed place. We'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GVHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Hotel Galleria is centrally located, has beautiful decor and top notch service. My husband, myself and our two teenage boys spent a few days in this hotel and from the moment we arrived we were treated like VIP. We were even upgraded to a suite and had a bottle of wine delivered to our room. I highly recommend this hotel for your next trip to San Francisco.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, Director of Operations at Galleria Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Mjalz,

Thank you so much for the 5 star review! We are so happy to read that you and your family had such a great experience with us and that you enjoyed the upgrade and complimentary bottle of wine.
We cannot wait to welcome you back and wish you all the best in the New Year!

Best regards,
Kevin Scott
kscott@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#17 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,729 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#19 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galleria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galleria Park Hotel

Property: Galleria Park Hotel
Address: 191 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94104-4595
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Galleria Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of San Francisco, Galleria Park gives you easy access to everything the Bay Area has to offer to its visitors. The hotel is located with easy access to the Bay Area's central transit systems of BART, MUNI and the fabled cable cars. Within blocks are Union Square, Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, and several world-class museums. The hotel is just steps away from world-class shopping destinations in Union Square--an area that is definitely a tribute to the power of shopping. Saks Fifth Avenue, Neiman Marcus, Barneys New York, Gump's and a very substantial Macy's are right on the Union Square. The venerable Bullock and Jones and Tiffany and Co. are within walking distance, as is the nine-story Westfield San Francisco Shopping Centre with its three-level Nordstrom and Bloomingdale's. It is also a center for exclusive couture and high fashion, with boutiques dedicated to Betsey Johnson, Kate Spade, Herve Leger, Karen Miller, and Michael Kors. Post Street, which is a block away from Galleria Park is where the high-end stores are located including Ralph Lauren, Ferragamo, Juicy Couture, Tory Burch, Ferrari and Porsche clothing stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galleria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleria Park, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Galleria Park San Francisco
Galleria Park Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing