We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in a great location, with very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Galleria Park Hotel
Ranked #33 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
East Horsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in a great location, with very friendly staff”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We chose this hotel for our 5 night break in SF because of the great reviews on Trip Advisor, and the location close to Union Square. It's a great little hotel, and the staff were brilliant, always helpful, and regularly asking how our stay was. The evening wine hour was great, but we were only there 3 times out of the 5 days, as we were out from early morning until late evening exploring the wonderful city! The Happy Hour is very popular, and the wine was very drinkable, but there is a shortage of seats in the lobby. A lot of people (including us one evening) took their glasses back to the their rooms as there was no room left.

It's a very popular boutique hotel and rightly so, but the downside is, as some of the recent contributors have said, that the rooms are very small. I had deliberately booked an Exec King to get a decent room, and we were rather disappointed at the size of the room (504) we were given. Barely more space than the bed itself (although the bed was a proper kingsize) - the good news was that the receptionist rang up and asked what we thought of the room before we'd even got round to thinking about what to do (maybe ours was a common reaction?) and offered to change us to a larger one - albeit on the front not the back. 510 was a lot bigger, but only a shower with no bath, and a tiny cupboard for hanging clothes, and surprisingly only 3 small drawers to unpack 2 suitcases into! We went back and asked for one with more storage. Nothing, even the suites, has more. It's an old building with real character, but be warned, don't pack a lot of clothes, or plan to live out of your suitcase. After a little negotiation, we were upgraded for a nominal fee to a suite, and that gave us the room we needed. And it was a very nice suite.

The staff could not have been more helpful, the location was great, and the beds are very comfy - but as they are very soft, every movement is felt by your partner. Despite being at the front on the corner of Sutter and Kearny Streets, our suite (819, top floor) was not noisy as the double glazing is good - although you would not have wanted to try to sleep with the air con on, as that was noisy...

Was it a good choice, yes, and I would go back next time we visit SF.

It's close enough to the BART station at Montgomery to walk (5 mins pulling a suitcase), so getting there and back is really easy. You don't need a taxi or a car at all. The Cable Cars are just a block or two away, and the Market Street heritage streetcars are right around the corner. We recommend getting a 7 day MUNI pass card - unlimited travel on cable cars, streetcars, buses, underground (but not BART), and we saved loads of money. Some great restaurants nearby - go to Belden Place or up to Chinatown, not Union Square direction, although for a first night eating at the bar at E&O Asian Kitchen on Sutter Street we got lots of tips of where to go from the barmen.

Room Tip: Higher up, even the rooms on the main streets aren't noisy. Suite 819 was very good. It's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    989
    734
    198
    49
    21
See reviews for
333
741
136
463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We found the hotel staff to be very helpful and courteous at check in and check out in addition to some useful suggestions with regard to logistics to get around the city. We would definitely stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The positives are: well meaning staff, a lovely lobby, and free drinks hour before dinner!
The negatives are: very small rooms, out of date bathrooms, and limited amenities.

I understand that the hotel is old (hence the small rooms) and is undergoing from renovations very soon. No doubt they will significantly increase the ambience.

Good for work travel because you are right in the middle of the Financial district.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street can get street noise but my top choice. Rooms facing internally have limit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clearyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalleriaHotelGM, General Manager at Galleria Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to inform you that we commenced our multi-million dollar renovation this week that includes a complete bathroom facelift. In addition, we are also upgrading our Internet system with a robust bandwidth for our guests.

We hope that we see you again soon.

Sincerely,

James Lim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada, USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel is very clean, the location is outstanding, the service is good. The rooms are small ( no surprise for San Fran). What surprised me was the "double bed" was just a little larger than a twin size bed and two tiny persons barely fit. I usually don't notice the mattresses, however this one was the softest I've ever seen, so any little movement felt like an earthquake :) Nice hotel but overall it wasn't worth what I payed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rabadac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great hotel, courteous staff clean room. The locations was superb. We were close to union square and great restaurants. The rooms are a bit small though. Overall it was good and definetely a 3.5 star.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nancy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent service and great hotel! This boutique hotel is in a perfect location to walk to Union Square, Market Street and some great resturants Ask Richard at the front desk to reccommend the best place to get wonderful desserts after eating at Hecho!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had business in the Financial District and thought I'd try this hotel based on its location. It was nice. The rooms are very nicely decorated, with slightly eclectic furnishings and original artwork on the walls. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. They have a nice lobby and afternoon wine hour. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdanskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#18 of 228 in San Francisco
1,427 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 228 in San Francisco
2,746 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#22 of 228 in San Francisco
829 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 228 in San Francisco
2,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galleria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galleria Park Hotel

Property: Galleria Park Hotel
Address: 191 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94104-4595
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Galleria Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of San Francisco, Galleria Park gives you easy access to everything the Bay Area has to offer to its visitors. The hotel is located with easy access to the Bay Area's central transit systems of BART, MUNI and the fabled cable cars. Within blocks are Union Square, Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, and several world-class museums. The hotel is just steps away from world-class shopping destinations in Union Square--an area that is definitely a tribute to the power of shopping. Saks Fifth Avenue, Neiman Marcus, Barneys New York, Gump's and a very substantial Macy's are right on the Union Square. The venerable Bullock and Jones and Tiffany and Co. are within walking distance, as is the nine-story Westfield San Francisco Shopping Centre with its three-level Nordstrom and Bloomingdale's. It is also a center for exclusive couture and high fashion, with boutiques dedicated to Betsey Johnson, Kate Spade, Herve Leger, Karen Miller, and Michael Kors. Post Street, which is a block away from Galleria Park is where the high-end stores are located including Ralph Lauren, Ferragamo, Juicy Couture, Tory Burch, Ferrari and Porsche clothing stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galleria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleria Park, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Galleria Park San Francisco
Galleria Park Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing