We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Friendly Staff and Safe Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Galleria Park Hotel
Ranked #33 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel, Friendly Staff and Safe Location”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent service and great hotel! This boutique hotel is in a perfect location to walk to Union Square, Market Street and some great resturants Ask Richard at the front desk to reccommend the best place to get wonderful desserts after eating at Hecho!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    989
    734
    198
    49
    21
See reviews for
333
741
136
463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had business in the Financial District and thought I'd try this hotel based on its location. It was nice. The rooms are very nicely decorated, with slightly eclectic furnishings and original artwork on the walls. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. They have a nice lobby and afternoon wine hour. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdanskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had a room on a high floor facing Kearny st. Street noise was not a problem. Our room was tiny but the high ceilings made it feel less claustrophobic. The room was clean and decorated in a dramatic modern style. Bathroom was very tiny and unfortunately did not have space to store any toiletries. We enjoyed the complimentary wine hour by the fireplace. We were made to feel very welcome by the staff. Great location, close to China Town, easy walk able distance to Union Square.
Would stay again if the price was right!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tpolisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed for a week in October 2012 for work. I usually stay at the Vitale but prices were crazy this particular week so I found the Galleria Park, which is I believe to be a nicer hotel hotel under the same company. Like someone said, it is a nice hotel with some historic charm. The room I stayed in was very small, but did not lack in any of the basic necessities and it was clean. The bathroom is where you can notice the place is a bit old but it was not dirty or anything. Free coffee/tea in the am and free wine from 530 to 630 which is pretty cool. The location is great, lots of great places to eat and drink within walking distance. The staff is very friendly too. There is a nice little walking courtyard that has some charm. It is for walking, it would probably take 20 laps to do a mile so don't plan on using it for jogging. The fitness room has a couple machines and some weights, the bare minimum. I have a 24 Fitness pass which is on the same block so I didn't need the gym at the hotel, but keep it in mind, very small. The free wi-if was pretty slow.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalleriaHotelGM, General Manager at Galleria Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your constructive feedback of our hotel. We appreciate your comments and thorough review. I am very sorry to hear that you had challenges with our WiFi and that it did not meet your expectations. We are constantly looking for ways to improve upon our guests' experience and welcome any suggestions. Coincidentally, we are upgrading our WiFi system in December and we will be providing higher and more reliable bandwidth for our guests. We provide complimentary coffee pods for our Keurig coffee makers. I'm sorry to hear that you did not receive the extra pods upon request..

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed here for a business trip and while the location is terrific, the service and amenities were a disappointment. This is an older hotel that has been decorated in a sort of "shabby chic" style that I found quite appealing. My room was rather small and the bathroom was tiny (no space to store your toiletries), but since it was obviously a sort of historic hotel, this wasn't a big problem. The bed was super comfortable and the linens and towels were nice and soft.

My problem with the hotel is the lack of reliable Internet service. I'm self-employed and have to stay connected when out of town. The free Internet is so slow that you can barely check your email. Be prepared to pay extra for a higher-speed option or use your own wireless card if you wish to stay connected.

My second concern was the in-room coffee service. My room was equipped with a Keurig single cup brewer, but I like to have several cups of coffee each morning before leaving my room. I asked for extra coffee at the front desk and they appeared reluctant to provide it by first asking, "did you drink it all already?" When I explained why I wanted more, the desk clerk said she'd have to ask someone else to bring it. She offered to have it delivered to the room, but I had brought my mom on the trip and didn't want to wake her up. I waited quite a while for the coffee, but it never arrived. I went ahead and bought Keurig packs at a nearby Starbucks and used those for the remainder of my stay.

I would recommend this hotel for a "girls' weekend" of shopping and eating out. It was perfectly situated near lots of wonderful stores and restaurants. It's not fancy, but it's clean and felt safe and secure. I would not recommend it for business travelers or people who are looking for somewhere glamorous or romantic to celebrate a special occasion.

Interestingly, this is not an inexpensive place to stay. I stayed at the Westin in June and it was quite a bit less than the Galleria Park.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbr0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalleriaHotelGM, General Manager at Galleria Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your constructive feedback of our hotel. We appreciate your comments and thorough review. I am very sorry to hear that you had challenges with our WiFi and that it did not meet your expectations. We are constantly looking for ways to improve upon our guests' experience and welcome any suggestions. Coincidentally, we are upgrading our WiFi system in December and we will be providing higher and more reliable bandwidth for our guests. We provide complimentary coffee pods for our Keurig coffee makers. I'm sorry to hear that you did not receive the extra pods upon request..

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Galleria Park has a great location and the service was terrific. I was in town for a combination of business and personal reasons so the location was great for me near the Financial District and other downtown things to do.

The hotel was very helpful with directions and transporation to the de Young and Legion of Honor Museums. In general I found the staff to be helpful and courteous.

I was even able to walk to the trendy SOMA area for dinner with friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuaneAndJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalleriaHotelGM, General Manager at Galleria Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your 5-Star review! It was wonderful to hear that you found our that our location was very convenient for and that our staff was helpful and were able to assist you with your needs. Your business is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I and son stayed in mid-October and thought this was an excellent value for the money in piricey San Fran. It's three short blocks from Union Square and easy to access Powell or Market streets, cable and street car lines, Embarcadero, Chinatown, etc. Staff was truly friendly, there was no long line at check in and i appreciated the front desk phoning after we were settled in to ask if all was OK in the room. They have a nice wine hour every night in the lobby, which was a convenient time prior to going out and after a day of shopping or touring. Internet access was included in the room - another bonus you don't often get at the larger chains, I would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room if possible - they are quieter than if facing Sutter Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david1ghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#18 of 228 in San Francisco
1,427 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 228 in San Francisco
2,746 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#22 of 228 in San Francisco
829 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 228 in San Francisco
2,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galleria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galleria Park Hotel

Property: Galleria Park Hotel
Address: 191 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94104-4595
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Galleria Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of San Francisco, Galleria Park gives you easy access to everything the Bay Area has to offer to its visitors. The hotel is located with easy access to the Bay Area's central transit systems of BART, MUNI and the fabled cable cars. Within blocks are Union Square, Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, and several world-class museums. The hotel is just steps away from world-class shopping destinations in Union Square--an area that is definitely a tribute to the power of shopping. Saks Fifth Avenue, Neiman Marcus, Barneys New York, Gump's and a very substantial Macy's are right on the Union Square. The venerable Bullock and Jones and Tiffany and Co. are within walking distance, as is the nine-story Westfield San Francisco Shopping Centre with its three-level Nordstrom and Bloomingdale's. It is also a center for exclusive couture and high fashion, with boutiques dedicated to Betsey Johnson, Kate Spade, Herve Leger, Karen Miller, and Michael Kors. Post Street, which is a block away from Galleria Park is where the high-end stores are located including Ralph Lauren, Ferragamo, Juicy Couture, Tory Burch, Ferrari and Porsche clothing stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galleria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleria Park, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Galleria Park San Francisco
Galleria Park Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing