We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Drisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Drisco
Ranked #1 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Bar None, the best place we have ever stayed in San Francisco in the last 10 trips. We had a fabulous corner suite. This is the second time we have stayed at the hotel. There was never an issue wih service or cleanliness. The location is in a quiet area, yet it is close to the ocean. You can see the ocean from the hotel. Fabulous breakfasts and cocktail hours!. I asked my husband where he would like to stay next time we come to San Francisco - and he said- I am coming right back to the Drisco!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dilene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,140
    162
    35
    15
    12
See reviews for
250
718
56
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

I travel to San Francisco at least ten times per year for business. I've stayed at most of the great SF hotels (and many of the not-so-great ones!). But I keep coming back to The Drisco. It is charming without being precious, elegant without being pretentious, quiet without being moribund, solicitous without being unctuous... in short, an old-world style hotel which has somehow managed to keep up with an overall modern world (although a few more sockets for charging the inevitable electronic device mess would be great). No, they don't have all the amenities that a typical modern hotel might have. And no, there is not a hot-spot bar on the ground floor. And the floors creak a bit. And the elevator is small. And the temperature in the room is occasionally a bit difficult to control. But the wood is lovingly polished. The front stairs are swept hourly by the incredibly polite doorman, Than. The front desk staff is mind-bendingly pleasant. The breakfast is delicious and simple, served in a room that one could imagine would be frequented by the British aristocracy, looking for a quiet place to nosh. In short, the overall experience is so damn satisfying that the hotel's few quirks (and don't get me wrong - there are some!) , far from being inconveniences, are actually additive to the experience. If you are looking for a modern business hotel, don't bother. But if you are looking for a place you can return to again and again, and never tire of the welcome you will receive, The Drisco is the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OneTrueMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

The Drisco always draws us back; warm and full of light and perfect in scale and comfort! I feel like I am walking into the foyer of my own home. Fresh basket of apples and mints in the front hall, always fresh coffee & tea & orange water in the 'living room', amazing happy hour w/wine,cheese, olives, & nuts. Friendly, intelligent, conversational service. Need silver polish for a necklace? Find the kitchen, find the polish! Towels are fluffy, bath products good quality, windows OPEN, rooms comfortable and quiet. Not an early morning person? Wear your sweats down to breakfast or have it delivered to your room. What is your breakfast preference? Hotel Drisco serves it. I LOVE this hotel. I could live there. Like Eloise at the Plaza.....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marciajw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

Away from the hustle & bustle of the Financial District & SoMa areas, the Hotel Drisco in Pacific Heights offers a quiet oasis when traveling away from home. The friendly staff is very helpful and responsive, and the amenities make travel a pleasure once again, instead of a dreaded duty! Quiet, clean & tidy, with coffee available around the clock, a hearty breakfast and sumptuous wine & cheese reception each evening - all included - the Hotel Drisco has earned our repeat business like no other West Coast property.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mgwitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

Stayed here for first trip to the City. Location is quiet, but easy to access all of the City, not just the tourist areas. Hotel is extremely comfortable and feels like a home. Stayed in Pacific suite which had all the amenties and lots of space. The key to this hotel is the staff, they are excellent. They have fantastic local knowledge which they share in a very friendly manner. This ranges from places to visit, where to eat (where the locals go) and always a friendly smile and hello. This hotel made our trip as much as the walk across the Golden Gate Bridge. We saw all of the City, but would return just to enjoy this hotel and the people who work here.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuckerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, CA.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

I've stayed in many San Francisco Hotels but never again! The Hotel Drisco is my new home in the city. The neighborhood is lovely and quiet, the staff is courteous and helpful, the rooms are comfortable and immaculate, the complimentary breakfast delicious. Real fresh orange juice! Although this hotel isn't downtown there are many restaurants and shops within walking distance. And isn't walking part of the San Francisco experience after all!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

While in san Francisco we stayed at this boutique hotel for 2 nights at the beginning of our trip and one night at the end of our trip as we visit Sonoma and Napa in between. This is a great find that was recommended by other Trip Advisor guests. It is in a residential neighbourhood so you will have to drive or cab to most restaurants. We enjoyed this fact as we were able to appreciate the hustle and bustle of the city and then go back to our quiet hotel. Ours rooms (201 and 209) faced the interior so we did not have a view but the rooms are beautifully appointed with nice bathrooms. The breakfast that is included was really good with a lot of selection. The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. If we were to stay again I would request a room with a better view, but besides that, the price was much better than downtown locations. The front desk referred us to a bicycle rental location that was substantially cheaper than renting bikes on the Pier. Taking your bikes over Golden Gat bridge and then lunch is Sausalito was one of highlights of our trip. You will not be disappointed in this hotel if you are OK staying outside of city center.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandmviajeros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,254 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Nob Hill
The Fairmont San Francisco
The Fairmont San Francisco
#16 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#5 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,105 reviews
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#8 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Property: Hotel Drisco
Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Drisco 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. Our warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Our complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing