We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“PERFECT!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Drisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Drisco
Ranked #1 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“PERFECT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2010

The hotel, staff and location are exceptional. Bob (front desk) really went above and beyond to assist us. We had a lovely King Deluxe room with a view of the city. The breakfast selections are plentiful, and there were cookies in our room each evening upon our return to the hotel. What a treat! Great selection of bath products, too, Street parking is free and the time limit is not enforced on the weekends! Beautiful and quiet upscale neighborhhod. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in SF. Thank you Hotel Drisco for a most wonderful experience!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissOrangeChip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,190
    167
    35
    16
    12
See reviews for
267
748
56
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2010

My last stay at the Drisco was with a friend/colleague. I always stay at the Drisco when I visit SF with my husband ..so I decided that this trip should not be different. Everything was perfect...we arrived late and were greeted with an upgrade to a suite..I raved about the Drisco to my friend..and here it was..proof of what a perfect place it is, no disappointments . Marty and Elizabeth were wonderful..as always..The suite was gorgeous, the breakfast perfect..location cannot be beat...away from the tourists and the downtown noise.. The Drisco is located in one the most beautiful neighborhoods of SF. I have never had a bad stay at the Drisco..I'll be back in a few weeks with my husband..cannot wait.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2010

We recently stayed here one night only, wish it could have been for more nights. Enjoyed all aspects of the stay. Room was c lean and fine, even though it was inward facing. Service is the best, wine-tasting and ample free breakfast are more positives. Front desk most helpful. Will definitely stay again, maybe spend a little extra for city view. Location away from center-city was no problem because we had a rental car.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank watertech1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2010

We loved our stay at the Hotel Drisco so much we could have stayed forever. The small boutique hotel really felt like a home from home with the very friendly and helpful staff. We stayed for 5 nights as part of our honeymoon and they went out of their way to make the stay extra special. They upgraded us before we arrived to a suite which had amazing views over the city. The concierge were so helpful and recommended fantastic restaurants, as well as great places to visit.

The hotel is beautifully decorated and everything I imagined a typically San Francisco property would be. Although it is very much in keeping with the period in which it was built, you still have all of the modern amenities you could want. The breakfast was fantastic with plenty of choice, and the complimentary aperitifs each day was the perfect start to the evening.

Although this hotel is out of the way from the main tourist locations, it really didn't matter as it was so easy to get everywhere. Hopefully we will return to San Francisco one day and this is the only place that we will be staying!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2010

We couldn't decide where we wanted to stay, in San Francisco or in the Wine Country, so we booked several hotels and waited until 24-hour cancellation deadlines to make a final choice. We were offered an upgrade to a City-view suite that was such a good deal we couldn't refuse and ended up staying an extra night. Service and amenities were much better than what we are accustomed to. The neighborhood was quiet and our view of downtown San Francisco was beautiful. We were concerned about parking our rental car since they do not have a garage but ended up finding a spot right in front of the hotel on the street. Staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llennef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2010

Hotel Drisco is an amazing hotel small hotel with a touch of European flare in the center of one of the nicer neighborhoods in San Francisco. The staff and service are amazing. The tea and coffee available 24 hrs a day in the common area is great and the afternoon wine and cheese tasting can't be beat. It is also a very small hotel and in a matter of a few days we got to know the hotel manager and various guests well, all very polite. While I wouldn't recommend it for most, my wife and I enjoy walking and we were able to see almost every major attraction in San Francisco and experience a lot of fine dining without ever having to take a taxi.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabeha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2010

We found this hotel on Tripadvisor and we have to thank our fellow travelers. It's a gem! The staff treats guests like family. They are enthusiastic, knowledgeable about local restaurants and extremely helpful.
The continental breakfast is a true gourmet spread in a charming room. Free internet access is a plus.
There are NO negatives. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donnadalewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,567 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#7 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#17 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,625 reviews
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#9 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Property: Hotel Drisco
Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115-1011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Drisco 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. Our warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Our complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing