We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as it gets in SF.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Drisco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Drisco
Ranked #1 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“As good as it gets in SF.”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Perfectly appointed, spotless, quiet and timeless. Staff was attentive and warm without crossing over to disingenuous or forced. Pacific Heights, for me, is perfectly situated but could possibly be a little too quiet for some.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review! We like to think of ourselves as a quiet urban retreat. And I completely agree with you: our location in a wonderful upscale residential neighborhood is absolutely perfect for some, and a little too quiet for others. If you and your friends are interested in partying like it's 1999, I have a few alternative hotel recommendations for you!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,206
    169
    35
    16
    12
See reviews for
271
761
56
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aschau Im Chiemgau, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Usually I hate cities ... San Francisco is the only exception. Usually I hate hotels in the city ... Hotel Drisco is the only exception. This place is just wonderful - and that's why I try to write in English that everybody gets the chance to know. Though its look and feel is Victorian all amenties are very modern. But best is their extremely friendly personnel, one really sees that these people love their job and "their" hotel and they are proud of working there. Everything is of highest quality. Also very very enjoyable is that they think of everything a traveller might need, starting with free bottled water, reaching to the package of amenities you need when getting on a plane. Soap and bath stuff is of higest quality as is the food for the room service - that surprisingly is payable. And what just terrific is their location, in walking distance to all the places we liked but away from downtown. Absolutely nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hanauma-bay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

I appreciate so very much that you took the time to post your review in English so that English speakers would have the benefit of your thoughts and experiences here! And you've hit on a great point -- we all do love our jobs here. It is a pleasure to work with such great colleagues and take care of such wonderful guests.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Hotel Drisco in Pacific Heights - an upscale residential area of San Francisco - is a delightful, charming and elegant hotel. The staff could not be more accommodating . Parking is on the street , free and very available and if you like, the staff will take your keys and park for you. There is an ample diverse complimentary breakfast every morning and a very nice wine, cheese , olive oil et al reception every evening with 4 very hie wines. Coffee and tea are always in the living room. Turn down includes 2 amazing dark chocolate covered short bread cookies. There is a nespresso with coffee selections in each room. No detail is overlooked. Not a very ultra modern, overly fussy
place, jut perfectly comfortable and guest oriented.

Room Tip: City view is nice - especially at night - slight view of the bay too. Suites are great as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronnieK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for noticing the many details we provide -- we try very hard not to overlook anything! I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This hotel had an excellent staff & a great location in a quiet neighborhood. Shopping & resturants right around the corner! Charming rooms with excellent views and all you need supplied (bonus points for including a fan!). Great wine evening and good breakfast too. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hockeymom472014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Title says it all. I have stayed at this 30 room boutique in Pacific Heights more than a dozen times over the last 5 years. They have almost zero staff turnover - desk staff is super accommodating - and 70% of their guests are repeat. No hotel feels more like home - my wife would be happy to move in! And they have great breakfasts and wine and cheese hours.

Room Tip: Ask for City View on one of top 2 floors. Suites are even better but, of course, more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UESfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Oh my, talk about setting the bar really high! We stand ready to welcome you as permanent guests if you wish!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

One needs to understand the Hotel Drisco proposition. This is an older building on a street corner, on the top of a hill in an up market area.

We extended our planned three night stay to enjoy the following:

* a calm and peaceful atmosphere in a mid size boutique hotel
* a pervasive staff culture of engagement, utter helpfulness and cheerful friendliness that runs through all staff categories
* very comfortable rooms and bathrooms
* free street parking - we have seen other reviewers concerned about this - basically parking was very easy to find, with no restrictions on the weekend - for weekdays your car needs to be moved every so often to comply with restrictions - this was a doddle... hand over your keys at the front desk and they will make sure you are legal
* great value for money - $325 per night doesn't seem so much when you don't have to pay $50 a day for parking, when an excellent breakfast is included along with an even more superb complementary 5pm wine and cheese (etc.) reception
* great location close to Filmore St shopping etc - also pleasant for not being inundated by street people as so much of SF appears to be

A hotel that we utterly recommend and that we will be delighted to return to when we next visit California

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank M&G_OnTheRoadAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

I couldn't have said it better myself. Thanks so much for your wonderful review.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We celebrated a birthday and Valentine's Day at the Drisco. The elegance, location and superior staff made our trip to California among the best stateside vacations we've had. Opt for a 2 room suite if possible...especially if you are celebrating an occasion. Concierge Bob arranged most of our trip via email and phone well before our arrival. He and Marti were wonderfully helpful during our stay. Staff is well trained and professional. Delicious breakfasts and afternoon wine receptions add much to your stay. Order the Birthday Cake/champagne package...or the Romance package...or both. Request city guide, Gary, for a wonderful personalized tour of San Francisco.

Room Tip: Get a 2 room suite if possible. Ours had a city view, was very quiet, and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

I'm pleased to hear that we were the perfect choice for you! I will be sure to pass along your kind comments to Bob and Marti.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4,903 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
1,570 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 227 in San Francisco
2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Property: Hotel Drisco
Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115-1011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Drisco 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note that we are currently closed for renovations until July 1, 2017! The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. Our warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Our complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing