We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfectly polished gem”
Review of Hotel Drisco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Drisco
Ranked #1 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kernville, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfectly polished gem”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We've been staying at the Drisco for nearly a decade. It is our home away from home when we're in San Francisco and we love the attentive, friendly service.

This past year, the experience has become even better with new amenities like 24 hour room service, new furnishings and up to the minute improvements. The Dining room has even more to offer for breakfast and there is a well curated wine tasting every evening. This charming and elegant hotel at the top of Pacific Heights has always been a gem, but now it's shines even brighter.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roberta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

You review means a lot to me -- thank you. It is always great to hear from our longtime guests that we're headed in the right direction with our new services and amenities!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,219
    169
    35
    16
    12
See reviews for
274
766
58
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westlake Village, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Literally the most accommodating staff my wife and I have encountered in all of the Bay area. We were made to feel that whatever we might want, the staff would make it so.
Additionally, the hotel itself has such abundant charm and beauty that it was difficult to leave and that is saying quite a bit in a city as captivating as San Francisco.
We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dichiacj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This is a special, special hotel! I have always loved San Francisco but came away with a new appreciation due to the efforts of the Drisco front desk staff and concierge. The breakfast each morning was delicious and had an amazing variety - they were even able to provide me with a cappuccino with frothed almond milk. We started our evenings at their wine and cheese receptions - always a different flight of wines to sample. Their restaurant recommendations with spot on - just not enough time to try them all. The room was incredibly comfortable, beautiful linens, a pillow menu to choose just the right pillow, clean and with expansive views. Getting back to the staff - everyone we met at the Drisco went above and beyond to be friendly, helpful and make sure that we had everything we needed. I can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank utah42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This is a very nice hotel. It has a lot of charm. The staff was very helpful. This is an older building so you can hear through the walls, which was not nice to sleep. The room was very comfortable, and the bathrooms were nice. There were a few issues in the room, very minor but no less annoying. They do not have parking so you have to find a spot on the street. The breakfast was awesome! This hotel is far from downtown and union square, so you can't walk there. I recommend this hotel if you want to have a different experience than the larger city hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrD03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The Hotel Drisco exceeded my expectations in all respects during my recent four night stay in San Francisco. The suite was spacious, well appointed, and immaculate. The service was unparalleled - friendly, informative and gracious. And the location is ideal - perched high in quiet and oh so beautiful Pacific Heights it is convenient to interesting shops and restaurants, with easy access to all areas of SF. The continental breakfast that is included in the room rate is outstanding - many choices and everything of the highest quality. I cannot wait to return to The Hotel Drisco.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kruger
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed here over Thanksgiving. Hotel was filled with visiting families and grandparents. We have stayed at many of the city's bigger, business oriented hotels and while they may be fine for business travel, they leave a lot to be desired for personal travel, in our view. The Drisco, by contrast is smaller, friendlier and seems well suited for the personal as opposed to the business traveler. The staff is extremely friendly and relaxed in the best California tradition. And the location in the Pacific Heights neighborhood is away from the business center but still accessible to all the places you want to go in the city. We thought it was a real find, delightful and plan to go back whenever our travels take us to San Francisco.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the city. Others available for an extra charge can see some water.
See more room tips
Green Features: Like everything in California, they must tell you how green they are. You can go forever without clean towels and sheets, I guess. We are always skeptical of such efforts, but they have to do it to appease a certain audience.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happypamts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This hotel has some attractive features which have been described by other reviewers including a lovely location, nice breakfast and wine hour, wifi included in price, rides arranged to and from airport and into downtown area, etc. However I experienced several issues the most important of which was being woken by the alarm clock in the room at 6 am on two consecutive mornings even though I reported this clock problem to staff. They didn't seem to know how to work the clock to address the issue. I was disappointed that no compensation was offered to me for having my sleep unnecessarily disturbed several times. I think most top notch hotels priding themselves on customer service would have offered some kind of gesture to address the problems I experienced.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvgreathotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am very sorry that your sleep was disturbed by the alarm clock. Please feel free to reach out to me to discuss the issue.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,160 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#22 of 228 in San Francisco
3,118 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#7 of 228 in San Francisco
1,013 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Property: Hotel Drisco
Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115-1011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Drisco 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. The warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing