We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A neighborly touch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Drisco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Drisco
Ranked #1 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A neighborly touch”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I live two blocks away from the Hotel Drisco. Every Christmas, I reserve a room or a suite in the hotel for family. I have never been disappointed. The staff is delightful: my memory from this year is of a tray packed with mugs of hot chocolate delivered to our breakfast table by a server who seemed genuinely tickled to get an order for SEVEN hot chocolates. The staff gave my eighty-year-old mother a book about San Francisco that she liked upon her departure. Each year, we are treated like friends. (I should also note while I'm writing that my young daughters appreciate the excellent Halloween candy given out by the Drisco every year.) The Hotel Drisco is not an anonymous business enterprise in Pacific Heights. It is a valued neighbor.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

We so enjoy seeing you and your family every Christmas. We are honored to be your valued neighbor!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,206
    169
    35
    16
    12
See reviews for
271
761
56
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
179 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This hotel is located in an attractive residential area, away from the hustle of downtown. True hospitality is the key word. Service is warm, welcoming and friendly; it is also highly competent and professional. The rooms are traditionally appointed and immaculate. WiFi is fast and free. Nespresso and fresh fruit in every room. Several other welcome amenities. A superb breakfast buffet of absolutely exceptional quality and variety. It all amounts to a very happy and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Semperviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind review, and for sharing your observation that in addition to being friendly the staff here is also competent and professional! Nothing gives us greater pleasure than making sure out guests not only feel at home, but also well-informed about their stay in our beautiful city.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at the Drisco Hotel. All the staff were great - so concerned to please and so sincerely nice! All the perks have been described by others and were really the best - everything was thought of. Our first night stay we got the room closest the front desk and so didn't sleep very well because of background noise. They let us have a quieter suite our second night for no extra charge - so appreciated! Great neighborhood if you like architecture - my wife especially liked having her picture taken in front of the 30mil dollar house for sale a couple blocks away - she'll tell her friends its our vacation house - especially fun since we've never bought a house :)
Best stay by far we've had in a hotel - highly recommend.

Room Tip: Get a suite if you can afford it - or a city view at least
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hdbdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

I loved Hotel Drisco; right in the middle of the beautiful suburb of Pacific Heights. The surroundings are so peaceful you don't get a sense of being in a bustling city metropolis. We walked a lot, many beautiful restaurants and boutiques and art galleries near the hotel. Public transport is also a breeze here, so getting into the city or the wharf is quick and efficient.

The service was warm and professional & front desk was able to help us will restaurant bookings, sightseeing recommendations and everything else we needed.
The hotel has no parking though. So our car had to be left in the street. Cars have to be moved at certain times, but the front desk happily did that for us, so we didn't have to worry about it.

The room service menu is limited, but other restaurants deliver straight to the room within 30-60 minutes.

We stayed in a two-bed suite which was sun-drenched and spacious. The beds were comfortable and we all loved the "sleep sounds" machine they had in the bedroom. By choosing your setting you could fall asleep to the sound of a meadow, the ocean, traffic or whatever else. I haven't slept that well in a hotel room in a long time.

Hotel Drisco made our first visit to San Francisco very special and we will definitely be back

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank NQKhoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Hotel Drisco is perfect, from start to finish. The staff, the property, the rooms, and the overall experience were all amazing. The staff is friendly and helpful, the room was beautiful and very clean, and the neighborhood is gorgeous. We enjoyed our stay immensely. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Green Features: See here for environmental practices. It's great that a hotel would make an effort like this: http://www.hoteldrisco.com/social-responsibility/san-Francisco-hotel
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catskill, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is a lovely small hotel in a beautiful part of town, with exquisite views out over the city and the bay. Our third floor room was spacious and comfortable, and had not only had *lots* of power outlets, but the outlets were in full view and did not need to be liberated from lamps or clock radios. A *huge* plus! It also had a white sound machine, the need for which soon became evident: traffic noise from the street, construction (houses nearby are undergoing extensive renovation), garbage trucks, etc. Our room faced south - other exposures may turn out to be much quieter. The buffet breakfast is in a league well above almost all we have seen. Lots of little pastries and breads (no gluten free, alas), cheese, deli meats, hot cereal, wide array of condiments (clotted cream or lemon curd, anyone?), cottage cheese, hard-boiled eggs, and even sheep's milk yogurt!

The staff is friendly and helpful. When we arrived minus luggage in the midst of the Arctic vortex travel chaos, Julio, the hotel's driver, offered to wait for us until it arrived on separate flights nearly two hours later, saying he didn't have another pickup for a while anyway. His patience and kindness were much appreciated.

The neighborhood is flat out gorgeous.

Room Tip: South-facing rooms are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Babette221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catskill, NY
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The Hotel Drisco is in a beautiful residential neighborhood. The rooms are nicely designed, many of them with wonderful views of the city below. The front desk is smiling and efficient, the breakfast buffet well stocked.
However...there are streetcar sounds all night, and garbage trucks in the morning, as well as other vehicles breaking on the steep hills and then accelerating away. Oh, yes, and construction noises. The hotel is clearly aware of the problem: there is a white noise machine in every room.
Recommended for the deaf.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Eugene Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

I was pleased to learn of the many aspects of the stay you enjoyed, but I am concerned to hear of the noise problems you experienced. I think it is probably not a coincidence that a another Trip Advisor reviewer posting today mentioned noise as well, so perhaps there was some sort of construction happening close to the hotel for a brief period recently. We monitor the environment for our guests very closely here and my staff and I are unaware of any recent increase in noise disturbances based on our own observations and guest comments, but you can rest assured that we will investigate to make sure our future guests are not disturbed.

Now, it is certainly true that our 1903 wood-framed structure is not as soundproof as a modern concrete and steel hotel, but we are also located in a quiet residential area away from all bus and streetcar lines. We placed the "Sound+Sleep" white noise machines on the nightstands in the guestrooms because we care deeply about our guests' environment and comfort. Even though most guests do not appear to use them, those that do have told us that they appreciate them a great deal.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, and please feel free to reach out to me personally if you would like to discuss your stay with us in more detail.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4,904 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
1,570 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 227 in San Francisco
2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Property: Hotel Drisco
Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115-1011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Drisco 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note that we are currently closed for renovations until July 1, 2017! The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. Our warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Our complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing